1996 Mazda Protege Reviews

1996 Mazda Protege LX 1.5 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired212000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carMazda Eclipse

Summary:

Great car for the price

Faults:

The upper radiator hose was blown when I bought the car, but it was a twenty dollar fix.

The check engine light came on for a few days, but went off after replacing the hose. Not sure if it was just disconnecting the battery because I took it out when replacing the hose.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car, and I never worry about it getting me where I'm going.

The power isn't the best, but I'm getting 35 mpg and can't complain. If you're considering a protege, go with the five speed. 200000 miles and still shifts likes a dream.

I would say the best part is the handling and turning radius. I park on the left side of the street and turn around without reversing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th March, 2010

1996 Mazda Protege LX from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance137500 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Overall a good reliable car

Faults:

Brakes had to be replaced twice.

Water pump has been replaced.

Check engine light goes on/off randomly.

Horn works randomly.

It seems electrical system, car door lights and overhead inside light work sporadically.

Someone was sleeping on the assembly line when my car was put together.

Also my car was made in Japan.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2009

2nd Nov 2009, 09:57

"Someone was sleeping on the assembly line when my car was put together."

Sure, 13 years ago someone was sleeping at the assembly line. No way anything could have happened to the vehicle in the meantime.

Corrosion and shorts happen. Pull out the fuses and push them back in place. If you are lucky you catch it.

1996 Mazda Protege DX Base from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Base Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A bland box of chocolates

Faults:

One manual window switch.

The paint flaked off from the wheels.

The clutch went out at 124000 (and 12 years).

General Comments:

My 1996 Mazda Protege DX Manual was a basic car. The only time something broke was the clutch at 12 years and 124000 miles.

The seats were of great quality. They showed virtually no wear. My major complaint with the interior was that the seats were entirely too hard.

The transmission was fine, but Overdrive was virtually useless. Acceleration was okay. Not the best, but not the worst.

It got 45 MPG when I first got it, and it consistently got 39 MPG when I finally sold it. The lowest MPG I ever got was 37 MPG.

The car, even though it was an economy car, was just bland.

The Protege served me well and I would not hesitate to buy another Mazda vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2008

1996 Mazda Protege LX 1.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very good car. Might last too long!

Faults:

The ignition switch died. The muffler and pipe have been replaced. I blew the speakers. The volume knob on the radio is touchy (try pushing up on it while turning). Normal brake wear. I think I have had 3 sets of front pads. The right rear wheel well is rusting through. The windshield cracked from temp changes overnight in the fall. The check engine light is on/off intermittently.

General Comments:

Honestly for a 12 year old car this thing has been solid. I am getting the best mileage now @ 33 mpg. Still handles well. One pet peeve is the rear seat belts don't roll back up and the buckle gets closed in the door (kids). I second the bad position of the cup holder. Med Coke from McD's spills into the radio buttons. And the tape player is dying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

1996 Mazda Protege LX 1.5 Liter from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

I've had the car 12 years, not bad for a cheap car

Faults:

Although we haven't had many problems with this car, the overall performance isn't what it should be.

When we are going over hills, the car bogs down and really strains to get over the hills no matter what gear it is in.

General Comments:

Over the past two years, we have really developed brake problems.

We have replaced the pads often, but still would have some gosh awful noises coming from the brakes (as if parts were grinding).

The dealer told us it's just the type of pad and that nothing is wrong with the brakes.

Now we have a bad whistling sound and the dealer has diagnosed it as the brake booster.

Problem - can't get the part anywhere, not even at the dealer. They are telling me the part is about $400 and it is going to take time to get it from Japan. Gee - thanks Mazda!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2008

18th Sep 2009, 09:47

"...brake booster. Problem - can't get the part anywhere, not even at the dealer."

Did you call the junk yards?

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 17 reviews