1997 Mazda Protege LS 1.5 from North America


Price, Performance, Product = Amazing


- Timming Belt 100,000km changed

- Rear boots needed replacing, along with struts.

- Door locks tend to stick, won't turn in cold weather. need to be replaced.

- Blinker left shorts out.

Nothing too bad, little things. For me usually weird things.

General Comments:

This is a fun car to drive, Gas is amazing, can't beat the price. This car is great for 1-2 people in the car, up to 4 people you can walk faster then this will go. All in all if you are under bugit this is the car for you, Oil changes done on time, this car will keep on ZOOOOMING. Would I buy another, that is 100% YES.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2004

1997 Mazda Protege LX 1.6 Liter from North America


This car deserves a standing ovation for reliability and afford-ability


The only thing that went wrong with my Protege is the Horn stopped working. This was about $250 to fix. Other than that it's a great car. The only button that is worn out is the #1 preset on my radio (favorite radio station).

General Comments:

It's reliable and fun to drive. It looks good and has great gas mileage. I love my Mazda Protege and I am thinking about buying a 2003 model in the very near future. Buying this car was the best financial decision I have ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

1997 Mazda Protege LX from North America


Great car if you can afford the expensive repairs


Had to have the oxygen sensor replaced within a week after buying the car, and the catalytic converter went bad as soon as the warranty expired.

Had to replace the master switch for the power windows.

General Comments:

Although the repairs are terribly expensive this was a good car - very reliable, fun to drive, safe, and great on gas (37 mpg on the highway). It handled very well for such a little car. I didn't have a lot of trouble with it considering I put almost 30,000 miles on it per year.

It did, however, become very uncomfortable on long trips. There was a lot of trunk space which was helpful.

The car was horrible in the snow; it sat so low to the ground that I was forever getting stuck. I recently totaled it during a snow storm when it slid off the road and hit a tree. The front end was completely wrecked and I walked away without so much as whiplash.

I would highly recommend this car if you can afford the expensive (albeit infrequent) repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

26th Jul 2004, 12:33

I own a 1997 Mazda Protege. In 2001 I had to spend ~$1900 to replace a fan, compressor and whatever goes with it. Last three years have been trouble free for these items.

Now, the catalytic converter sensor light (check engine warning light) comes on. I have taken it to reputable repair person twice and each time he has turned the warning light off. That was within two weeks of each incident. He had said that using the car with warning light may not hurt because each time it has been the catalytic converter sensor light. He did this without charge.

Now it is on again for the third time. I am using the car, but not sure if I should continue without replacing the catalytic converter.

Any opinions?


Naik Naiknimbalkar.

1997 Mazda Protege SE 1.5 from North America


Reliable family transportation


I follow the dealers recommendations for servicing and what-not. As a result of this regular maintenance, I haven't had any problems at all. The only thing I have done is regular oil changes and tune-ups.

General Comments:

This car has served my family and I very well over the last two years. There is lots of trunk space and a surprising amount of interior room. It handles very well in the snow as well as in wet weather. I only have three complaints about it. The first is that there isn't quite enough power due to the 1.5 liter engine and it's pitiful 97 horsepower ability. The second is that the car does feel a wee bit sketchy at highway speeds over 140 kilometres per hour. The third complaint is that my bum gets numb and sore after extended trips. Apart from these minor complaints, the car has performed famously and I would definitely recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

19th May 2004, 07:22

I have a 1997 Mazda Protege that I bought new and the transmission went out at 73K miles.

The car has run well until this point, but I have seen other Mazda owners (Protege 1997) complain about their transmissions too! I have looked for a recall for this year, but have not found one.

Disappointed about the Mazda quality.

1997 Mazda Protege LX 1.5 liter 16 valve from North America


Absolutely nothing. I have owned a Mazda since 1977 and not a single one of them has ever had anything go wrong with any of them.

General Comments:

This car is by far the best in the small car catagory. A friend of mine drives a BMW 325 and he thinks my Mazda is a better driving and a more comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 1998

10th May 2001, 20:53

Has the check engine light ever come on?

9th Aug 2001, 22:09

I am wondering if other '97 owners have had problems with the plastic covers on the door locks. Both of mine are broken (and the locks don't work), and I'd like Mazda to replace them even though my car is out of warranty. I've noticed that the newer models have metal covers... someone obviously realized that plastic covers are a bad idea.

I love my car... except for the door locks... and would probably buy another Protege. A great value for the price!