Mazda RX2 Reviews

1972 Mazda RX2 12A from North America

Model year1972
Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership1980
Engine and transmission 12A Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carMazda RX2

Summary:

Great design and fun car

Faults:

Engine blown. This was due to the older 12A Rotarys having weak apex seals. This problem was fixed a few years later.

General Comments:

A very fun and fast car! I remember blowing away several BMW 2002s and many other cars. This car was my introduction to Rotary engine cars, and I have never looked back. Currently own a 1988 convertible with an after market turbo on it. I love it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2007

1972 Mazda RX2 1.4L Rotary from North America

Model year1972
Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4L Rotary Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles

Summary:

Fun little Project

Faults:

Replaced the Alternator.

Replaced the Distributor Cap.

Needs regular adjustment to keep it running reliably.

Nothing major has gone wrong with this car, but then My Dad and I got it as a project car, so it was what we expected in terms of the nickel and dime repairs.

General Comments:

A fun little performance car which will easily out perform a period muscle car stock. Hard to get parts for in my part of the country. I sold it to a guy in NJ who says they are much more common around there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2006

1971 Mazda RX2 Super Deluxe 12A turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 12A turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX4

Summary:

V8 eater

Faults:

The RX-7 series 2 gearbox fitted to the car when I purchased it failed and has now been replaced by an RX-5 gearbox.

The differential has failed twice. This is no fault of the car, the original differential was never designed to cope with a turbo charged engine.

General Comments:

This car handles well for it's age. It has multi-link rear suspension, which certainly beats the leaf-spring design of its era.

My car is fitted with larger front and rear sway bar, lowered heavy-duty springs and Koni dampeners.

I have owned a Mazda RX-3 and a Mazda RX-4 with similar suspension set-ups. The Mazda RX-2 is superior in the suspension department.

The standard braking system is average, almost dangerous. This is one area I will improve.

This car is stupidly fast, I can't believe my car is legal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

1974 Mazda RX2 13b Rotary Engine turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 13b Rotary Engine turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 120Y

Summary:

Cheap, fast and fun

Faults:

The original engine had seized and was replaced by a newer version, this was a 13b turbo rotary, and driveline was slightly modified to suit. Other than this it was fine.

General Comments:

This car is surprisingly fast for the size of the engine.

The interior is a little boring, but this is what you would expect from a car of this age, although it is comfortable.

However, this car being rear wheel drive should be driven with utmost care in the wet, as it is prone to sliding out.

Also the brakes aren't the best, and if money allows, they should be upgraded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2002

1972 Mazda RX2 1.2 rotary from Singapore

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 rotary Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carMorris Mini

Summary:

Bags of fun, but prepare to be good friends with the local petrol station

Faults:

Initial engine when I took delivery last year blew an apex seal. Needed a new engine.

Having problems with the rear right axle and trailing arm mounts. The mounts keep cracking / breaking. Perhaps a fault with a misaligned body.

Corrosion on the front wings. Just rear of the front wheels.

General Comments:

Acceleration and speed that is absolutely insane for a car this age.

Generally robust and dependable for a 30 year old car.

Odd 5th gear. Slightly difficult to engage.

Corners reasonably well in the dry. Obvious body roll.

Due to its power and rear wheel drive configuration, it can cause some spectacular over-steering in wet multistorey car-parks.

Has got extremely handsome Italian like styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2001

7th Jan 2003, 14:00

My name is Stick Bogart and I at one time owned what Mazda called the Cosmo. it was a 1976 and O how I would love to get a chance to own one again. When I lived in Fla back in those days everybody that had a big American muscle car thought I had a 1.6 liter 4 banger import until the green light came on.

Maybe one day I will get lucky again have a second chance to enjoy a Cosmo once again.

17th May 2003, 18:39

I Have Both e-mail me at justinsresidentialservices@yahoo.com.

27th Sep 2006, 11:03

You can read about my next car, the very tame Nissan March / Micra 1.0.

http://www.carsurvey.org/review_23915.html

4th Sep 2007, 00:37

I'm looking for a Weber 48 IDF jet; anyone got one?

8th Oct 2007, 20:01

I need windshield & hood for Rx-2 2DR Coupe 1973. If someone Knows, please e-mail me to surfvale@caribe.net

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews