1997 Mazda Xedos 6 Reviews

1997 Mazda Xedos 6 Sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles
Previous carRenault Safrane

Summary:

Excellent sporty 4 seater with a superb engine!

Faults:

I had to change the nearside front brake caliper at about 70200 miles, but apart from brake shoes, spark plugs, oil filter and exhaust, I've not replaced anything else!

General Comments:

The car is still fairly quick and will see most cars off up to about 120 mph. Ideal for putting sporty hatchbacks in their place if necessary!

Handling is not great on winding country roads. I think lowered suspension would improve this dramatically.

Brakes are very good however and will always respond well.

Even after 5 years the car's interior is like new and all electrics etc work perfectly.

Superb V6 engine is the best thing about the car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

17th Nov 2003, 09:04

Magic review, I have a 97 sport, sir - you have automotive taste, and a pen to be admired. A well written article.

27th Apr 2007, 06:47

From my experience as the current owner of a 1997 Xedos 6 SE auto, and former owner of an MX3 coupe, a bumpy low-speed ride seems to be a Mazda characteristic. As the overall handling of the car is a touch 'soft', especially compared with a BMW 3 series, the jitteriness is surprising, but there is compensation in excellent motorway comfort (helped by cruise control on my Xedos), accurate steering, and first-class brakes. Oh, and a cavernous boot!

1997 Mazda Xedos 6 2.0 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carMazda Xedos 6

Summary:

A superb car to drive and own

Faults:

If driven a short distance (e.g. reverse of drive) it has on two occassions failed to restart unless left for 5-10 mins. I had the same problem with previous Xedos and was advised to rev the engine before turning off if I had only had the engine running for a few seconds.

General Comments:

My second Xedos 6.

A superb car to drive, I tested many other models but once I drove the Xedos I knew I had to have one.

Makes a great noise too if you put your foot down!

Perhaps a bit thirsty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2000

30th Dec 2000, 05:32

I have just bought the Xedos 6 automatic V6 SE 1997. 52,000 miles.

I am over the moon with it, everytime I drive it I discover something new.

Clive

19th Dec 2001, 06:30

Quite simply MAZDA are a fantastic car company!

19th Apr 2004, 14:59

Another satisfied Xedos 6 2.0 owner. I have bought mine in Dec. 2003 and brought it from Germany. The Car was made in 11.1997. and still looks as new. Performance is outstanding. And who says its' thirsty, he should try bmw 520i as I drove before. Xedos, definitely better car. Although it would suite little lowering and bigger wheels (16 or 17) but with poor road conditions in Serbia I will probably stick to 15.

Srdjan.

15th Dec 2004, 09:28

From the original reviewer- it is a fact that you should not start a car from cold and then turn it off again before it has warmed up. You can cause excessive engine wear and can flood the engine- hence your Xedos not starting properly again after some minutes.

25th Mar 2008, 09:36

I have a 1997 Mazda Xedos6 SE best care I've ever had!! and it's number 24!

Trouble is that as time goes by I need to find a really decent Mazda service point near me... used to use Hayters at Brokenhurst in the New Forest but they closed down... had a super foreman who knew and loved the Xedos range

Can anyone make a suggestion please.

Colin. Christchurch Dorset.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews