Mazda Xedos 9 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Mazda Xedos 9 2.5 V6 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carVolvo 440

Summary:

A very rare, unknown and prestigious head turner!

Faults:

Badly designed boot opening, the boot gets soaked when you open it, a common problem with most cars though!

Awful noise as if a rear rear bearing was broken, but on replacing wheel bearings the noise still existed.

Very, very thirsty. I could watch the petrol meter drop! This was probably due to my driving.

General Comments:

I found the Xedos 9 to be solid, very luxurious, and impressive.

It's a rare car which people notice and think "what is that?"

I bought the car for just over £3,000, now that's an awful lot of car for your money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2001

11th May 2006, 10:11

Hi, I agree with you a great car, but I do have the same problem with the noise you are talking about, but my is noise is coming from the front. Did you found out what it was with your car, if so pls let me know what it was, so I can put my right.

Reply;

Nanaboateng4611@aol.com.

1993 Mazda Xedos 9 2.5i V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5i V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance122000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Some things done well, but more done poorly

Faults:

External coolant pipes have failed requiring almost the engine dismantled to replace.

Knocks in the front suspension cannot be found.

Tyre wear is heavy.

General Comments:

Generally a reliable car, but really let down by sluggish performance, poor automatic - by no means a drivers car!

Fuel economy also very poor.

Great interior and takes all the kids throw at it, then cleans up well. Seats not good over long distances though.

Very quiet inside at any speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

12th Dec 2003, 17:11

Front suspension noise is caused by worn drop links connecting front anti roll bar to suspension system. They are easily replaced and should be available OEM from any auto factor, identical to 626 drop links.

1998 Mazda Xedos 9 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carBMW 523i

Summary:

Classy and beefy, but not in your face... the jewel in the Mazda crown

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I love my Xedos.

After the BMW I just find it a more "interesting" car and a lot more comfortable, and there are very few of them on the Irish roads, so they are somewhat unique to own.

I just adore the roar from the V6 engine when the pedal is to the board, and it doesn't half move when she kicks in especially on overtaking.

My only negative comments would be that after owning a German built car, I find the Mazda build quality is that bit inferior.

Things like the noise when closing the doors - there is not the same "thud" as the German cars, and the plastic sound when using the levers on the steering column.

The resale value in this country is crazy. A Xedos 9 is IR£37,000 new and I picked mine up for just IR£16,500 with 30,000 miles on the clock.

But it is definitely a super car, and I hope to be upgrading to a newer model this year. The Miller engine sounds excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

14th Apr 2001, 15:10

I just wanted to say how I agree with everything that you said about the Xedos 9. I am the proud owner of a 1997 model, could you e-mail me at:

Xedos9miller@yahoo.co.uk.

So I can tell you/ ask you some interesting things about the car. Thanks.

1997 Mazda Xedos 9 2.5i V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5i V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

The Xedos 9 is clearly one of the nicest and underated cars on the road. I have had no problems with my car and covered 40K miles in a year and a half. Great and highly recommended car. Low speed performance is a bit sluggish, my one and only negative point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2000

5th Aug 2006, 04:59

Unlike some reviewers I have not experienced the reported sluggishness at low speeds. I find the car effortless and responsive to drive and it is certainly one of the best looking cars on the road. Very comfortable and roomy. I do not have long legs so the comments about lack of room on the front passenger side do not affect me. If there is one thing I find annoying, it is the tendency to ground when negotiating speed bumps and I try to avoid these wherever possible. The stitching on the rear seat leather has perished and is awaiting repair, also the walnut trim on the console has cracked and lifted in the recent extreme heat - but these really are very tiny niggles against what by any standards is a really great car - enjoyable to drive and a stunning looker. It is a shame the current Mazda range does not feature this silky smooth 2.5V6 engine.

1999 Mazda Xedos 9 Miller 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Front suspension knock at low ambient temperatures 4C or lower. Can't find cause.

General Comments:

Engine & auto box out of this world.

Finish generally very good.

Seats could be more comfortable.

Steering adjustment unsatisfactory.

A step up from my Vauxhall Elite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2000

1st Dec 2000, 04:49

The suspension knock sounds similar to my Ferrari..... no joke. When it was cold the wheels were unbalanced, there was a judder and knocking, drive 4 miles and all was OK.

The cause? Water inside the tyre freezing!!

11th May 2002, 14:13

Are you sure it is suspension. Most modern cars have a flexible joint where the exhaust joins the manifold. At low temperatures this may be loose, and rattle without blowing, as the joint rapidly warms up it expands becoming more rigid and the noise goes away. I discovered this on my Renault Laguna.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews