1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 190e 2.6 6 cylinder gasoline from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.6 6 cylinder gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carBMW 2002

Summary:

Maybe the all around best car I've ever owned!

Faults:

Clock was not working; driver's seat squeaks, and the ELECTRIC headrests were not working.

General Comments:

I bought this 1987 190e 2.6 sight unseen from a dealer in Colorado and had it shipped to NJ; I have driven daily it for two months already, adding 3000 miles, and must say that I am astounded by this car - it simply does EVERYTHING better than you would expect.

It is comfortable for four adults and five in a pinch; the suspension is fantastic as is the steering response.

The 2.6 6 cyl gas engine hides quite a bit of pep at 170hp, and lets it loose when you floor the pedal, putting a huge smile on your face and a puzzled look on nearby drivers in Asian econoboxes.

If you are shopping for a 190e, be aware that only the 2.6 had standard ABS and had power seats - which brings us to ELECTRIC headrests! - I took apart the back of the seats to see what the mechanism looks like, and it is one the strangest arrangements imaginable - a motor turns a 10" horizontal ridged tube-screw, which then lifts a very delicate plastic assembly. I had to raid a salvage yard to get pieces, but they now work beautifully!

The car gets great gas mileage in the 25mpg area and is just a blast. Buy the best one you can find for about $7000; avoid the $3000 versions that have been abused;

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2009

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 EL Straight 6 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Straight 6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

This car get the ladies

Faults:

First of all the AC is broken, second my car failes to get fuel into the engine over 60 miles so the engine fails and stops at 20 mile, also chip is really messt up.

General Comments:

This car will get you the ladies plenty of ladies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

1st Aug 2009, 05:25

Sounds like a clogged fuel filter. A $15 fix in overdue preventive maintenance might revive your car.

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.6 2.6L straight 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6L straight 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Fun, powerful, and low running cost

Faults:

Can't unlock door from driver's side.

Antenna won't go all the way down.

Molding on passenger's side sticks out a little.

Air conditioning doesn't work.

General Comments:

This is probably the most fun car I have ever driven. With automatic windows and sunfroof with a 6 cylinder engine and leather interior, can it get much better?

Nothing major has gone wrong with it.

For such a small car, it is quite comfortable. It handles great. It has quite a bit of power, but nothing uncontrollable.

Gas mileage leaves a little to be desired. It gets about 24mi/gal, which is OK, but when you have to buy premium, it can get a little expensive.

It is definitely faster than the old 83 Oldsmobile 98 I used to drive. That was a fun car though.

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a car that has the perfect amount of power, comfort, and style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 kilometres
Most recent distance203000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A good combination of prestige and sport

Faults:

The timing chain needed replacement which was known at the time of the purchase. The small repairs and a bit of general maintenance have been reasonable based on the age and the mileage of the car.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable.

I find that that considering it is only a 4 cylinder, that it has plenty of power.

The car is 16 years old, but has been well maintained giving a new car feeling at an old car price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.3-16v Cosworth 2.3 -16v injection from Spain

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 -16v injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A good, strong reliable car for the family man and enthusiast both

Faults:

Rear suspension balls at 160,000k

Fuel pump relay in 2002 (fitted second hand replacement)

Odometer spindle fell out 2003 (fixed in 20 minuets)

Ads plays up a bit on/off when wheels spin accures.

General Comments:

A very good all round car, built like a tank, but with the Cosworth WAA engine the performance is very good and can stay with a lot of so called 'sports cars'.

Road holding is fantastic and very forgiving, even in the wet and always predictable, the change to 225-45/16 tyres has helped a lot.

The leather interior can be a bit hot here in Spain, but it wears very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

23rd Jul 2003, 08:49

That's what you get when you combine the best of German engineering with the best of British engineering. One heck of a motor car!

11th Aug 2003, 16:23

Since the original comments I have been able to spend a bit of time testing the car and setting her up a bit better.

Rolling road test out at 184bhp

Top speed = 248 kph, (150+ mph) flat road, no wind.

0 - 100 (0 - 60) kph = 6.7 seconds.

100 (60) - 0 3.6 seconds

Comes on the cam at 4,700 rpm and maxes on the limiter at 7,150 rpm

Hmmmm, not bad for a five seat saloon.

21st Jan 2004, 15:23

Ditto to the last comment. My wife has a 1986 2.3-16 that we bought from a retired gentleman while we were stationed in Germany with the Department of Defense. This little beast is absolutely an Autobahn car. It has only 123,657 original Kilometers on the clock and is still one of the fastest production sedans I've ever driven. It's faster than many so called 'sports cars'. At 235 KPH and still accelerating my better judgment got in the way and I backed off. The tach was setting at 5200 rpm when I lifted my foot.

Stationed in England now is a travesty for this little car. Bad roads and constant wet haven't done visible damage yet, but that's only because I keep on top of it, keep it in a dry garage and keep it clean.

The only problem I've found has been in locating qualified Mercedes techs that know how to service this particular vehicle here in England.

Yes, this car WILL go back to the states with us as compliance with NTSB vehicle safety standards was pretty much already done when these cars were built. I've gotten the green light from NTSB.

Would I buy another one? YES! I'd like to have one of my own instead of having to beg my wife for some 'wheel time' in 'her' car.

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3L gasoline 8-valve from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L gasoline 8-valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carJaguar Vanden Plas

Summary:

Pentathlon sedan

Faults:

Have only done minor repairs on this car that are typical of a vehicle this age. A belt, a couple of hoses, a battery, and a universal-type joint.

General Comments:

I've owned everything from a Chevrolet C1500 pick up to a Porsche 911 Targa Carerra and this is the best car ever!

Its been rumored that the 2.3 liter 4-cylinder is a much better power train than the 2.6 liter six-cylinder. I'll substantiate that rumor in comparing our 1987 2.3 liter with my friend's 2.6 liter with less miles on it.

Our original dealer was an independent, but the dealership was absorbed by one of the few Oklahoma City conglomerates. Now, they leave a lot to be desired.

Recently, I noted that the dealer price on a sensor was $17 but the dealer had marked the part up to $42!!! I went home and glued my old one back together; it worked fine.

For the money you won't find a better performing, safer car, that looks this sharp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews