1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 e 2.0L from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

My car has a carat duchutelet body kit and a lowering kit which makes it look great and handle like a train and still very comfortable to drive. with 152000 miles on the clock the cabin still looks brand new, no rips or tears.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2004

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 1993 face lift model 2 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Its got style. It's a mercedes!!

Faults:

Whining noise out of gearbox.

Diff leaking oil.

Minor panel work on rear door, (paint beagn to crack and bubble)

General Comments:

Great Car, very comfortable to drive at higher speeds, no problems there.

Sticks to the road in the the DRY, I have thrown this car at all corners at all speeds and it just keeps sticking, but in the wet, another story, its all over the place.

Its got style. It's a mercedes!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Excellent vehicle and highly recommended!

Faults:

Brake pads and rotors at 136 000 Ks.

Transmission seems to shift irregularly since I purchased it. (i.e. will shift two gears without me accelerating very much, but may be normal for this vehicle).

Front passenger power window is very slow to close since I purchased it.

General Comments:

My first BENZ and I must say that I am very pleased with the overall quality.

Mine is a black / gray combination with black Tex seats and is very attractive and well built. It is hard to believe this vehicle cost in excess of $46 000.00 Canadian when new 10 years ago and I was able to purchase it for $8500.00 with two sets of rims and tires.

This car is not overly quick, but not all that slow either. Good on fuel depending on how you drive.

I have purchased the updated Euro lights and side blinkers for my car and it looks 10 years younger.

Try to find a shop that specializes in Mercedes to have it serviced with OEM parts as the dealership is very expensive to deal with.

I am very pleased with this vehicle and am very much sold on Mercedes as a whole. I am looking forward to a bigger and newer Mercedes as my next vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 1.8 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

I hope to keep this car for another 100000 miles

Faults:

Parking brake required new pads at 7000 miles - replaced under warranty and brakes generally giving good mileage.

Head gasket blew at 96000 miles.

Tires have been Continental ECO 185/65/15H which usually give about 30000 miles a set.

Rear exhaust has rattled occasionally from loose baffle since 95000 miles, but is being kept going though new box and catalyst now seems inevitable.

General Comments:

Maintenance was by main dealer up to 85000 miles when I switched to a small independent Mercedes specialist. Labor costs are therefore considerably less without sacrificing the quality needed to keep these, very reliable, cars true to their reputation.

The auto box makes for very smooth running in London traffic.

Despite small engine the car is perfectly lively.

Overall fuel consumption is still 30 miles per Imperial gallon.

Cross- country driving on English roads is very comfortable and rattle-free.

85mph is the most comfortable speed on motorways.

Sadly no air-conditioning on this model, but separate heater and air vent controls do enable front passengers' individual comfort needs to be met.

Paintwork and build quality have been excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

2nd Jul 2012, 11:03

As head gaskets rarely fail below 200,000 miles on this make and model, if at all, I suspect poor fuel or incorrect ignition, or both, caused this failure. Skimp on maintenance = big bills later.

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A near perfect automobile to own

Faults:

The front brakes were replaced at 50000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I have ever owned. Wonderful handling, quiet, comfortable and smooth. Perfect size. Very reliable. A real pleasure to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2001

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Nice Mercedes for the price, but be prepared to spend $600.00 a quarter to keep it running

Faults:

The car had an oil leak when purchased, which was accounted for in the purchase negotiation. Turns out the head gasket needed replacing (fairly common for this model, according to our current technician). Had the work performed at the dealer (who is definitely now NOT our current technician). Cost: $1200.00.

Soon after head gasket replacement, the car overheated. Dealer was unable to diagnose a simple thermostat malfunction and replaced several parts including the expansion tank. Cost $175.00.

At approx. 63,000 miles, the water pump began leaking. Took the car to the local Mercedes guru. Belt tensioner also was bad. Cost for pump and tensioner replacement, plus 60K service (might as well go ahead) : $1,300.

Water pump failed again after one year, replaced by the guru free of charge even though it was out of warranty. He stands behind his work.

Transmission shifter bushing failed at approx 65,000 miles. Transmission must be lowered to replace. Cost: $325.00.

Air conditioner began leaking freon at 75,000 miles. Leak was in high pressure hose to the condenser. Cost to replace the hose and recharge the system: $650.00.

"Check Engine" light came on at 81,000 miles. Apparently the problem is in the air injection system. "Further diagnosis and repair" will be needed.

Rear shock absorbers are leaking and will soon require replacement.

Hood insulation liner is worthless as it comes from the factory. Deteriorates rapidly, particularly in the Texas heat.

Rear dome light switch failed at 77,000 miles.

Etc.

Etc.

General Comments:

Overall a beautiful car to look at. Very safe, and built like a tank, especially for the low-end of the product line.

Paint and interior have held up very well. I don't know what MB Tex is made of, but it's the best stuff in the world for auto interiors. Feels and looks like leather without all the hassle.

Performance is good for such a heavy car, owing to the power and torque of the 2.6 engine. The downside of the larger engine is multifaceted. It generated enormous amounts of heat (possibly responsible for many of the failures), and it completely fills the engine bay, requiring the removal of large numbers of components for even simple repairs, which layers on a lot of labor cost.

Handling is precise, if not a bit on the mushy side. New shocks will probably help. Brakes are absolutely incredible. ABS system works flawlessly. Stomp them hard and you feel like you've hit the arresting hook of an aircraft carrier.

Would I buy another 190? Probably not. An E320, or even a larger but older model, say a 560SEL might be attractive, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

24th Nov 2001, 14:21

Interesting review. Fortunately, this is not the rule for a 190e with this number of miles or even 200k miles. This might have been a lemon, or, perhaps an odometer fraud or some other kind of shady biz such as a high-mileage engine swap or some other mischief.

As for the larger engine being the problem, actually it is not. The higher temperatures are not an issue, and actually, it is the smaller engines that produce (in general) more heat. The (basic) inline 6 used in this model has been used for over 25 years and the bugs have been solved long ago. Actually, the 2.6 engine used in the 190 e's is still a currently used engine, same no. of horses too.

Moreover, at the risk of being too wordy, people often think the seat material is vinyl but it is not --- Mercedes does not use vinyl. Of course, this perception can be an advantage for the buyer if the seller mistakes the leather for vinyl.

10th Apr 2005, 09:49

I hate to admit it, but I think you got hosed with the repair costs. With a little mechanical know-how and some personal initiative, you could have saved yourself a LOT of money.

30th Sep 2007, 13:23

Mb-tex is vinyl... it looks like leather, but actually, it's just good old-fashioned plastic (though reputedly high quality stuff). if I'm not mistaken, leather was a good $1000 (or more) as an option on this car when new.

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Simply the best

Faults:

Other than brakes at 40 & 75 thousand miles I have only changed oil & filters. I just bought my third set of tires. Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I don't drive the car in the winter due to the amount of snow that falls in northern New York State. I have a 4 wheel drive pick-up truck for winter transportation.

This vehicle has been very good to me. I am tempted to buy a good second one to garage until this one wears out. Take care of these cars and they perform for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E Fuel Injection from Germany

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Fuel Injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 244 GLE

Summary:

A Mercedes is a Mercedes

Faults:

Taking the German highway (Autobahn), contrary to other comments, the rear was very unstable in turns at speeds around 180kmh. Had the feeling as if the car was "swimming" slightly.

Otherwise no other distubances.

General Comments:

Wonderful for a long-distance drive down to Switzerland or Austria for a skiing weekend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Occasional strange high pitched whirr from the ventilation system. Remedied by switching it off for a while.

General Comments:

Awesome mechanical reliability. The two litre certainly makes a difference to the driveability. This is my second 190E and the only thing that will stop me buying another is if I get richer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

9th Oct 2002, 22:13

Great comment about mechanical reliability.

This model is all business with no pretense!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews