Mercedes-Benz 220 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1995 Mercedes-Benz 220 Elegance 2.2 diesel (non turbo) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 diesel (non turbo) Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles
Previous carPeugeot Peugeot

Summary:

Impressed

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

Big car luxury with super economy.

Fill up for around £45 and don't worry about it for another 550 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2002

7th Sep 2002, 16:08

The author is not specific in saying what model he is talking about, so I do not know whether I should buy one or not!

29th Jun 2007, 09:35

I think he will be talking about a diesel one if describes it as economical. Just buy a diesel one in nice condition - it will be superb.

1961 Mercedes-Benz 220 220SEb Coupe 2.2i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1961
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2i Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Well built spacious coupe

Faults:

Nothing much. Had to replace a rear shocker for last years MOT and the rear wheel bearing has slight play in it.

General Comments:

The reliability is excellent. I can store it in the garage through winter, put on the battery and it starts first time. Admittedly the car only covers 1,500miles per annum, but its never even miss-fired.

Performance is acceptable even by today's standards and handling is excellent if not a tad heavy (no PAS).

Comfort is not as good as my E-class, but it's over 40 years old and all the wood and leather makes up for it.

Running costs are let down only by fuel consumption (20mpg) but classic insurance is cheap and tax is free.

Main Mercedes dealers are excellent. They can still order any part and are only too pleased help or offer advice.

I would definitely buy another Mercedes simply because of the quality and dealer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2002

14th Nov 2005, 07:28

UPDATE: NOVEMBER 2005,

Car still going strong. Sailed through yet another MOT and still hasn't missed a beat.

8th Aug 2007, 00:06

If you ever decide on owning a 111 model cabriolet or coupe, you will continually enjoy the outstanding design and almost guaranteed value appreciation. These days of computerized cars, unless you do your own maintenance, you may find it difficult to find a mechanic qualified to work on the mechanical fuel injection system. The car must be driven, otherwise it is fairly basic and will run forever. It doesn't take kindly to being a garage queen. Keep an eye out for rust.

2nd Feb 2008, 18:26

Just bought a 1962 rhd 220 SEb cabriolet garaged for years. Brilliant car. Love that six cylinder humm and smooth change of gear. As a boy I always loved the old Merc six cylinder slipping up through the gears and the mouth-watering interior of the coupe or cab. I can't wait for it to arrive!

1962 Mercedes-Benz 220 SE bc Coupe 2.2 litre petrol from North America

Year of manufacture1962
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Electric fuel pump.

Radiator replacement.

General Comments:

Great car that is extremely reliable for its age. Highly recommended if you want to stand out in a crowd! You can't beat the looks of 1960's 2 door Mercedes Benzes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

18th May 2001, 07:40

I agree, those cars are beauties. I can't say the same for the current crop of Toyota look-alikes manufactured by Daimler-Chrysler. I think that the last beautiful Mercedes was the 1979 W126. It's been downhill ever since

8th Aug 2001, 03:11

You need to remember that Lexus (Toyota) copied the Mercedes-Benz style.

Also the new generation Mercs look great, the new S class and C class are superb looking cars, a lot better than anything built in the US, also BMW have some great looking motors. Let's be honest, the Germans know how to build a proper car, performance, handling, quality, and they don't break down if they are maintained by the dealer! Go on, buy one, you know it makes sense!

GAF in the U.K.

2nd Nov 2007, 01:50

My Mercedes 1962 220 SE Coupe with Sliding Roof Top is beautiful and drives beautifully. It is one of the last Motor cars built. It is also rather inexpensive to keep up. My German mechanic is committed to keep my car driving as if it were newly built.

6th Feb 2010, 22:34

I have a beautiful 1962 SEC Mercedes in my garage. I only wish I had a good mechanic who can do some minor transmission adjustments to this car, so I could drive it more often. It is sure a looker. Maybe I will convert it to an convertible, which will add more value to the car. Can anyone give me some help... Thanks, Hans.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews