2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Reviews

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Classic from Argentina

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance242000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

An over-priced plastic rollercoaster

Faults:

Minor electric problems.

Blown horn.

Blown headlight.

Blown power window fuse.

Seat-adjust lever (plastic) broke after using it a couple of times.

General Comments:

I guess if roller-coaster wagons were altered for road-use as personal vehicles, this is kind of what they would feel like.

You sit tall, have nowhere to put your legs, and in every corner, you feel like you are going to flip over.

At the same time, the car has a low center of gravity, so it feels like it's gripping the road, but since you sit far above that center of gravity, the actual feeling is that of being ejected through the window at any time.

Moves sideways over bumps like a tall sports-utility vehicle.

Hard, uncomfortable seats.

Horrible plastic everywhere... and LOW GRADE plastic, not even high-density injection-molded plastic.

Most of the rubber around the windows of this Brazilian-made roller-coaster wagon was already dried and cracked when we got it.

Changing a light bulb is incredibly difficult, and changing any part is an expensive affair.

The car was reliable, but we felt like we were sitting on a time-bomb, waiting for something to break and drive us into bankruptcy.

The car was extremely uncomfortable to ride in for any amount of time, and I just feel it was not worth the stress over the expensive parts.

There are cheaper, more comfortable cars in the same quality bracket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st October, 2010

19th Feb 2011, 13:55

I believe you needed to change shock absorbers, because of the high mileage. This car never gives the sensation of flipping over. It's got incredible handling, praised even by Jeremy Clarkson on Top Gear.

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Classic 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carNissan Serena

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Nippy town car, very economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2009

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class 160 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru XT

Summary:

It is a car; that's it

Faults:

I have had the steering column replaced 5 times.

Thing's breaking in the car; plastics etc..

Can't list the problems; there are so many.

Very disgusted; thought I was buying a good car instead a lemon.

Cost of repairs is huge!

Very disappointed!

General Comments:

This car is far less superior than any other small car, because of all the faults and design problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2007

12th Dec 2007, 16:38

My mechanic told me not to buy one of these cars, as they are expensive to fix, and are always going wrong.

26th Dec 2007, 11:51

My experience is completely the opposite. This are reliable and well constructed cars, with very durable components.

27th Dec 2007, 08:20

I agree with the review. My year 2000 A160 was a menace needing frequent warranty repairs. Plastic interior parts would break off with virtually no effort (like the front seat height adjustment handles). Finally when the timing chain snapped at 67,000km I had had enough and sold it.

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Elegance 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Tacuma

Summary:

The car is rubbish!

Faults:

The Engine Control Unit malfunctioned which in turn caused damage to the gearbox.

The above fault required a new Engine Control Unit and an exchange gearbox at a cost of £2,500.

The mechanic stated that this was a design fault with the A class which Mercedes knew about, but had kept quiet from the public. He attempted to get a good will payment from Mercedes in view of the low mileage, but Mercedes declined. In the first 6 months of this year he had six in with the same fault?

General Comments:

I bought this car for my wife with the intention of keeping it until it expired of old age. It lasted all of 15 months before this fault occurred.

I was relying on the reputation of Mercedes for good workmanship and reliability and I feel I have been sadly let down by both the car and the manufacturer. I had just paid off the vehicle when I had to fork out this further exorbitant price before I could sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Avantgarde 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18200 kilometres
Most recent distance69200 kilometres

Summary:

Nice, but far too many problems

Faults:

Seat height adjustment handles on both front seats have broken off twice. Replaced under warranty.

Driver's seat developed a nasty creaking noise in the frame at around 25,000km. Dealer replaced seat frame under warranty.

Indicator stalk broke inside the steering column, which made the high-beam headlights switch on at night whenever the indicators were used. Fixed under warranty. 35,000km.

Numerous squeaks, rattles, and creaking cheap plastics used in the cabin. Some problems fixed, others impossible to fix.

At 66,000km the timing chain snapped in the engine, causing bent valves, damaged pistons, and other damage. Dealer said this is the first time they have seen a snapped timing chain on an A-Class (read below).

Hot water hose from the radiator developed a leak.

General Comments:

The front seat height adjustment handles are very fragile on all German A-Classes built before May 2001. Just two small plastic tabs turn a metal spigot on the seat. I used the handles maybe 5 times before they snapped off. No undue pressure is required as they are quite fragile. After replacing four on my car (one just minutes after I drove the car off the dealer's parking lot) they used silicone glue to help reinforce the handles on the seat.

As other reviews point out, the interior quality of pre May 2001 A-Classes is marginal. For some reason Mercedes-Benz chose to use a hard plastic that creaks and groans, especially the silly trim around the passenger seats. I ignored it at first, but eventually plastic quality with all the creaks and clicking noises when driving really annoyed me.

Another common problem on the older A-Classes was the driver's seat frame, which would develop a loud creaking noise whenever weight was shifted on the seat (changing gears was enough). The dealer offered to replace the frame with a redesigned model without hassles. Initially they just tried lubricating the seat, but that did not help.

The indicator stalk issue was interesting, as it was impossible to avoid turning on the high-beam headlights at night when turning with the indicator on. The dealer replaced the indicator stalk the next day, but I must have annoyed a lot of drivers in the city that night.

The final nail in the Mercedes-Benz quality coffin was the timing chain. In early October 2004 I complained to the dealer (car is now out of warranty) that there is a strange two tone noise coming from the engine bay. Difficult to explain, but it was definately not normal. It got faster with increased revs and the airbox in the engine was shaking quite violently. A belt pretensioner assembly was changed in the vehicle for AU$500 plus labour, but this did not fix the problem. The dealer rang telling me of another noise coming from the engine bay, and asked permission to look under the rocker cover. From their tone of voice they sounded like they thought I was a very fussy car owner who wanted every noise eliminated from a car.

So they had a look, and found a seized link in the timing chain. They had never seen anything like it, and ordered a new chain. This was going to be an expensive repair as the timing chain is not designed to be changed in the A-Class: Its sealed for the life of the engine. I drove out of the dealership and less than 100km later the timing chain snapped in the engine, causing valve, piston, and other damage. The A-Class has a non free spinning engine, meaning damage is caused if the chain snaps. Remember this happened at only 66,000km!

All the valves had to be replaced along with various gaskets, piston parts, and minor damage to the engine block. Fortunately DaimlerChrysler agreed to pay for all the repairs on my vehicle even though it was out of warranty. They found a snapped timing chain in an A-Class to be unacceptable. Without their help the repair bill would have run into many thousands of dollars, as there is a LOT of labour involved in removing the A-Class engine (basically everything from the front is removed).

The A-Class has a funky design, and I really liked my A160 petrol funshift Avantgarde despite all the problems. However, the timing chain failure was the last straw. I simply could not keep the vehicle.

The car is roomy and has quite good performance. Beware of dark coloured paint, as it is very easy to scratch. The Funshift transmission is a joy to use and gives all the economy of a manual.

Safety is excellent in the car, certainly better than a lot of other much larger cars.

Mercedes-Benz have built the A-Class down to a strict budget. Repairs are numerous, quality is so-so, and parts are very expensive. Please look past the gleaming Mercedes badge when buying your next vehicle. Friends have commented 'how could Mercedes build a bad car?' with puzzled expressions. I tell them any company can build a poor quality car despite the prestige of their badge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2005

24th May 2005, 10:07

My A-Class 140 engine has also just been replaced. The noise started with a fast ticking noise when the engine was cold and before placing the foot back onto the accelerator after a gear change (I also have the 'funshift'). The dealer replaced the 'tapits' but the problem was not cured. Then the car ran out of warranty! Three weeks after the warranty ran out the car was in again for the same noise. The verdict - a new engine! So far we've not been told the problem with the old one. Daimler Chrysler and the dealer have picked up the cost of this repair - and for this I am very grateful for this excellent service. However, following a myriad of faults including rear suspension replacement, windscreen wiper failure, new steering column and very creaky windows, I've been very unhappy with the car. It only has 28,000 miles at present!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews