2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Elegance 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Generally, delightful to drive

Faults:

Airbag warning light, baby seat link connector faulty.

General Comments:

The suspension is very hard; so vibration tends to be a problem on poorer road surfaces.

Slight under inflation of tyres seem to help this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class 160 Avantgarde 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carMazda Premacy

Summary:

High on price, low on comfort, too many niggly little faults, but still a fun car to drive

Faults:

Fuel gauge faulty on delivery : dealer replaced, no charge.

Driver's seat creaked very badly : after several attempts to repair, dealer replaced, no charge.

Whilst in dealership, front wing scratched : dealer re-sprayed to my total satisfaction, no charge.

When next in for service (soon), I will also ask dealer to check "clunky" steering and rear brakes which stick on when parked overnight, releasing with a jerk as I drive off.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive, performs well and is economical.

However, the seats still creak a little, they are too firm and the suspension is harsh : unexpectedly, the car is best on the motorway rather than country lanes and urban roads.

I did not buy a Merc. to ride on "cart springs" and to realize after a few weeks that there is not even a light in the boot space!

Basically, this should be a superb small car, but it is actually overpriced for the quality and comfort you get : I was happy to pay the Mercedes price premium, but now feel to have been short-changed...it will have to improve if I am to purchase another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

27th Oct 2003, 04:05

I thought the Mercedes A Class would be a classy car coming from the house of Benz. However, I was disappointed with the suspension, the car cannot navigate through a small crack on the road without the riders feeling it. On a gravelled road there was too much of body noise, again something not expected of a Mercedes.

I have the Classic 1.7 CDI which is quite a nippy car, however for the price the equipment with the car is quite ordinary. For example, I would have at least expected a remote key lock which comes at no additional price with most cars of that range.

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class A160 Classic 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

A very practical, cheap to run Mercedes

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car in the time I have had it.

General Comments:

The car is very practical, and the ability to remove the rear seats is a great feature. I can even fit items such as fridges and wide screen televisions in the back, saving on delivery costs.

The seats are comfortable on long or short journeys.

An annoying feature is the lack of some form of roof gutter, which causes water to land on you when you open the door after being out in the wet.

The dashboard can also be a bit creaky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Avangarde petrol from Japan

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 kilometres
Most recent distance1 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Gas gauge did not work (now fixed).

Rear lights went out.

General Comments:

This car is quick and comfortable.

Beautiful styling, elegant comfortable ride.

Overall a very nice car, will be purchasing another A-Class for my wife.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2001

17th Jun 2001, 10:57

I'm thinking of buying a new A190 Avantgarde myself and I'm encouraged by your positive comments.

1st Jul 2001, 02:11

A160 Avantgarde.

Windows failed, sunroof failed, and was replaced after 3rd complaint.

Mercedes totally ruined the electrics (radio, wipers/washers) - then told me I would have to take the car to an electrician (Mercedes did resolve after a complaint).

Dash left unsecured and rattling, gear knob ruined and left un-replaced while at Mercedes for a problem.

Instrument pod failed, roll bar fixings failed (replaced).

Car scratched and radio stolen while at Mercedes for (yet another) problem - glass was left in car.

Rear lights failed.

Persistent smell of petrol, unresolved at 4th attempt.

All this in 10 month period. Don't buy one out of warranty!

I last drove a Lotus for 10 years, with nowhere near as much trouble as this Mercedes has given me in 10 months, and a 190E before that - superb, which was why I bought the A-Class.

Don't expect a decent trade in either - Mercedes offered 40% less than they sold it to me for 10 months previously.

I love the stylng, and the practicality, and the ride is comfortable and quiet. It's a great car when it's working (and should be - 20 grand for a small car is a lot of money). However, Mercedes have got serious problems if this is indicative of the build quality of their cars now.

I won't be buying another Mercedes, without some positive improvement to their service.

26th Mar 2004, 10:25

We have had numerous and expensive problems with our A class which we bought new 5 years ago. We are now facing another bill of possibly £2000!

I think the car design, overall concept and look is great-but am really disappointed in the reliability and problems we have experienced.

We won't be buying another!

20th Jul 2004, 15:33

I purchased an A class 170 with 24,000 miles on the clock from a main dealer in Nov 98. The car covers 10,000 miles PA mostly round town & has been exclusively maintained by Mercedes.

At 47,000 miles the car had to be fitted with a new clutch at a cost of £1,100. That same year the annual service & MOT cost an additional £729. Total cost for the year was £1,800

At 62,000 the gear box has failed. I am now awaiting a quote from the main dealer!!!

In between these events the annual cost of MOT, Servicing & repairing what is a low mileage vehicle has been well in excess of what the motoring magazines consider necessary for a 10,000 mileage PA vehicle.

For the record, Mercedes written response is that 'the faults are caused by driver technique, the terrain in which the vehicle is used or if the vehicle is used to pull additional weight.'

In my experience the cost of maintaining an A class is excessive & I would never recommend this model to anyone unless they have money to burn!

As a result of this extremely expensive experience I will never ever again under any circumstances buy another A class Mercedes.

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Classic 1.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero 4WD

Summary:

An excellent city car for a busy woman

Faults:

Minor rattle in the front suspension. Fixed by the dealer.

General Comments:

A brilliantly designed car, for its intended use as a city run about. Great for carting kids to school, sports events, grocery shopping and for taking elderly people to church, doctor, shopping etc.

It has a lot of safety features, heaps of room inside and handles very well. It is the only small car my 1.94 meter son can comfortably fit in the back seat of, and provides reasonable economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews