5th Feb 2008, 09:36


I was wondering if anyone has a problem with MB S320 03, regarding a faulty seal on the radiator, which has allowed the coolant to get into the gearbox. I believe it is also in the E class 03, 04, and some 05's.

28th Feb 2008, 11:57

Hi there, I own a 2001 C230K sports coupe and I wish I had stumbled across this forum previously as a warning. I cannot believe the rust that has accumulated around the wheel arches and guess what MB are not going to fix the problem as I have missed a MB service.

The car has just 50,000 miles on the clock and the rust is unbelievable for a car of this caliber.

Well I'm collecting my new BMW tomorrow and can state I will never be a customer of Mercedes-Benz again.

23rd Jun 2008, 21:22

The inference wasn't that we were taking money from MB R&D. But that those people not willing to support the network and stand by the marque that supplies these cars, were perhaps contributing to the decline of the company. With so many complaints about shoddy service and minor rust driving people to abandon the dealer network, it does not look good for the future of MB.

9th Aug 2008, 10:53

Water-based paint is mentioned above. As I understand it, MB started using it in August 1995. However, for what it's worth, the boss of the bodyshop I use is not convinced that it is the explanatory factor in the shameful recent history of MB corrosion problems. The other factors mentioned above certainly to seem more likely to be the culprits.

Earlier MBs do rust. The W124 goes at the front wheel arches, as does the W126, which also goes at the base of the rear screen. However, they have all lasted a great deal longer than the more recent victims.

Things are reported to have improved since galvanizing came in in 2003, but there are still reports of corrosion emerging on later models.

11th Aug 2008, 14:18

I work in a large car body shop that carries out warranty work for Mercedes Benz. We constantly see the same rust problems on fairly new cars - door bottoms rusty - boot lid rusty - front wings rusty - rear wheel arches rusty.

Be aware of the problems before you buy - Merc's ain't what they used to be.

25th Oct 2008, 21:42

Ask at any body shop. It sounds like a small spot so it shouldn't cost much at all. My 83 300D gets taken in whenever any rust or paint bubbles appear and it looks like new after repairs and they match the paint and buff the car. Sounds like no more than a couple hundred dollars at a top shop for a SLK.

18th Nov 2008, 01:57

I own a 1989 300 CE. This is a wonderful car with low mileage on it. Never had any problem with it. But it is starting to get a little bit old, so I have begun to look around for something newer to buy. I have seriously considered buying a CL (2000 or 2001), but after reading all the comments about poor quality, I feel that I have to start looking for something else...

23rd Dec 2008, 07:46

Someone told me recently that the MB service experience has improved. I have recently collected my SLK from one of their Main Dealers only to drive less than 500 miles to see the brake pad warning light come on. Let's be kind here and say the dealers attitude was different than I was expecting. It would appear that as their prices have gone up (service cost £475.00) the level of service has gone down. But here's the thing. I was practically offered a bribe to complete one of there questionnaires so their service would look good against there competitors and my friends have had a similar experience. Carry on kidding yourselves MB, the bottom line is your service still stinks.

16th Jun 2009, 12:05

What does one expect from 13 and 10 year old cars?

No rust? Keep dreaming. Blown head gasket and tranny. Do you regularly maintain your cars or think that because it's Mercedes they don't require it?

Although it is common knowledge that Mercedes-Benz has more 'old' cars on the road worldwide than any other marque, they require maintenance (although not much compared to other cars) to achieve longevity and unlike most other manufacturers, Benzes are excellent value because they are well worth the investment.

I think the majority would disagree with your sentiments, but hey, good luck with your 5 yr old BMWs and Audis, because you obviously haven't read the Audi reviews on this site.

16th Jun 2009, 13:43

"What does one expect from 13 and 10 year old cars?"

Our 54 year old Pontiac does not have a HINT of rust. Neither did our 17-year-old Ford, our 30-year-old Buick or our 14-year-old Dodge. also, none of those cars had as many problems as our C-class did in 3 years. Ego appeal or not, it's not worth it to us to pay three times as much for a car that is rated lower in reliability than a Ford.

16th Jun 2009, 16:39

The strangest thing about this review is that the owner complained of rust on his rear quarter panels, but Road and Track magazine wrote about the 2000 CL500 saying...

Thanks to the extensive use of lightweight materials, it also weighs in at about 750 pounds under the previous model, even with higher levels of crash safety. The hood, door paneling, rear fenders, and roof, for instance, are aluminum, while the insides of the doors are magnesium, and the front fenders and trunklid are formed with a flexible, composite plastic. (You get plenty of cool stuff for your $85K.)

I thought aluminum was renowned for resisting corrosion!

17th Jun 2009, 10:10

"Benzes are excellent value because they are well worth the investment."

I guess that's why they have one of the highest cost-to-own factors of any car in the world.

18th Jun 2009, 19:27

It's a Mercedes of course it's expensive. A good education costs a lot too, but that doesn't mean that we should do without one.

We've got to be qualified to get in on the ground floor with an IPO. We also have to be qualified to own a luxury automobile like a Benz. We have got to be willing to pay the cost and be the boss. Fine cars, fine drink and fine women, none of these things come cheap.

Buying a Mercedes is like buying a Blue Chip stock. It may seem like the rest of the equities, but those in the know, can appreciate why it comes at a premium. It's the same when considering any high end purchase for long-term ownership pleasure.

I'm a big man and I like the build integrity, serene comfort, leading edge style and technology, plus the supreme driving capabilities found in a Mercedes-Benz. Some like Fords, or whatever, and that is their choice. But different strokes for different folks. Right?

Some things to some people, are worth the price within their own personal reasoning. Over time, as the years pass, the operating/ownership costs will drop significantly anyhow and one must be willing to 'hold' on in order to realise a profit. Like investing in bonds, regardless, a second hand purchaser can derive as much, if not more pleasure and profit from the ownership experience than the guy who only leased the car, absorbed the depreciation and had no interest in keeping the car beyond the leasing contract. The car would have been serviced regularly by the dealer and most if not all bugs would have been worked out under warranty.

Yea, they're expensive, but these rides are so worth it.