2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK Reviews

2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK 55 AMG 5.4 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 5.4 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SLK

Summary:

An elegant monster waiting to pounce

Faults:

The only problem I have had with the car is the throttle sensor went bad. When the sensor goes bad, the gas pedal refuses to respond. Once that happens, the car will not accelerate. If the sensor is going out, the throttle response will be low.

General Comments:

As an AMG, the car is a torque monster.

Very stylish exterior, yet discrete.

The interior is that of an old Mercedes; a bit outdated, but nonetheless, looks great.

Having the extra 3 grand seat option, the car looks good with it, as does it feel comfortable.

Handling is exceptional, though with a V8 upfront, it is nose heavy.

Brakes are fantastic. Over constant hard braking, the wear is very limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2012

2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK 230 Convertible 2.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Most recent distance84000 kilometres
Previous carJaguar XJ8

Summary:

Over priced rubbish

Faults:

Drive coupling replaced at 72000kms.

Engine water pump replaced at 78000kms.

Engine belts replaced.

Brake vacuum line cracked/replaced at 83000kms.

Strut on soft top panel cover replaced at 84000kms.

Head light lenses faded.

General Comments:

Handles and drives well, but nowhere near as good as my XJ8 Jaguar.

This model is a piece of crap, and is falling apart at this low mileage.

Had a 1983 W123 Merc, and it was superbly reliable, and had done 225000kms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2011

2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK 430 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL

Summary:

Exotic car speed for under $20k

Faults:

Cat converter issue; covered by warranty.

Temp display LED dissolved; not covered any longer and too expensive to replace ($900 for the unit).

General Comments:

Passes everything on the road except a gas station; bring lots of money.

Crazy acceleration from 70-110.

Quiet and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2008

18th Sep 2010, 13:42

I have a 2000 CLK and love it!!! I've had it since 2004, and haven't had any problems except for a faulty MAF and crank shaft position sensor! Best car I've ever owned.

2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK Advangarde 3.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance92500 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Best car I have owned

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with the car is that there is a slight oil leak from the gear box. Its been back to the garage once and had a new sump gasket fitted, the leak now seems to come from the back of the gear box and only seems apparent after a long run.

Other than that, the car has been faultless (fingers crossed).

General Comments:

Probably one of the best cars I have owned.

Looks good, got all the toys, excellent speed and comfortable to drive.

My car has now covered 92500 miles and is still crisp and smooth, the only niggles being the gear box leak which is detailed above.

Excellent economy considering it's a 3.2 engine, On long trips I get between 31 and 35mpg!!, Short journeys are a lot less, but this is not a town car, it's a motorway driving car.

Big difference in service costs, with one merc dealer charging £90+vat/hr and another charging £45+vat/hr, can't work that out!!!

Variable service indicator works well, its indicating that I will 13000 miles between services at the moment.

Would I buy another one? Yes Please.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

1st Jan 2011, 08:57

The CLK 320 is one of the best cars I have ever owned, you can keep your Bugatti Veyron; the CLK 320 is the car. It's a head turner, and you can raise your shoulders up high and be counted. It roars, it chews up the miles, and overtaking other cars becomes a non event. Bring it on MB, that's your best production car - well to me.

Enias Mubaira.

2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK 430 4.3L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

Great car for a serious driver

Faults:

Gas guage started to flicker. Ended up being a sending unit in the gas tank. Car still under warranty so it didn't cost a dime.

General Comments:

Good acceleration off the line, but scary fast acceleration on the highway.

A real head-turner in bright red.

Interior is as good looking as the exterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

25th Feb 2006, 08:30

Mercedes 430 clk 2001 brilliant car fast comfortable head turning 30k reliable what a dream to drive, maria. ( if youve got it flaunt it)

11th Aug 2006, 05:29

Accelerates quickly and really fun to drive. Make sure your tires are inflated correctly for best performance.

5th May 2007, 14:42

I just brought my clk 430 I love it. it rides like a dream and I feel proud in it.

ZP.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews