Mercedes-Benz CLS Reviews

2005 Mercedes-Benz CLS 320 CDI 3.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles
Previous carChrysler 300

Summary:

Great car. A classic in the making

Faults:

Front left suspension spring snapped while sitting on the drive!

General Comments:

Generally pretty happy with the car. I just love the look of it. I am normally a serial car buyer, quickly bored and wanting to move on to another model. However this is the first car I have kept for so long (5 years!).

I don't think I will sell it now as it represents great value. And it is bound to become a classic.

The 7 speed gear box seems sometimes a little confused as to which gear it should select.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2011

16th Jun 2011, 13:24

Glad you said "a classic in the making". If I hear one more "instant classic", I'll scream.

13th Jul 2011, 02:49

I am a new owner (06 model year), and I can tell anyone reading this that this is one very good car.

The engine is very powerful and pulls strongly throughout the rev range, whilst still managing 30 - 35 mpg.

The interior has a high quality feel, and even in basic trim is very well appointed.

Then we come to the exterior, this car is an automotive work of art (personal opinions may vary).

2007 Mercedes-Benz CLS 320 CDI 3.0 V6 turbo diesel from Belgium

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26500 kilometres
Most recent distance93000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

One of the best Mercedes ever built

Faults:

Mirror illumination light failed, one cylinder injector failed.

General Comments:

Absolutely fantastic in every aspect. Not as silky comfy as an S-Class, but miles better than the E-Class it is based on. Economy very fine, still very powerful and torquey. Not very practical though, but that's easy to accept when you just look at how beautiful it is. A future classic, already today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2010

2005 Mercedes-Benz CLS CLS 350 3.5 V6 petrol from Lithuania

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice unreliable car

Faults:

Automatic climate control went wrong 3 times.

Pneumatic/hydraulic suspension went wrong 3 times.

Small electrical failures.

General Comments:

Very nice car to drive, when it's working. Really attracts people at the start. But these failures drive people crazy. It seems MB has gone very far away with the complexity of the car, that even their own dealers cannot fix the problems.

The climate control has gone out few times. Once it was -5 degrees Celsius outside when the climate control failed. We thought we would freeze to death. The dealer could not fix the problem, and time after time it reappeared.

Another non fixable problem is the pneumatic/hydraulic suspension. Time after time the front lifts up and sticks in such a position that you drive like on a horse... This problem also could not be fixed permanently at the dealers.

Every year it has to go to dealership for fixing problems at least 4 times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2009

23rd Aug 2009, 16:36

Our family has had two C-class. They got attention and boosted our ego, but weren't very good cars. If your ego can stand it, try the Ford Fusion. Ours is just as good a car as the C-class and cost less than half as much. It's 4 years old and nary a problem.

2007 Mercedes-Benz CLS 63 AMG 6.2L V8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6.2L V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance6700 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover Sport

Summary:

Oh I love it! Mine, forever, and ever, and ever, and ever..

Faults:

A testament to Mercedes' wonderful reliability, the electric seats have been rather problematic. The car has been into the dealer three times for this, but the this time I do believe they fixed it.

General Comments:

As an owner of fine automobiles, I must say that this is by far the most fulfilling vehicle to drive and own.

My CLS 63 isn't standard. It was supercharged by AMG, and this required the fitting of six speed transmission in place of the standard seven speed transmission.

Driving :) To drive, it's a masterpiece, perfectly balanced and so controllable. The steering is spot-on, and there is very minimal understeer. It in no way, shape or form, drives and acts like a large saloon, more a little sports car. I love the way the Supercharged AMG powerplant growls at you if drive it sensibly, but then snarls when you push it to the limit. Oh, I get so excited just writing this! Every aspect of this car, I love it. Except for one thing, the traction control. I hate it. Yes, it can be turned off, but the car is constantly applying the brakes to controll wheel spin and sliding. I mean, come on, what's the point of turning the system off if it doesn't really turn off? I've taken it on the track, and I can't say this is healthy for it, being that the brakes overheated, glowing red, and therefore the car limited my driving. I was not very pleased. There is one gear that is somewhat distasteful when changing in and out of, and when it does so, the RPM's don't feel right and it's not as smooth as the rest. Another factor that adds to the experience of driving it, is that it actually gets decent gas mileage, 20 mpg average I believe. For an engine of this caliber, that's rather suprising.

Inside: Black with dark burl wood trim, magnificant. The interior is so robust and complete, I might as well be driving in a Maybach. The seats are infinitely supportive, even in the rear. I was quite surprised that I could actually sit in the rear of this car, and have plenty of room to be comfortable. And I'm not short, 5'9". I think this has something to do with the way Mercedes made it so that you sit "into" the car, like really sink in deep and low. The bells and whistles that come with this car are completely mind boggling, there's just so many! However, Mercedes does need to work on their voice command feature. It often gets things mixed up, and on occasion, does the EXACT opposite of what I want it to do.

Exterior: I LOVE IT! I especially like the way everything flows to the rear, over the tail lights and down to the bumper and trunk lid. This makes it look almost like a 2 door coupe, which is another reason I'm suprised that I can fit in back. Mine is black, with chrome alloy AMG wheels that look sharp. Now, I will admit that I am not normally fond of newer Mercedes designs, but this one really does it for me. This is one of those few cars that inspires a sense of elegance and power within me. It is truley stunning to say the least.

If there was one thing that I could change about this car, is the traction control. If I want to get the most out of this car every time I take it to the track, overheating the brakes is definitely not the way to do it!

If I could, I would buy this piece of artwork again and again, just so it has that "new" feel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2007

8th Jan 2007, 20:17

Wonderful review and car to say the least... very informative and well written.

Have fun driving your beauty around, as I could only hope to have one!

Cheers!

11th Jan 2007, 20:32

It appears that something may be going wrong with my Mercedes, and for some reason this doesn't surprise me. If anyone has been in a car where the timing isn't quite right, it "pings" a little when doing up hills, or even driving around town, that's what mine sounds like. It is becoming more frequent the more I drive it, and it was very noticeable a few days ago when I was driving up a very large hill. The isn't any difference in power, but it is still very concerning. I have an appointment scheduled in 2 days, so we'll see how it goes.

Things don't look good though; my service engine light came on earlier today, when it was pinging. I guess I have to drive my Range Rover for a while until it gets fixed. Very sad.

20th Jan 2007, 19:03

Well, I came here to report what the problem was, when I noticed this review was gone. Now that it's back, I can report. According to the AMG mechanic, there was a small bearing in the supercharger that was mis-alligned, and was coming loose very quickly. He also stated that if I had gone another 100-250 miles, it would have come completely dislodged and re-lodge its self in my engine. I had to pay nothing out of my pocket for the service, just as it should be.

29th Jan 2007, 18:05

This dude doesn't own the car and most likely would never hope to. its the same all around with high-end vehicles, people faking and wishing they own a certain car/truck/SUV.

29th Jan 2007, 22:14

Oh, I don't own this car?

If you wish for me to provide proof of my ownership, e-mail is sithyt1300@aol.com. We can continue this discussion there. My name is Don.

20th Feb 2007, 21:23

Ooooohh, burn!! Just because a car is relatively exotic does not mean that the owners will not write reviews on the Internet like "regular" folks. My only request is that the owners not be too blinded by the thrill of owning these cars and provide accurate data on problems/repairs including prices paid for non-warranty items. Congratulations on your purchase, Don.

23rd Mar 2007, 01:53

Having driven an S500, sometimes it can be the most sublime driving experience.

23rd Mar 2007, 09:36

Kudos to Mercedes for taking an existing platform, adding a new body style and no other advantages, and then charging a ton more money for it over its E Class roots.

And now Audi and BMW are folllowing suit.

It's amazing what people will be convinced to buy.

23rd Mar 2007, 19:29

23rd Mar 2007, 09:36: If you would read the review, the owner listed some pretty amazing details that you won't find in your every day Mercedes-Benz.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews