1989 Mercedes-Benz S-Class Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1989 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 560SEC 5.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 500SEC

Summary:

A high performance bargain if you can keep it in petrol

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A huge, wonderful, luxurious and stunning looking car. Most of the time it silently flows through traffic like a limo - but if you put your foot on the floor it turns into a sports car of incredible handling given its size, and 5.6 litres of engine hurtles you forward, passing anything in its way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

23rd Nov 2005, 12:09

It is one of my ambitions in life to own one of these cars. My preference would be a 1984 560sec AMG. I carry a photo of an outstanding example on my phone. But, can anybody tell me from experience, what MPG would I get with a car like this?

22nd Dec 2005, 15:52

It depends on your driving style, obviously, but on average i'd expect 11-13mpg based on my experience with my 560SEL.

9th Jan 2006, 18:21

I get 10-11 mpg now, though it was close to 12 when new (16 yrs ago) -- premium, of course. Great car, but the key is spending the money to maintain it. Beware of those which have not been properly maintained by MB mechanics. If you really have to worry about gas mileage and fuel costs, you probably won't be able to afford the vehicle. Insurance costs are similarly pricey. Beyond the money issues, however, I've yet to find a new one I like better, even by MB.

23rd Jan 2009, 04:24

Hey Guys, Old MB fan here, had a 78' 450SL, loved it but it went to pay a lawyer for a divorce :( Now I got a chance for a 89' 560SEC w/180K on it, but mint for $2900. I'll only drive it <5K/yr. Any and all advice appreciated. Thanks for your time.

23rd Mar 2009, 15:41

Buy it! I just bought a 1990 560SEC and love it.

3rd May 2009, 20:17

Hello to all the 560sec lovers here, I own the 1989 model and I plan to keep it. It is a beautiful car and still looks like new, and I have 250,000 miles on mine.

Enjoy your car, it is a classic worth keeping.

Here's a tip, try to learn as much about your car as possible, it could save you some money in the long run.

Frederick Jenkins, New York.

6th Sep 2009, 09:18

I bought my 560 SEC AMG in CA and drove it cross-country to Baltimore, logging 16-17 mpg at freeway speeds with the cruise on.

1989 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 300SE 6 cyn from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 6 cyn
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Air conditioner.

General Comments:

This automobile will cruise along at 80+ all day. I am very pleased. It has 180,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

26th Sep 2001, 12:56

The air-conditioning compressor seems to be a common failing on this car though Mercedes might have put things right on the later models. I've bought a Lexus by the way.

1989 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 560SEC 5.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 5.6 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing (touch wood).

General Comments:

Superb car, find one if you can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 1997

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 26 reviews