Mercedes-Benz W107 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1979 Mercedes-Benz W107 450 4.5 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.5 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carBMW Z3 Roadster

Summary:

Wonderful

Faults:

I am looking for a vacuum diagram for my Mercedes Benz 450SLC. model year 1979 engine M114 chassis 024. Power steering central locking, Auto climate control. Does anyone know where I can get such a diagram?

General Comments:

The 1979 450SLC is perhaps one of the one enjoyable cars I have ever owned. In some ways I enjoy driving it more the my 99 C280. For just this reason. You have to drive the 450, the C280 is very comfortable, quick and solid and reliable. But it is a modern car with all the air bags, traction and stability controls, drive by wire this and that. you point and go with the C280.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

1978 Mercedes-Benz W107 450slc 4.5 petrol from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

A classic and affordable timepiece of a great era in automotive innovation and history

Faults:

Alternator shortly after purchasing the vehicle.

MB Tex upholstery showing usual signs of wear.

General Comments:

I have owned a handful of Mercedes and used to work at a dealership in the United States. In my opinion there is not a better built automobile in the world than Mercedes-Benz. The level of craftsmanship and reliability, combined with the superior power and luxury, set Mercedes apart from the rest.

I own several Mercedes including a 1987 560SEC, a 2003 C240, a 1996 E320, and a 1995 C220. While each of these vehicles adds a different element to driving; the 450 SLC is timeless. The perfect combination of style and comfort grace all the W107 cars, but I believe the extra length and chrome accents on the SLC raise the car up a notch above the rest.

I have had little trouble with the vehicle, and it continues to start on the first crank, even after sitting for months. Each time I sit in the SLC I am taken back to a time when automobiles were built with the driver in mind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

16th Jan 2007, 02:43

Just found your site, have owned a nice '74 silver 450slc for, ah, 2 months now. Don't know why I took so long, will never drive anything other than Benz. Other car is an '88 300sel, but got tired of sharing with wife. Sculpture on wheels.

10th May 2009, 02:13

The Mercedes 450 SLC is also celebrated as a great rally car.

Does anyone know of 450 SLCs as rally contenders?

21st Mar 2010, 19:45

I have a 1980 450 SLC and love it. Purchased it for 5600.00 and it has 90,000 on it, was this a good deal? Body and motor are in excellent condition. Have tuned it up,oil change, new belts and hoses. Runs well and cranks first time every time. Good to find your site, Thanks.

17th Aug 2010, 15:48

Great summary. I've only had my SLC for 6 months, but I think the extra length makes the car appear a lot more elegant than the convertible, which has always struck me as a little stunted in its appearance.

The car still feels so solid and modern. Friends of mine are stunned when they see how well it handles motorways.

I like the fact that the SLC is so rare now compared to the SL. The reaction from other road users is great; they always let you out from side roads and junctions. The SLC is one of the best kept classic car secrets.

1974 Mercedes-Benz W107 450 SLC 4.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A lovely car once they are all in order!

Faults:

The motor on this car had not been looked after that well by the previous owner. A costly repair was necessary.

The timing chain needed replacing as well as the timing chain guides and tensioner.

The front crankshaft seal also needed replacing.

Camshaft feeder pipes were replaced.

Adjusted tappets to spec. These had never been adjusted and adjuster threads were seized.

Replaced vacuum advance.

Replaced water pump assembly.

Air pressure sensor replaced.

I'm currently replacing door and window rubbers as these have perished with age.

I also replaced the carpet with factory original material and had the front seats re-cushioned.

General Comments:

Once it was fixed it ran like a dream. These are lovely cars made for cruising, preferably at high speed!

It still has a few niggles which are expected from a 30 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

25th Nov 2006, 22:24

I recently bought a 450SLC with 103,000 miles and am enjoying it immensely. Here are the issues I've confronted:

-- Loud muffler: $7 in muffler bandage and muffler cement solved it!

-- Dashboard lights wouldn't come on: fixed by cleaning a fuse (fuses are notorious with the 107's, due to incompatible metals used in fuse system.

--High idle (about 1500 rpm) : Fixed by chasing down loose or corroded vacuum hoses (another MAJOR source of trouble with the D-Jetronic engines, which rely on manifold pressure to determine fuel requirements). Adjusted idle screw a few turns until 800 rpm reached. Total cost $3 for a bad hose going to manifold pressure sensor.

--Engines runs a bit rough or misses, especially when cold: Replacing ignition points and condenser helped tremendously; adding a bottle of Chevron techron additive to tank seems to have cured problem!

Have gone 1,400 miles and no measurable oil usage. A good sign!

8th Sep 2007, 08:13

Has anyone heard that replacing and upgrading the electronic fuel system is a must? I am told the 73 SLC had a complicated fuel system that should be upgraded to the 80"s version. Does anyone have any input or experience with this?

4th Mar 2010, 01:33

Update on my Nov. 2006 comment:

Happy to report that a remaining intermittent stumble has been cured. After eliminating many possible causes (accelerator switch hanging up, etc.), I finally figured it out: A sticking mechanical advance in the distributor. After dripping plenty of oil down the top of the rotor shaft, the problem has been resolved. I'll probably have to rebuild the distributor at some point, but until then it's doing fine. The problem would usually occur right after coming down to idle after a high speed run.

One other point: after adjusting the ignition points VERY carefully, the car no longer ha a "vacuum leak-type lag right off of idle. Completely gone!

So, a word to the wise. Although these cars do have complicated electronic fuel ignition, with $1,000 manifold pressure sensors and the like, drivability problems seem to almost always arise from the basics. They always say to check the ignition before messing with the fuel injection, and boy is that true with these cars.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews