1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 from Ecuador

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired284000 kilometres
Most recent distance297000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

The car had a few electrical problems, the gasket blew (2 times), the overhead cam had to be fixed, there were some holes in the heating system so the dash had to be disassembled. Finally the engine died and the replacement parts cost me a fortune.

General Comments:

Beautiful car, solid, but you should only have it as a second car. No way this should be your first or only car, after all, it is 30 years old. Great for taking it out on the weekend, especially the ones with sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2009

28th Jan 2009, 21:27

Can't tell if your problem is generic to German made autos, but the BMW 740il that I own has some of the same problems. My next car will be a GM or Ford...dwa.

13th Feb 2009, 08:29

I have a 1981 230ce. Every day it drives and no problems.

6th May 2013, 16:07

Also in Ecuador, I just bought my 3rd W123. Something I have learned is not buy the cheapest one, take your time and buy the best you can get, and do a long and good examination before you purchase. I use it as a daily driver, and really enjoy the high torque of the engine and the sunroof. LOTS of DIY work, but I think it is worth it.

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 3.0 5 cylinder diesel from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 5 cylinder diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired207100 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

The way all cars should be built, the Classic Mercedes-Benz way

Faults:

Really nothing has "gone wrong". Just normal maintenance.

General Comments:

This is an amazing car, it never dies. I love the smooth ride and comfortable interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2008

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D diesel from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance785955 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 240D

Summary:

Mercedes Everlasting Car

Faults:

Everything I haven't driven the car since 2002, The best part is that I started it up this year 2005 and it runs smoothly. with 785,955miles. Mostly the car's interior is okay shape and the exterior needs a paint job badly, I have never got in a accident since I bought in 1978.

General Comments:

Even to this date this car will never give up with 785,955miles.The paint is very bad becuse I haven't start this car since 2002, but this year I just put the battery in and turn the key and it still started like when I bought in 1978. I took it around the block and on the freeway for 30mins and the car runs like brand new even if it doesn't look like brand new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2005

9th Apr 2006, 00:08

To the two wise-cracks above: It is common for people who own older Mercedes models such as this to keep them almost forever. These cars have that certain "something" that draws most owners in and never lets go. When this person said that everything went wrong, they were not joking I'm sure. He probably had the engine rebuilt at least twice and I'm sure most other items on the car were replaced several times. Kudos to him for keeping this classically reliable, but miserably slow automobile for so long and never tiring of it. I can say that because we owned one for many years and I can say it was one of the best cars that we've ever had.

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D 3.0 Liter diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired286000 kilometres
Most recent distance370000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 200B

Summary:

Something that must not be ignored just because it is old

Faults:

Basically, nothing has gone wrong. The car is well over 20 years old and the only problems I had are due to old age wear.

I had to replace the head gasket as there was not much left of it. I also had the head reconditioned at the same time.

I had to replace the seal in the water pump.

I had to replace the diaphram in the vacuum pump.

All suspension bushes are slowly being replaced.

General Comments:

The W123 is a classic car like all the rest of the models. Nothing can compare, even late model vehicles just don't feel as good to drive.

I found the ride to be a bit to soft, but then this car isn't designed to go fast, it is more of a tourer.

I personally feel that the motor revs to high (up to 5100 RPM), but a slower reving motor from that period would probably vibrate to much.

I like the car so much that I have just bought another one for parts, but it is to good to strip so I will have to rebuild it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews