1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D T from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

A safe, secure, economical and reliable car

Faults:

The power windows are working, but I guess the last owner was fumbling with the electrical system, but I am fixing it.

The brakes need to be serviced.

General Comments:

I bought this car a few months ago and I am very happy with it.

It is very spacious and comfortable, with plush seats and great legroom.

The engine and transmission are in great shape and wow, the fuel mileage is incredible! She gets over 700kms on a tank of diesel.

A great car and a pleasure to own. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

18th Sep 2007, 01:49

I wish they had shipped out more 300Ds with turbos to Australia as they are as rare as hens teeth. Just trying to find a turbo manifold is pretty hard. There are none here.

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 300CD 3.0L diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance685000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Finest automobile ever put on the road

Faults:

Cruise control kicked off irregularly: replaced the cruise control module and no further problems.

Door lock vacuum plungers replaced once.

Replaced power window regulators once.

Replaced power antenna motor twice.

Replaced automatic climate control regulator at 260,000 miles.

Alternator replaced every 100,000 miles.

Added a block heater at ~350,000 miles to overcome the cold winters in the Northeast US.

No breakdowns in 25 years, and the engine has never been opened.

General Comments:

The car, while seemingly slow to accelerate, handles incredibly well with great cornering and, at 5450 pounds, provides a very smooth ride at all speeds, regardless of road condition.

Steady fuel mileage of 35mpg, both in-town and highway: this is a very inexpensive vehicle to maintain and drive. With the large fuel tank, I can easily drive 700 miles between refuelings.

Due to the cold winters in Upstate New York, my old 300CD has retired to our winter place in Key West. I only drive her 3-4 times per year, but still enjoy this car more than any I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 230C 2.3 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Gas Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles

Summary:

Worst car to hit the road since the Pinto

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 145000 miles.

I had to replace the engine block.

I had to have the heads machined four times in 5 months.

Rear axel disconnected from body at a high speed.

General Comments:

This car has been a problem car since the day I bought it. I keep it in running condition because not only is it my first car, but I love it to death. I will never buy another Mercedes and I soon plan to drive this one off a cliff if it costs me any more money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 2002

13th Jun 2007, 13:36

Read the comments of the other proprietors of Mercedes W123. You are the only who have had so serious problems, you would have to consider the age of the car, the care and use that the previous owners give him.

It is a very noble vehicle. By something still wheel in many African countries and in the Middle East, by its reliability.

29th Sep 2007, 13:01

I agree with the above commenter. I purchased a 1977 230 euro sedan with 268,000kms and so far even before I've got it registered for the road I've had to put $800 into items that should have been replaced by the last owner. (flex disc's which caused your drive-shaft failure) fuel pump, starter, f/r springs, shocks, trailing arm, tie rods, disc's and pads, tune-up parts and there is more to do.

But I know from even yard driving it now I will have a vehicle that will be a comfortable, great handling car that will be rock solid reliable. Easy to fix with the right metric tools and a blast to drive.

Don't give up, spend a little money on maintenance and you will love it to death.

13th Jun 2013, 03:00

Problem here is that it's not a diesel car. Petrol engines have way too much that can go wrong. I hate spark plugs, ballast resistors, coils, EFI etc.

13th Jun 2013, 21:03

These cars are certainly very durable on the average, however there comes a time in any car's life - even an old Mercedes - where reliability becomes a function of a component's durability. And the durability of the components may be a function of age, rather than the build quality of the component.

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired286000 miles
Most recent distance303000 miles

Summary:

Low price, reliable, sexy, very high value

Faults:

Everything is perfect. However, the transmission needed to be replaced. Also, finding freon for the air conditioner is expensive ($80/lbs.) You need three pounds to fill it up resulting in $240 just for the freon. The worst thing is the heating system. The heating box costs about $300 and is known to break about every 5 years.

General Comments:

This car handles like a race car. It even beats some of the newer cheap cars when it comes to acceleration. However, when it gets going about 60mph, it can beat almost any car on the road for acceleration. One thing is that the car is loud as hell above 75mph, however, one thing that's nice about this car is that is will NEVER break down in the middle of driving. In fact, my battery died in the middle of the night. I had no lights, no radio, no power windows, but the car kept going.

What a ride.

Get this car. Every lady I know loves it. Just email me if you don't believe me.

Romanski@pdx.edu.

Seeya.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1978 Mercedes-Benz W123 280E 2.8 DOHC EFI 185hp from Argentina

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 DOHC EFI 185hp Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 220

Summary:

The best car for any situation

Faults:

Shock absorber are the originals and it's becoming loud, but it has 200000 km.

The parts are very expensive in Argentina, but they have a big stock of parts.

The engine is noiseless.

General Comments:

This car is perfect to travel long distances.

Its easy to park it, even for a woman.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews