1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 300TD 3.0 non-turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 non-turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

AWESOME, but don't be in a hurry when driving one

Faults:

Both the heater and air conditioning work, just not effectively. I've been told this is normal, however uncomfortable for the South Carolina climate!

Transmission shifts rough. Dealer has checked four times and says everything is functioning to factory standards. Replaced a valve in transmission for $450.00!

Ignition switch acts up randomly, but never on trips to the dealer for service!

General Comments:

The car is awesome! Not a week goes by that someone at a service station does not offer to buy it from me. Super dependable, indestructible, very good ride quality, gorgeous interior with leather and wood. The car gets thumbs up and nods daily from other Benz drivers. Also gets the middle finger from impatient people who get stuck behind me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2002

1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

Definitely the best car ever for $1500

Faults:

Lock cylinder stuck in crank position once, I just took it out and use a screwdriver. I'll get a replacement soon.

The valves need adjustment a lot in order to keep it running just right. This is easily done.

Change the oil a lot. This car likes new oil.

General Comments:

I love this car, at first it ran terribly slow, but then I gave it an Italian tune-up, where you run it really fast up steep hills, and it burned all the carbon out of the prechambers and now this car rules.

The handling and ride quality are very nice.

The motor sounds really kewl it's very tight.

I have never thought I'd find a 4 speed 300D, this is the first one I have seen. The dealer told me it was imported from Germany as a German model, and it has in the door jamb a plate with a VIN number assigned by the California Highway Patrol. A unique car.

Has power windows, which are tinted really dark.

The body is straight and without rust.

Only fifteen hundred dollars, not bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2002

1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 300d 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Automatic
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Maestro

Summary:

A solid car possibly

Faults:

Engine died?

Tapping and used tons of oil the valves went.

Transmission jumps and doesn't get in to gear.

Steering went and needs a new steering block.

Radiator went.

General Comments:

I fell in love with this car after driving a van for years I wanted to buy a good solid reliable car that was comfortable and would last me for years. A Beirut taxi as friends call the w123"s. I was in one that had done 900,000 Ks yes true

Mine broke down on the way home from the dodgy geezer I bought it from. The first car I ever bought, as the other one which I still own was a present.

The thing is it looks great. when it drives it drives well although max speed on the motorway is only 80mph a little slower than my Maestro van! Do I put money in to it?

Needs a new engine new steering block and possibly new transmission which will be the costliest. so I'm really torn on this car.

I just don't know if it"s worth it

However I don't blame the car.

Partly my naivety and partly the crook I bought it from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 300TD diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired212898 miles
Most recent distance250219 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

A nice local road cruiser

Faults:

Passenger side, back right passenger side, and back left passenger side windows came off their retractor.

Driver's seat was very worn.

Driving light and backup lights broke.

We couldn't budge the driving mirrors.

Gas gauge didn't work.

The air conditioning had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The engine and transmission in this car were indestructable. They will last for another 200,000 miles.

This car is very comfortable. I really like the big sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4 diesel from Philippines

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 kilometres
Most recent distance169000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A treasure to cherish

Faults:

The brakes were sticking.

Seats need to be re-foamed/repadded.

Changed the tie-rods and drag link.

Replaced the engine supports.

It needs a new steering box.

The front flooring is rusted out, especially on the driver's side.

Changed the temperature gauge (whole cluster).

Will probably need new coil springs and shocks soon.

It will need some new weather strips.

I think I need new ball joints.

It needs a new chain tensioner.

General Comments:

The car, for me, is short on power but it is sufficient enough for normal city driving. Speed is acceptable on long stretches. It's very economical.

It offers a very comfortable and stable ride that is better than the Japanese cars my family members have can offer.

Road noise and suspension noise are kept at a minimum.

Parts are relatively inexpensive and readily available.

I would say that it is very prone to rust though. Some cars are actually better in this area.

Price-wise, this 1980 240D is good value. If I were to sell it today, it would fetch the same price as a 1994-1996 Sentra, Corolla, Lancer, or some other Japanese make.

Being in this car gives you a sense of security because you know it's sturdy and well-built.

The W123's for me and for a lot of people, are the best Benz series made. It is a true classic, timeless in design. In-spite of its age it still gives its owners prestige and recognition.

My wife and I will never part with this car if we could help it. We are currently saving up to do a proper restoration on it. We want it to be as fresh as the day it came out of the factory in Germany. It is truly a superior automobile.

Lastly, our car is still all original. We even have the original owner's manuals (written in German though), and the original Becker radio-cassette manual all in it's original plastic case. How's that?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

20th Mar 2003, 13:03

Big deal! I have a 1990 accord with 260,000 miles on it with nothing wrong. 5 speed is original, no new shocks, tranny, nothing! This car is truly rock solid.

22nd Mar 2005, 19:09

I just got my 240D because of spiralling gas prices here in the Philippines. I was surprised by its fuel consumption and reliability. My wife was skeptical at first since sold our 92' and 94' model cars just to get this Benz. I told her that I would gladly sell the Benz if she could find a Toyota or Honda, 22 years of age, which performs economically and reliably as this Benz. Incidentally, my other German car is already 35 years old and still runs reliably. Talk about durability! I have nothing against Japanese brands. Its just that its costlier to maintain them in the long run especially when they start to show their age. I just love things that last and this Benz is it. Mabuhay! The mileage of my 22 year old Benz is 200,000 miles.

29th Mar 2009, 19:02

The W123 is a much older design, it was more popular than the Accord no?

Can you repair a 1990's honda with a basic tool kit in south Africa?

20th Jun 2009, 07:23

Funny that the guy compared an Accord to a Benz... If you haven't owned a Benz and driven it long, you would never know how good it really is...

I've had a CRV and a Camry, and sold those ones off, but I still keep my w201... they were good and probably had similar reliability, but the 190e has character. Trust me, the feel of driving it is totally different.

Now I'm planning to get a w123 for myself and restore it, thus seeing this review... sometimes I wished I bought one before I got those japanese cars, I would have not lost so much money on depreciation... hope I find a coupe in good nick... cheers...

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 19 reviews