1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 300CD 5 cylinder diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Two door car with a bit of a wild streak

Faults:

It was wrecked when I bought it, we have totally had to re-manufacture the front end on the left side, that is it except tires and filters.

General Comments:

It is the two door model in case you haven't heard of a CD. I was told that because of it lacking a turbo, that it was like Titanic with 5 horse power pulling it. But when you put your foot to the floor like I have (I'm only a teenager), it will throw you back in the seat. I have surprised a lot of people with this car including my mom who spilled coffee all over herself when I had to get in front of a guy who would not move.

I am very pleased with the car, I paid $125.00 for it and paid $250.00 to fix it, and she purrs like a kitten, and roars like a tiger when you put your foot down hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

8th Jun 2001, 11:39

Hey.

I also just purchased a 79 300 CD. I loved it the moment I drove it. I had to do a little work to make it purr perfect. I had to put in new engine mounts, Arm Brushing, Steering Damper and Primer Plunger pump. I have a few other things I need to do. You may think this is a lot, but it kinda feels like I am putting money into a vehicle I will have for a very long time. I don't doubt that I will have this Benz for a long while. Those diesels just go forever, if they are well pampered.

You are right about the pick-up though. I have found that the amount of acceleration depends upon how quickly and how severely you depress the gas pedal. If you press it slow, it up-shifts sooner rather than later, and if you press it quickly, it runs 2nd gear out very high, then shifts. This gear ratio can be touchy, but I like it. Because, lets face it, NO 5 cylinder engine is gonna be a killer out of the gate, especially when its pulling 3200 lbs. So I am thankful for the pick-up I have.

I am also thankful every time I pull away from a diesel pump knowing I paid.20 less a gallon than every one else at the filling station!

Like the other guy said. Just keep it well oiled, well fueled, and well maintained, and you may be giving that car to your kid someday. In the meantime - HAVE FUN!

Nothing like a little over-engineering to make you feel safe and permanent on the road.

12th Sep 2001, 10:02

I recently crashed my 300CD. I had minimal insurance on it.

So I am between a rock and a hard place. I loved the car so much that crashing it feels like descrating a holy relic.

They way it was going I bet I could have put another 100,000 miles on it!

16th Dec 2001, 08:17

I bought a 300cd a few years ago and am having problems with the back lights.. the fuses are hard to find... any suggestions? but I love my car because it is silver, 2 door, sun roof and is totally sexy.. it's a perrrrfect car for a woman.. I love my 300cd.. and plan to leave that car to my granddaughter or grandson.. . in about 25 years.. because I am only 38!

10th Jun 2002, 00:45

I have a '78 300CD with about 170K miles on it. Love it. Only problem I'm having right now is some rust along the rear window. Like you said, it's fun to just slam the pedal all the way down and listen to the engine take off. Regarding the post about fuses, I've never needed to change the fuses for the tail lights, but if they are with the other fuses, then they would be in the engine compartment mounted on the right side of the firewall. There are two knobs that stick out and those unscrew to remove the lid for the fuse box. Happy motoring.

1980 Mercedes-Benz W123 280E 2.8L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 miles
Most recent distance311000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

Mercedes-Benz doesn't make them like they use too!

Faults:

I got this Benz in 2000 when the car was 20 years old already.

Holds up extremely well. I purchased it for 1500 which is a great deal.

The engine was rebuilt 20,000 miles ago.

Repainted to get rid of ALL the rust.

Shocks are going soon, I can hear them.

1 flat tire and had to use the spare so far.

Engine runs smoothly and has always taken me from point A to point B.

Tranny is going because I can feel it jolt into second gear, but 3rd, 4th and 5th hit perfectly. Maybe needs to be rebuilt.

German parts run very, very high nowadays especially since it's a 1980 too.

General Comments:

I have always loved Mercedes cars since I was a teenager. I bought this when I was 20 years old. The car is absolutely beautiful.

I never had a problem with it besides a flat. The seats and comfort are excellent. I wish I could drive all day in this car.

One day I will buy a Kompressor, but until then, I will hold on to this.

An excellent car for the money and a wonderful collectors item. 280E's were German built and the second owner told me they shipped it over.

I haven't ever seen a 280E on the road since. This classic never dies!

If you have any questions don't hesitate to email me about my car at kevinlwc@juno.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

31st Mar 2001, 09:33

Hey, man you are absolutely in the right way. I own two classic Merc's. One and my favorite is a 1971 280 s (that is the year I was born). The second one is a 1974 230.4 that is perfect in every way too. You know Mercedes made these cars to last and to enjoy the ride, and even though they are not high tech like today's ones, they make you feel like you are a piston of the car or something, or like you are breathing with it.

Well I hope you do not sell your Mercedes and have the chance to buy a Kompresor. I already drove a C Class five months ago and although it was wonderful and smooth and the ride feeling is intact, I prefer my classics. But as with you, I will not be angry if some lucky day I can have one of the recent ones.

Enrique

econtreras@elsalvador.com.

16th Jul 2007, 17:41

Great comments.

Currently own a 1980 280E. Only 127000km's so far, still a baby. Nice options, but no rev. indicator is needed tot tell me this M 110 engine goes and goes forever. Raw in the city, alive and ready to play on the motorway. Passing cars thinking you own a 200D or so (no type indication present) and they are puzzled.

The car feels so reliable, solid. Only drive it in Summers, so rust shouldn't be a problem.

I will never sell this one too...

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 19 reviews