1987 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1987 Mercedes-Benz W124 300 E 3.0 petrol from South Africa

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 kilometres
Most recent distance299000 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Everybody should own at least one old E class in their lives

Faults:

This was an old car, so it understandably did have a few problems:

Wear in the leather upholstery.

The air conditioner high pressure switch was broken when I bought the car (but was bypassed easily)

Excessive free play in the steering due to bearing wear.

The rear power windows did not work (a common fault, apparently)

General Comments:

I loved this car.

The seats were like laz-e-boys. On three occasions I had to do a 1600 Km drive in a single day, and each time I got out of the car still feeling quite comfortable.

As an old car, the rear end was a bit squashy, so the handling was a bit off, but it was still very comfortable.

It is an excellent long distance, high speed cruiser, easily bowling along at 160 - 190 Km/h all day, and still returning around 11 Km/Litre (it is very aerodynamic) at those speeds.

It is much heavier on fuel in town, obviously (around 5 Km/litre), as it weighs almost 2 tons.

Despite its '80s origins, the beige leather/cream carpet cabin in my car was beautiful and a very nice place to spend time in.

Again, although old, I think the car still looks great, with just the right balance between classic Mercedes and modernity.

I reluctantly sold the car at almost 300,000 Km (180,000 miles), and it was still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2005

23rd Jun 2010, 15:10

I own one, but 11k/ltr at 160-190 kph? Come on, it is not possible if you come to think of it. At two tons and six cylinders for the 300E, despite electronic engine management and the best drag coefficient for its day. I have the Car test report on it, and they claim no better than 9k/ltr at 100mph.

1987 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E 3.0 straight six from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 straight six Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Great Value Luxury

Faults:

The automatic antenna broke.

There is some minor wood panel cracking around the dash.

General Comments:

I cannot believe what great value these cars are.

I did my research and read some impressive reviews about the 300E and drove a couple.

It is very quick and solid.

Fuel consumption is not bad.

It handles beautifully.

You cannot hear the engine when standing at the traffic lights.

It is a beautiful looking car with excellent paint work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

1987 Mercedes-Benz W124 300D from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired462000 kilometres
Most recent distance462200 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

So far I love this car

Faults:

I have had the car for a few days only and it is going like a dream.

It has done a lot of kilometer's, but has been well looked after. It pays to change the oil and filters every 10,000 kms.

The car was owned by a farmer's wife (70yo) so it was well treated. I have always wanted a diesel car and this one was hard to find. I just kept looking and it was in the Trading Post. It only came with one set of keys. There is a locksmith in Sydney who will cut some new ones.

General Comments:

The car is a "head turner". The man at the front gate said that.

It is very comfortable to ride in.

It has more power than the 5cyl 300D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 20:42

Could you post the details fo the locksmith who will cut spares for merc keys in Sydney!

1987 Mercedes-Benz W124 300D Turbo 6 cylinder turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance224000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

This is an excellent car

Faults:

Water pump bad at purchase.

Trap oxidizer not removed under recall, got new turbo and entire new exhaust from MB no charge.

Rear upper strut links replaced with upgraded links and bolts.

Replaced all strut/shocks with new Bilstein shocks. 190,000 miles.

Vacuum pump replaced at 200,000.

I replaced all vacuum pods behind dash at 221,000 miles.

A/C high pressure hose at 221,000 miles.

General Comments:

The o.e. headlights had poor output-replaced with euro headlights, clear corners.

Handling was good, but replacing swaybars with those from "Sport Option" package made a great improvement.

Car is very reliable and reasonably fast for a diesel.

Handling is excellent due to suspension improvements and use of Michelin Pilot XGT tires.

Audio system is prehistoric and was trashed in favor of a CD head unit with 10 disc changer, new MB Quart speakers, 12" subwoofer and two amplifiers.

Trunk was mint, but too utilitarian. Custom carpeted floor with matching carpeted bandpass subwoofer firing into the interior of the car makes the difference.

After learning not to use green antifreeze, and to change the brake fluid, and transmission fluid, everything works as it should.

Converted from R12 to R134 refrigerant and after replacing the vacuum pods, the A/C works very well.

Had the console wood refurbished, added a lift top armrest from a '94 along with the roll top mini console from a '95. Recolored to match interior with Leatherique.

Was hit in the driver's door by a VW Jetta at high speed, and had the car expertly repaired. I was not touched. This is a very safe car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

9th Nov 2005, 07:19

Question: I am desperately seeking an armrest with the "flip-top" option Do you have the part no. for this armrest?

Please respond to: jojo41@web.de

Thanks!

23rd Jan 2006, 19:53

I, too, am looking for the "flip-top" armrest. My email is nicholas.c.p@gmail.com. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Sounds like you made some great mods to your car. Have you thought about replacing the halogen lamps with xenon bulbs? That made a huge difference in my '92 300 CE. Thanks again!

NP.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews