1988 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1988 Mercedes-Benz W124 300 CE 3 litre gas from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3 litre gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

The mechanic will have it more than you will

Faults:

Where do I begin? Let's see... The A/C never blew really cold, even after it was repaired. Thank God it didn't need a complete overhaul, that would have been over $2,000.

What really killed this car was gaskets. They just dry rot.

Engine mounts $300.

Oil seal $400.

Transmission seal $500.

A/C $500.

Head gasket $500.

Water pump $500.

"Maintenance" $1,000.

General Comments:

That was one expensive car to keep up!

Gas mileage wasn't very good either. 18 MPG around town, and requires premium. My Toyota Avalon gives 25 around town and uses regular.

I would not buy another one, but I hear MB diesels are great cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

9th Mar 2006, 05:46

1988? This car is 18 years old. How many miles?! Was it always maintained?! That has to be fairly judged. Do your history. It's a strong car.

27th Sep 2007, 17:56

I have a 1988 300CE with 137k miles. Although it does leak transmission fluid (front seal), It runs like new.

Very strong. I guess I agree with high costs being a factor, but I like the feel of this car cruising down the highway. They don't make cars like this anymore. My good friend lives in Stuttgart and he says this car is a killer and will run forever.

28th Sep 2007, 17:06

Stuttgart, huh? Impartial opinion, perchance?

8th Jul 2008, 19:04

Stuttgart yes, impartial probably no, correct yes.

10th Jul 2008, 03:11

Writer of last comment meant to say Stuttgart yes impartial probably not run forever YES.

29th Oct 2008, 16:15

I have my 230 CE 8 valve from 1988 completely new, bought with only 26.000 KMS., 6 months ago. Now with 32.000 kms.

Everything in the car is new, but on the highway with speeds above 120/km /hour, I feel the car very unsafe, instable, and is worth with lateral winds.

The tyres are new 65 series - Michelin 195/65/15, the steering is correctly aligned, and the shocks? Probably OK.

At present time I donĀ“t know how to fix this problem? New tyres 205/60/15? New shocks Bilstein?

20th Oct 2011, 20:28

Ditto that. I have the same unit. Drives well and smooth!! In terms of power, it's still pretty impressive, especially when we are sprinting uphill... One can feel the 6 cyl working really well, as the car breezes up the hill.

Nonetheless, it's a cheap and reliable unit to purchase considering its breed.. the three point STAR.

Sheldon Deng

Malaysia.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews