1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 300 ce 24 3 litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance197500 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

So far... a joy to own and drive

Faults:

Nothing so far.

Drivers seat beginning to wear at door side, where my shoulder rubs over it getting in.

Not a lot of wear on the leather after 196k!

Think I might need new shocks shortly.

General Comments:

I have a black version of the ce24v and it is still a head-turner when it's clean and waxed.

For a big old bus of a car it moves like the proverbial off a shovel when you plant it.

You have to be careful that you're not having too much fun that you're well over the speed limit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2006

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 230E 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

A car to keep a long long time, if you can find a good one

Faults:

Engine mounts replaced - only £100.

Aircon Fan - £150.

Bonnet catch broke.

Aircon sensor.

Rust in rear wheel arches (Dirt is trapped in lip)

General Comments:

A fantastic car.

I got 30mpg on the motorway and about 27mpg on A-roads.

It really only needed routine maintainance and a few minor repairs.

Regret parting with it for a 1998 E240.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

21st Mar 2006, 04:40

I have just bought a 109E230 to go with our 500SE. Found the comments interesting, but all the warnings about comments boring and too PC.

5th Aug 2006, 10:57

Very useful advice about rust in rear wheel arches because of trapped dirt. I have had new front wings on my 1992 W124 changed because of rust. Now will carefully put rust treatment on rear arches. Thanks for tip.

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 E500 Porsche Built 5.0 V8 326BHP from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 326BHP Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Legendary

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

This is the BEST & ULTIMATE Mercedes-Benz you could ever own. It's PORSCHE built and designed by Mercedes. The torque and power are amazing for the year and size of the vehicle, and I had a real pleasure owning this for nearly 2 years.

I previously owned an W124 E280, and the 500 is a real different machine. 0-60 in about 5.9 seconds.

See my full review on http://www.e500.org

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

7th Jan 2007, 13:57

I have a 1992 500e and I must say it is one of the best road meachines ever built. that is all.

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 E220 2.2 petrol from Slovenia

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired217000 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Forman

Summary:

(almost) Perfect

Faults:

Fuel pump replaced at 217.500 km (190€)

Fuel tank leak at cca. 230.000 km - replaced with a "new" one from a wreck (120€)

Replaced two steering joints (235.000 km - 90€)

General Comments:

The engine (110kW @ 5500/min, 210Nm @ 4000/min) is still powerful enough. Together with a very smooth automatic transmission is a wonderful combination (except for, in some circumstances, a noticeable "power gap" between 2nd and 3rd gear). Fuel consumption is sustainable - averaging at 9-9,5 l/100km, dropping to 7-8 l/100km on highways at moderate speed. The reliability is very good, although not excellent. Things do wear out, that's an undeniable fact. If I look back at service records, I can see mostly things that are on the "black-list" for the w124 (wiring harness, fuel pump, kick-down switch, etc...). The price of spare parts can be very high or ridiculously low - it depends on the part itself. In alternative, you can get plenty of cheap spare parts from wreck-yards.

The riding comfort and general driving feel is, in my opinion, better than in most of much younger cars. Air conditioning is perfect. Two are the things that I personally dislike. First, my car is not equipped with rear headrests (considering an upgrade - it should not be very complicated). The second thing is the driver's side rear window, way too small to be really safe.

Now approaching 300.000km (cca. 245.000km on the clock + additional 50.000km estimated on original papers and documentation - as it is a common practice to turn back mileage on used cars by local dealers) and still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2005

24th Nov 2005, 22:33

I would like to know what the cost of the wiring harness is and if there is a fix other then replacement?

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 500 E 5.0 DOHC 32V 326 BHP from Netherlands

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 DOHC 32V 326 BHP Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL

Summary:

Drive it, love it, live it

Faults:

Seats started to wear, leather is cracking on driver's site.

Electric Hirschmann antenna replaced 2x because it got stuck.

Windscreen wiper not very effective at high 200 km/h speeds.

General Comments:

This is THE ultimate Mercedes Benz you can buy. The 500E was developed in conjuction with Porsche back in 1991. It has only been built for 4 years, with the top line E 500 Limited at the end of 1994. These cars costed about 110000 euros when they were new. About 50000 euro more than an 400E W124.

I used to own a Mercedes R129 SL from 1989, but it had a lot on the odometer, so I traded it for this car. It has the same engine as my SL, although the fuel management system is different. The gearbox also comes from the SL.

The outside looks very plain. It has wide fenders, headlight washers, a sunroof, 16 inch alloy 8 hole Mercedes wheels and metallic paint. So it looks a like a normal Munich cab.

But on the inside it is luxury al the way. Power seats with memory, leather Recaro sport seats front and rear. Wood trim and boxes, armrest. Automatic Climate Control, Becker Mexico CD etc etc.

I bought this car in Germany in late 2002, because they are cheaper there, in Holland a 500E in good condition is impossible to find.

Driving a 500E is like nothing else, when pushing the throttle you won't get away, you will only have smoke and heavy vibrations throughout the car, so much torque does this car have. 90% of the torque is already below 1500 RPM, so that is a lot for a non-diesel.

At the motorway and Autobahns, this car is the absolute master. You can easily cruise 200 in utmost comfort. Soon after that you hit the limiter at 250, but I never drive that fast.

It uses a lot of premium unleaded, don't expect this 5.0 V8 to be economical. Service is also very expensive, as parts are very scarce.

Insurance is very very very expensive for such a car.

Still I really love this car, it looks very old and sedate, but only the true specialist will recognise an 500E.

I drove a E55 A M G w210 series, but those look to camp and you can really see that those cars can and go very fast, the 500E has the classic Mercedes look with Porsche adjustments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2004

23rd Sep 2005, 07:14

I have a late '92 500E and have just completed 40,000km this last 12 months. Only one fault - a heater hose cracked under the jubilee clip, but I replaced it for €15.

I don't agree that it's expensive to service, indeed most of the general service items are cheap - filters, plugs etc - and the most expensive part of the service is the oil, 8 litres of synthetic run to about €60 here.

Do agree that it is a great car however, indeed a Porsche Cayenne S recently had a bit of a shock when the old green taxi pulled away from him after some motorway roadworks...!

Fuel consumption around town is about 21mpg (imperial) and if motorway speed is kept reasonable, 25 is not out of the question.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 20 reviews