1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 230E 2.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A combination of exceptional engineering and obvious prestige

Faults:

The head gasket had failed when I bought the car though I didn't know it.

Both engine mounts had lost fluid causing severe vibration, but this was quickly and easily remedied.

General Comments:

The automatic gearbox changes are not as smooth as I would have expected, particularly when accelerating hard.

Smoothness and general noise levels are a little disappointing.

Handling is excellent.

Performance is what one should expect from a 4 cylinder pulling a heavy car, but is very good if the revs are above say 3000.

Fuel economy is very good for a car of this size.

The cabin is wonderful and very comfortable.

The level of equipment and engineering is exceptional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2002

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 230TE 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89111 miles
Most recent distance99200 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Long distance load lugger

Faults:

Coolant loss.

Nearside wing corrosion.

Suspension levelling pipe corrosion.

Automatic aerial seizure.

Wheel tracking.

Track rod end seizure.

Driver's seat wear at lumbar support on the door side.

General Comments:

Serious load lugger, 7 seats and they all do their job. Highly adaptable and Mercedes enough to be noticed. Higher gauge metal than current models. Described as 'Bulletproof' by almost every Merc fan I know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2001

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 400E 4.2L 32 valve V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.2L 32 valve V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 75

Summary:

The understated W124 from Daimler Benz

Faults:

The only problems had with the vehicle were due to normal wear and old age.

However there were a few issues not customary in a motorcar with a $57K price tag. Front crank seal (major oil leak), leaky power steering box (had to replace), and the worst one being a bad slide valve (throttle body), and main wiring harness ($1,000 for the harness alone). Aside from these problems, I can still say that this car never left me stranded on the roadside..

General Comments:

I am simply amazed with the manner in which this motorcar picks up speed on the highway. This is a heavy 4 door saloon, yet I still see speeds in excess of 145mph regularly. 152 was the most I have seen, that is pretty much max-ed out.

This car was made for long distance high speed touring and it shows in near silent cabin at speeds up to about 135mph. After that, the sunroof and mirrors start making a light whistling sound.

The vehicle is stock (no modifications) except for a different control unit which came from a European E420, which has slightly different fuel and spark curves. Anyhow, top speed was not affected with the new box (mine was damaged during repair).

Stopping ability is also phenomenal with brakes having been borrowed from the SL model. They are the same 4 piston fronts and twin piston rears (calipers) as on the 500E. Fabulous motorcar!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

21st May 2002, 18:33

I just wanted to say that was a brilliant description of the 400e. I own one and couldnt have said it better myself!

12th Aug 2002, 12:19

Hi Steven - I just bought a 400E from a sale at a local Infiniti dealer. It drives unbelievably tight and smooth, despite 193,000 miles. I intend to keep the car as it's amazingly clean. However, do you know of any major (i.e. costly) surprises I might be in for if I did so. Haven't had chance to check it over yet, but engine and tranny are flawlessly smooth. Thanks, Jim Ernst.

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E 4-matic 3.0 gas, 180ps from Norway

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 gas, 180ps Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance167000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

Fast comfort cruiser

Faults:

The car has been kind to me except for the head gasket. It blew at 145000km. Not too expensive, but I didn't expect it from a Mercedes. That's all.

General Comments:

Great car, the best I have owned so far, but I have tried the new ones, and they aren't much better!

The car is a very good driving machine.

The space is good enough, and the seats keep you relaxed on longer trips.

The engine is strong and sounds like a cultivated Porsche.

Perfect automatic transmission!

The car is very quiet and has a soft suspension.

The 4-matic acts perfectly at the times when you really need a 4WD. But use it carefully!

The car is perfect if you want a highway cruiser with a little extra power, and if you don't like trouble. But do not buy the tyres too wide!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

8th Jun 2010, 18:21

I bought 92 300E 4-Matic in 2000. It only had 40,000 miles on, and I put over 110,000 miles on it.

I just bought a 2005 BMW E46, and compared to the BMW, my Mercedes drives firmer and I feel much better driving on the freeway. I can't find a word to explain, but I feel better driving her with high speeds and changing lanes.

Of course, the BMW has better acceleration, but the Mercedes drives so elegantly and I still love her. It could be because of 4 matic, front heavy that I feel. My friends thinks I am crazy to keep her, since I have a newer BMW. But I love the way she drives. She is my humble servant to my driving style.

Her 4-Matic broke few years back, but I never replaced it. I would like to get 5 speed for her instead of A/T.

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 300CE 3.0 petrol from Germany

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Beta

Summary:

First class grand touring car

Faults:

The car is rested during the winter period. This year, a micro switch activating the passenger belt feeder didn't survive the lay up.

General Comments:

The engine is exceptionally smooth.

A short warm-up period is needed. Then the car is very quick, if you don't mind using the higher rev ranges.

Very good transmission.

Air conditioning automatic control is sometimes "stubborn".

Can travel fast and far quite relaxed.

Not cheap, but worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2001

13th Jun 2006, 15:22

I myself got a 300CE-24 here in the states, and I am astonished at how good this car is.

23rd Jun 2006, 12:03

1989 300CE: I am the 3rd owner. The first two owners took great care of vehicle. Have had to replace the battery, brake pads, and engine gasket seal. That is the only service I have had to do. Got it in 2001 with 78k, it is now 2006 with 128k. NO problems, well, the outside temp sensor gave out. A true classic, very well built. People think is it 5 years old not 18. I do not make that much money, but this has always been my dream car, would recommend this 300 series to anyone who is a Mercedes fan. Had a 79 300D, took it to 387k. What fun to drive a safe and beautiful auto.

1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 230 TE 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

Comfortable, reliable load lugger

Faults:

Exhaust, tires, rattle on the passenger seat when empty.

General Comments:

I have had the car serviced on time every time, and there are no problems.

Performance is as you would expect, it will go if you push it.

Handles much better than you think.

Eats up miles without a glitch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

7th Dec 2005, 12:01

Mine is a 1992 230 TE with 250,000 miles on the clock and it still drives like new!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 20 reviews