1993 Mercury Capri Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1993 Mercury Capri XR2 1.7L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123500 miles
Most recent distance124500 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

This is an incredible machine worthy of your attention!

Faults:

The dealership I purchased the car through found this car at a local auction. Upon inspection, we found the following defects:

-- combo switch (wipers, high beams)

-- no driver side seatbelt latch

-- power side mirrors switch inactive

-- power windows switches reverse (driver side)

-- paint peeling / cracked

-- trunk leaked when exposed to direct, heavy water flow.

General Comments:

This car is a dream, otherwise. With a little extra tender loving care, she will be back to her original glory.

The previous owner had taken very good care of the engine. It was very clean and sounded excellent. The Capri performs better than I expected.

However, for someone of taller stature, this car is not recommended. Unless you lay your seat back (uncomfortable to most drivers), you will not have much room. But isn't that to be expected in a 2-door convertible?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2003

21st Dec 2004, 13:06

This is PART TWO of my previous comments... 13 months after purchase!

We have restored the car to nearly 90% original design and beauty. We left the 300w amp & stereo in place, but added a temporary box set in the backseat (totally wasted space anyways). Soon, we'll tear out the backseat and the molding, and build a box fitted into that cavity.

Also, had some minor mechanical repairs. The clutch cable ripped through the cabin firewall during a trip to Birmingham, AL. www.midcomustang.com had the parts shipped to us at a reasonable price (did a new clutch at the same time.) Next up is to replace all four sets of bearings. Whoever worked on this car before kept her patched together underneath!!! We'll be setting this right.

Thanks to everyone who has helped us along!

CapriTeam of Gainesville, FL

Thomas J. Bryant

1993 Mercury Capri XR-2 "Blaze"

1993 Mercury Capri XR2 1.7L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Bought as a beater, but fell in love with it

Faults:

I have had the turbo rebuilt.

Had to replace the timing belt.

The top has tears on the side from putting it up and down.

The gear shifter fell through the floor, had to have this fixed immedietly.

There was a leak in the Air Conditioning, was fixed immedietly.

Driver's seat will not go up and down.

Passenger's leather seat was torn in the middle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

31st Jul 2005, 15:15

We have to replace a timing belt on a 1993 capri, but we can't find the specs... can anyone help?

1993 Mercury Capri XR3 1.6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Used car bargain!

Faults:

The convertible top was showing wear when the car was purchased. The soft top now has large holes on the sides.

General Comments:

The car is slow when leaving a stop; however, it does wind up as the car starts to accelerate.

The car handles very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

1993 Mercury Capri 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance112243 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

It is a fun car that you do not get tired of!

Faults:

The alternator belt squeals very bad. I am going to replace all three belts.

My wife says there is a clunking sound, I have not checked it yet.

General Comments:

When purchased the previous owner had just replaced the convertable top and transmission.

A little slow on take off but a really fun car to drive. It has more go at higher speeds. We bought it originally for our son, but have decided to keep it.

Knowing what I know now I would still buy this car. It was a one owner and in like new condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

1993 Mercury Capri 5.0 litre 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 litre 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance20300 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A very fast car

Faults:

There has been nothing wrong with this car.

The top leaks and that is all that is wrong.

General Comments:

If you say that the Mercury Capri in 1993 did not have 5.0 litre engines, you're are wrong, only about 300 were made that had a 5.0L engine in them. They have around 250 horsepower and are very quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

1993 Mercury Capri LX 1.6 non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 non turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A very fun, economic ride

Faults:

My stick-shift fell through the floor boards. Fixed with big zip strap.

The roof leaks around both doors.

Small oil leak, now fixed.

General Comments:

I love the car. It is fun, very manuevrable and loved by the girls. Everything about it is good except the price of parts. If you find one for a good deal I would recommend picking it up. Just for something to have a little fun in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews