1993 Mercury Capri XR2 1.6 turbo from North America

Summary:

An inexpensive sports car

Faults:

Blew through four alternator belts in the first three months I had the car, but that was probably due to shoddy work by the dealer mechanic. After the fourth, I went to a different shop and haven't had trouble with the belt since. The top leaks a bit, but all tops do; it also appears to be shrinking a bit, which is a pain during winter months when I keep the top up.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, and accelerates like a dream. Perhaps more importantly, it decelerates even better. I haven't done any time trials, but I would estimate it does 0-60 in under 4.5 seconds, even with the manual transmission. It comfortably goes up to 110, though after that the acceleration is a bit slower, but it keeps climbing.

The seats are very comfortable, and there is plenty of leg room. The back seat is something of a joke for anything other than a small child if you leave the top up. With the top down, there is enough head room for someone a bit bigger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2001

24th Aug 2001, 09:58

Please check your time on 0-60 in that car and believe me you will be surprised how slow it is. Now I'm not saying it's not a great car.. I think it's great, I own one myself, but I believe the 0-60 mark is more around 8 seconds, maybe 7 seconds if you stick in some high octane booster along with 93 octane gas.

I do agree completely about the deceleration... it's great, the car weighs practically nothing so stopping is easy. I myself am adding a performance exhaust and when I have the chance, a K&N filter. Maybe that will knock a second or more off the 0-60 time.

1993 Mercury Capri XR2 Turbo 1.6L DOHC EFI intercooled from North America

Summary:

Highly underrated sports car

Faults:

Alternator.

Interior door handle.

Broke headlight bracket in an ice storm.

Top leaks (every convertible I have ever had does).

General Comments:

Car handles like a sports car, a little too much body roll.

Very quick and nimble.

I'm 6'4" and found the car very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2001

1993 Mercury Capri Convertible from North America

Summary:

This is a fun economic convertible, but be gentle with it

Faults:

Top leaked the day after I bought it. Fought with CarMax and their Warranty Insurance Provider for three weeks before they finally replaced the soft top for me.

Goes through brake pads quickly, and I'm not one to use the brake much.

Speaking with other owners, the soft top shrinks after time. Glove compartment handle breaks off easily.

Door handle, passenger side, sometimes sticks.

General Comments:

Purchased the car at CarMax in Richmond, VA. Great price, and about $8000 cheaper than any other convertible I found.

Once the top was fixed, no real problems.

Slow to accelerate, can't really push past 65 comfortably.

Can't handle going through too much water. Got caught in a flood and wound up getting water in the engine.

Fantastic car for gentle climates. I have a blast with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

31st Jul 2002, 07:00

Re the reviewer who said the Capri had trouble accelerating above 65mph - I suggest the car needs tuning. I've seen 180kph (about 112mph) in my non-turbo 1990 model (on the flat), and the acceleration was steady from 100kph on up.

12th Oct 2003, 08:36

Yeah, I've seen my non-turbo do 120mph without it anywhere near floored on regular unleaded gas... definitely something wrong with the car... check the spark plugs/plug wires? or replace the distributor cap/rotor... or maybe fuel filter... I'm pretty sure there's something wrong, cause I'll find myself doing 80 without even realizing it.

1993 Mercury Capri LX from North America

Summary:

For me it was a great car!

Faults:

Transmission slipping.

Had the oil changed and tires rotated every 3,000 miles.

Replaced brakes and tires.

Changed timing belt once and was told it should be done every 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

Best car I ever owned. Not only was it fun, easy to drive, and cheap on gas and upkeep; I could haul just about anything I needed to in that car... either in the trunk or with the top down.

Mechanics have been telling me to get rid of it for years because they stopped making them and parts would be expensive and hard to find. The mechanic in Birmingham where my car broke down told me that the car would not be worth the price of a new transmission. They could not find a rebuilt or used one. I purchased a Honda Civic, but I would have gotten a 2000 Mercury Capri if they were available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

29th Jun 2004, 18:00

Do you still have this car? I am starting to collect these beautiful cars and their parts. I have two now a 91 XR2 and a 94 N/A. I love these cars and on nice days just daydream at work on driving them around the countryside. They are one of the best cars built for the money and I want to help people keep them on the road.