1987 Mercury Cougar LS 5.0L EFI 302CID from North America


One of the best used cars that money can buy - still driven by the rear wheels, and nice to look at


I have replaced the headliner and steering wheel (the previous parts were very much satisfactory, but I am a perfectionist, so they had to be perfect!).

As far as mechanical parts go, I have replaced the alternator and smog pump.

Aside for oil changes every 2-3 months, this car is fairly cheap to maintain. 15.0 MPG (city), though, so do be prepared.

General Comments:

My 5.0 is a fine piece of work. The tires can break loose at will and I can compete with the front wheelers off the line - and win.

Handling is second ONLY to the Ford Thunderbird (87-88) Turbo Coupe. The rear-wheel drive muscle car is what the car industry was established on... catch one of these before they are collectors items - and too expensive. There aren't too many of these that can still achieve factory specs.

The interior is made for people and designed for stereo acoustics. The 87-88's agressive body style will be sought after in the near future as well... My advice is to buy one, take care of it and have fun!

For more information on the 83-88 Cougar, check out coolcats.net. There has never been a more informative website on a specific vehicle... all of the info on these cars that you can handle.

87-88 Mercury Cougar 5.0 - my pick of a real car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

11th May 2001, 12:19

I also have a '90 Cougar LS. I love my car - other than normal maintenance items I've had no problems at all. I baby it and am very fussy though which probably helps! Still love the looks and it's reliable and economical. Best of all - it's paid for!!

1987 Mercury Cougar XR-7 5.0 V-8 from North America


P.H.A.T. for the price


It has had no problems you would expect with a car that has almost 200,000 miles on it (5.0's are notorious for high mileage problems). It needed a new water pump, new alternator, and it had a few hoses that needed replacing. Nothing serious.

General Comments:

This is my first car that I bought at age 17. If all cars are this reliable at 200,000 miles, manufacturers would go out of business.

It is a luxury car with plenty of power when you need it. Very comfortable, and a good looking car. I am happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

10th Jul 2001, 22:15

Wow, I have recently purchased a Cougar XR-7. I am 17 as well and had only one problem with it "My insurance is too high!". Other than that, I agree with you.

The car is also very easy to keep up with.

Gas guzzler!!!

Very good performance!

Christopher David

22nd Jan 2003, 15:14

The only thing I have had go wrong with my 87 cougar is the harmonic balancer, and belt tensioner went bad and I am unable to locate parts to fix it.

17th Apr 2004, 17:23

I own a 87 Mercury Cougar 20th Anniversary Edition with 259,765 miles. Only repairs; water pump, radiator, and a transmission repair about 5 years ago. I love the looks and the handling at high speed, specially cornering. If I have the money I will get this car completely rebuild to original standards.

11th Mar 2005, 09:08

I have an 88 Cougar xr-7 that I got also just before I turned 17. I've had several other cars, but I just can't part with with it. It handles well, is comfortable, stylish, and absolutely wonderful on gas. 36 mpg. I didn't believe it either, but it's true. I'm happy. Take my advice, if you don't already own one, but yourself one- you'll be glad you did.

26th Apr 2005, 14:17

I own a 87 Cougar XR-7.I love the looks and it runs like a top. After 217,000 miles the sunroof does'nt work and it needed a new alternator. Also the chime for low oil pressure goes off every now and then, even though I had it checked out and there is no cause for it. The engine performance is great and I don't have any transmission problems. I get about 22 mpg on average. Overall I love my car and would love to restore it to its original condition.

1987 Mercury Cougar Anniversary Edition 302 from North America


All the style and performance you can jam into a luxury car, and not step on Lincoln's toes!


New water pump.

6 sets of tires.

4 sets of brakes.

1 set of U-joints and a steering rack.

The ball joints squeak, but aren't loose (yet).

General Comments:

I bought this car in 1989 when I was 21. I have stored it all winters. I love the car, and would never part with it. They made 5000 20th Anniversary Cougars. 3500 went to the USA, and 1500 went to Canada and abroad. If you got one, hold on to it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2000

6th Mar 2004, 15:56

My anniversary edition has had few problems in the 240 000 km that I have put on it. I have replaced the water pump, balls joints, rack.I have been amazed at the gas economy such a large car gets with ample power. Having all the bells and whistles sure does make it a pleasure to drive...

1987 Mercury Cougar 20th Anniversary 5.0 302 V8 SEFI from North America




Ball joints needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

Beautiful car! It has decent get up and go and has great gas mileage for a V-8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

1987 Mercury Cougar 20th Anniversary Edition 5.0 from North America


A good, fast, all round car


All I have had to replace was the AOD tranny.

General Comments:

I love this car. They are normally rare to find but I have found that mine was a NEW YORK Auto show original. There were only five made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2000

30th Mar 2001, 15:10

I can understand your love for these cars, I have two 20th's and looking at a third.

I also have a New York Show 20th. I would love to swap info with you and learn more about this soon to be rare car. I knew of another NY, I bet it's yours. e-mail me Precision@potlatch.com.

1987 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8L V6 from North America


After 240,000 miles the engine was freshened, steering rack replaced.

General Comments:

Nice car, served me well for a long time, only complaint is that no one in their right mind would disagree if I said 108 HP is not enough for a 3500 lb. car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 1999