1993 Mercury Cougar Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1993 Mercury Cougar XR7 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

Great car. Recommend it to anyone

Faults:

Headliner sagging in back, easily fixed.

Check engine light is on.

Sometimes anti-lock light comes on.

General Comments:

This car is very quiet and comfortable.

It is very stylish and noticed when driving it.

Reliable. So far no major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2006

1993 Mercury Cougar X-R7 Predator from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

It looked good!

Faults:

My engine blew before I could get it licensed. Put another engine in it with 40,000 miles.

I had to put a radiator, fuel pump, bearings, struts, wheel cylinders.

The power from this 3.8 is not what I expected. Highway driving is very nice.

Had problems with the throttle cable which throws you real off.

Replaced the starter.

After I thought I couldn't replace anything else except transmission, I blew a head gasket.

Now I am convinced it's the head.

The paint job is trying to rust.

The black leather seats were a nice asset until the wearing started.

General Comments:

I have not seen, but one other Predator.

It's a sports edition, which matters when ordering some parts.

It tells you in the VIN.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

1993 Mercury Cougar XR-7 3.8L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Reliable, powerful luxury car average people can afford

Faults:

So far nothing major, I bought the car last year as a daily driver for $1000.

The a/c stopped working before I bought the car.

Some directions of the power mirrors don't work.

Leather seats have normal wear.

Very loud with high rpm driving (sounds like the exhaust hitting something)

General Comments:

Overall I can't complain, It has a few problems here and there from 12 years usage in the northern us, mainly rocker panel rust/lower door panel rust. Nothing major.

I bought this car last year as a daily driver as my 99 Silverado kept having constant problems, leaving me stranded and looking at a tow truck bill and money for new parts. Bought it for $1000 from a friend at a local garage, well aware of all the minor things.

For a big car, it has plenty of power to get it moving and gets about 25mpg. It rides nice. The 3.8L V6 makes plenty of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

23rd Sep 2010, 17:37

I would seriously get rid of this Cougar right away. Mine made the same noise at high speeds, and this is the rod in your engine ready to go up on you. If it does, you will have to replace the engine. BIG MONEY.

1993 Mercury Cougar XR7 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired178525 miles
Most recent distance350986 miles

Summary:

It is one awesome little car.

Faults:

The head light switch had to be replaced at 350,900 miles. The ball joints in the front end are starting to go bad. The leather in the seats is tearing at a few places in both front seats. The rear seat leather is only starting to crack. The thermostat has gone out a few times. The Odometer has recently quit counting miles. The radio will reset itself about once a month.

General Comments:

The car is the smoothest handling car I have ever driven. It corners great. It provides a real smooth ride at highway speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

1993 Mercury Cougar XR7 Special Edition 3.8 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

It would be a great car with a 5.0 engine

Faults:

The head gasket blew as soon as I bought it.

This car has a steel block with an aluminum head which causes the head gasket problem every 80,000 miles.

The leather seats have started to wear badly on the edges.

The console lid screw holes are stripped.

The front arm rest is broken and there is no way to fix it.

General Comments:

Other than the head gasket problem, it's been a great car.

Comfortable riding car with lots of leg room.

All switches are comfortably placed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

1993 Mercury Cougar XR7 V.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles

Summary:

Excellence in the word's truest form..

Faults:

Brake rotors were slight problem.

Nothing complicated.

Blew head gasket at about 120,000 miles-fixed completely within one week.

Driver's side seat wears badly. Has some slightly significant damage, but nothing to gripe about.

Cigarette lighter would "fly" out when hot. Landed between my legs once while driving alone-scary experience.

Driver's side door panel has totally detached itself-but every electric feature still works perfectly.

Driver's side door doesn't close correctly without extra assistance. Switch on the inside of the door must be flipped up before shutting.

Twice my interior lights and the beeping noise a vehicle makes when a door is open or etc.. have all come on and never shut off. Had to remove fuse to stop the dinging noise and turn off interior lights.

Since I first purchased the car it sometimes makes a rattling noise somewhere under the hood when the car is being either accelerated or climbing steep terrain. Two different opinions told me that it was the catalytic converters breaking up which could be fixed easily by installing a metal bar rather than purchasing the two converters for approx. $80 each.

Other opinion said it could possibly be the heating core. That's all I know. I've driven the vehicle for over a year with this slight disturbance and have never experienced any performance or well-running problems.

Muffler came loose once, but was easily repaired in 2 minutes flat by a mechanic with a blowtorch.

Car's only way of opening the gas cache is from inside the vehicle. Ignition must be on and a button pushed located inside the glovebox. Traveling alone once, I stopped to buy gas and found I couldn't open the gas cap by myself. Covering jammed and I couldn't pry it open with one hand and push the glovebox button with the other. Dangerous possibilities in secluded areas with low resources.

Automatic seatbelts have occasionally, but rarely malfunctioned.

Car's alarm/panic system has a mind of it's own. The alarm has never worked when it was supposed to-only when I was pumping gas. Go figure.

All window and tire trim is gone.

Brake pads had to be replaced.

Car has always shook obviously while braking.

Electronic keypad on outside of driver's door works well, but the plastic cracked and broke off during a winter freeze.

Car interior is beautiful, but a true dirt magnet. Car could be cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis and still acquire dust.

General Comments:

Very under-estimated powerful car.

Accelerates amazingly fast and superb.

Number one in comfort and design.

Very reliable-sometimes strangely so-car seems to possess a conscience of it's own.

Handles supremely in all weather conditions and different terrains.

Smooth and enjoyable ride even at high speeds.

I raced mine against a 2000 model Cadillac and stayed nose to nose. This car is eleven years old and still in top condition and doesn't disappoint.

Excellent interior lighting and sound system. Cruise control is luxurious when combined with the leather seating.

My car takes off much faster than any other car I've ever necked with at stoplights.

Number one in great car class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

21st May 2004, 11:23

If you ever drove a Tbird or Cougar with the 4.6 V8 you would realize that the V6 is, well, a stone.

5th Jun 2004, 14:36

"If you ever drove a Tbird or Cougar with the 4.6 V8 you would realize that the V6 is, well, a stone."

That's interesting considering the supercharged V6 makes more power.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews