1995 Mercury Cougar Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1995 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6 V8 SHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 SHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance126261 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Its mine! All mine!!! Its my project car

Faults:

Oil 'Using' not real burning, but using it. Around 97k miles.

Transmission is slow, since I got it.

General Comments:

When I got the car, I believe it was all stock. Minus the radio, the 6 CD tray in the trunk, and possibly the speakers (never looked.)

Its surprisingly quick. Handles very nicely, and is just a great ride.

Its mine, and I refuse to EVER get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

1995 Mercury Cougar XR7 3.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A high performance bargain, as well as Luxurious!! Excellent combination!

Faults:

Overall, I have encountered very few cons of this vehicle. However, there is a very small crack in the dash; on the passenger side below the airbag. It is approximately 1.3 cm. In length, you really have to look hard to see it.

That is really the only thing that is wrong with this vehicle.

Oh, the "Check Engine" light appears on all the time. When I accelerate it sputters very, very slightly most of the time it does not do that. I need to get a tune up on it and that should solve the conflict.

General Comments:

I believe this is one of the best vehicles ever produced by Ford Motor Company. My cougar can shut down mustangs; brand-new off of the showroom floor! This car will go, I mean really go for being nine years old and all.

All the power options are still in working condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

17th Mar 2005, 18:00

I recently purchased a 1995 Mercury CougarXR7, And am pleasantly surprised. It runs great, is roomy, smooth ride, looks great, only35,000. The only remark is that off the light when roll out, there is a sudden jerk; as if it wants to go into a higher gear mode. Maybe it's just me, but I will enjoy living with it. By the way, does anybody know how many cubic inches the engine is?

15th Feb 2006, 19:25

I have owned my 1995 Cougar for about 4 or 5 years now, and I would not trade it for nothing. I love the 281, 4.6ltr engine; it's more than enough power. I could go on forever about this car, so we will make it short and sweet. One of Ford's best ever.

Sincerely Mike Ryan

Florence Alabama.

1995 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6 litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

One of the best designed and built cars the ford company has ever made

Faults:

To the best of my knowledge, the transmission was swapped out about 2 weeks before I purchased this vehicle. Also, at times, the transmission seems to hesitate shifting from first to second gear, especially, when getting into it.

I have a braking problem that I need, still yet, to figure out. It may have something to do with the anti-lock braking system.

I've had to replace the mass air-flow sensor.

I also have surface rust starting behind the driver's door.

Leather driver's seat has started to tear in the bottom left-hand corner.

General Comments:

For having so many miles, she will get up and go. I am seriously impressed with the power this car actually has. I can sit and power-brake the rubber off of the 15 inch rims, or just let her loose from a dead stop, and I will still get some rubber.

However, the boys over at Team Ford shouldn't have reduced the top speed to 107 mph. If your going to put a high performance engine in a car, let her run free!

Except for the few problems, this is an excellent vehicle. I am very pleased with the ride, the power, and the fact that all of the power stuff still works.

Great fuel mileage also, for an eight-cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

1995 Mercury Cougar XR7 V8 SHO from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 SHO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Will not trade it for the world!

Faults:

Nothing major has ever happend to this car. Just the usual repairs on a car.

General Comments:

This is the best car that I have ever owned. If they still made them I would go out and buy I new one right now. It has the best seats and the engine is built very well. I would not trade it for the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

13th Jul 2004, 15:06

I have a 95 Cougar XR-7 with flowmaster dual exhaust, that is the only way you can compare Cougars vs Mustangs! The only thing that a Cougar with a 4.6L V8 can beat in a race is a Cougar with a 3.8L V6 and the V8 wouldn't win by much!

Stangs4Life!

11th Apr 2005, 08:12

No a cougar will leave a stang in the dust!! I did it plenty of times so don't say it won't.

1995 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A great deal if there ever was one

Faults:

Mass air flow sensor. Transmission leak.

General Comments:

Great power with the V8 and handles wonderfully. leather interior is very comfortable and roomy and the moon roof and traction control tops it all off especially with the traction control having a shut-off switch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews