1997 Mercury Cougar Reviews

1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6 V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 miles
Most recent distance90450 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A durable, reliable, respectable car out of the past

Faults:

Intake manifold split, replaced computer, normal maintenance.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable and always starts. It has no rust and the paint has held up very well. It is kept in a garage and I wax it twice a year. The leather seats are still in fine shape.

I drive 83 miles per day round trip to the office. I average 22 MPG.

I find the car very comfortable for my purpose. I think the stereo FM and the tape player are very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2009

1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

Very good car!

Faults:

There is nothing wrong with this car.

General Comments:

I've had my car for 3 months and I love it. I bought it used at a ford dealership and the gut that had it before me was a farmer and he kept really good care of the car. My Cougar is the 30th Anniversary edition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

21st Mar 2006, 16:03

Hey dude I didn't know you were from Iowa!

30th May 2013, 20:45

I got my Cougar from my grandpa, and it only has 32,000 miles on it or less.

I love my car. It's my "second" car; I have a truck I drive when it's muddy or snowy.

I can't find a fault with it except it has super low miles and I've already had the intake manifold issue. It has no rust, and is a super clean car.

It's a 1997, 4.6 V8 and a posi rear end.

1997 Mercury Cougar from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance86500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

I would never again purchase a Ford product

Faults:

Replaced the intake manifold.

Replaced the driver’s side window motor 4 times.

General Comments:

For everyone that has had to replace the intake manifolds for their 1997 Cougar, you should know that a settlement was reached 12-16-05, requiring the automaker to pay at least $735 to each person who replaced the manifold within 7 years of ownership.

You can take your vehicle to a dealer and obtain reimbursement, whether you have the receipt or not. However, it must be taken in by March 16, 2006. This info is posted on USAToday.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

I love my cougar, just wish she would get her power back!

Faults:

Had to replace brakes and a full tune up. Not too bad! Great car, runs well with lots of power... till now. Check engine soon light has been coming on, so I have checked spark plugs etc. Loss of power on acceleration is awful. Disconnected the battery, but no difference. Not sure why?

General Comments:

Very fast, 210 horsepower and rear wheel drive.

I would love to keep it till gas prices get too high.

Great look and design for an older model vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

8th Jan 2006, 15:24

Did the trouble start right after the tune-up? Perhaps something wasn't done correctly. Also, could you have clogged fuel injectors? Did it happen almost overnight, or did it get progressively worse until it became too noticeable to overlook? You checked for shorted/loose plug wires, loose spark plugs, weak coil, failed O2 sensor? It's common that if a sensor fails, the computer can reset to default values, prompting your check engine light to come on and also resulting in dramatic loss of performance and mileage. If not addressed, I've seen engines run so hot as to crack an exhaust manifold.

1997 Mercury Cougar XR-7 3.8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Starion

Summary:

Great reliable car with good gas mileage

Faults:

Brakes are annoying they make noise at certain speeds when you slow down. You have to brake a little harder so you don't hear it or turn up the radio its up to you. My check engine lite just turned on I'm assuming it's just the oxygen sensor from other reviews I have read, but I want them to check the EGR valve as well.

General Comments:

Nothing major has gone wrong with the car no head gaskets or half shafts like I have read from others. I changed the shocks to Monroe Sensa-Trac's and it rides even smoother than before. I have the radiator and transmission fluid changed every 2 years and I use synthetic oil which gets changed every 15K. I kinda wish I had the V8 but glad I don't because of the gas prices.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

7th Apr 2010, 20:40

Have bought my Mercury Cougar XR7 Black new in 1996 Dec. Model 97. Have it stored in a heated garage, never Winter driven.

Take it out in Summertime, only when the weather is nice, has 34000Km on it. Fell in love with that car, keep it in showroom condition, too bad it was the last good model car from Ford.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews