1997 Mercury Cougar Xr7 from North America


A beautiful car



General Comments:

This car is a dream come true. It was garage kept and is the tan also know as the gold color its the anniversary edition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 30th Anniversary 4.6L SOHC V8 from North America


Don't expect more than six or seven years out of it


The plastic intake manifold cracked at the heater core return line, causing coolant to fill the #3 spark plug hole and grounding the spark plug. Coolant steam fogged over the windshield and almost caused an accident. Ford had initially recalled these intake manifolds, then decided to indemnify only their fleet customers.

The driver side door is beginning to sag and will need to be re-hung.

General Comments:

When new, this car performed beautifully; but it was poorly engineered and will not last much longer despite meticulous care and upkeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

8th Oct 2004, 13:30

Yep, same here. I can't keep mine on the road and it's 7 years old.

24th May 2008, 12:28

I bought mine with 88000 miles on her last year. I did have to replace a belt or two, got new tires this year. She is a dream to drive,. and she smokes all the " ricers with fart cans, no prob, and she even smoked my " 95 Camaro.. she is gorgeous, as new looking Grey leather interior, and is a gorgeous opal color. She has the spoiler, sunroof, power seats, nice Bose sound system, and EVERYTHING works like new!

I have never found a better car, especially not for what I paid for her, as she was in showroom condition, I paid a mere 3900! Everybody wants her, but she is mine... all mine.

19th Jun 2008, 20:07

I couldn't disagree more with the original poster. Although I had the same trouble with the intake manifold, the car is running as good today as it did brand new.

Other than the intake manifold, I haven't had a bit of trouble (with a little less than meticulous maintenance.) I keep test driving new cars thinking it's time to trade it in, but I haven't found a thing I like to drive better than my Cougar.

11th Apr 2009, 12:04

Oh my goodness, I agree with the original poster. My sisters car had the exact same problem, it was a big mess! My dad and I replaced the intake manifold and it was doing good. Along with the shocks and struts.

Now it has 150,000 miles on it, and the 4th cylinder is shot!! 3k to fix it, and she still owes 2k on it. Everyone in the family loved the car when she first got it, lots of power, (probably why the 4th cylinder is shot now) showroom condition, actually it was on the showroom floor, She bought it used. I must admit it's a beautiful car!!

Now its proving to be a bigger pain than what it's worth. To fix the 4th cylinder it's going to cost more than what the car is now worth. It was her first car and is a little beat up now. I believe she got it in 2001. What was once her pride and joy is now the pain in her neck. What a shame.

1997 Mercury Cougar 30th Anniversary 4.6L V8 from North America


One of a Kind


Nothing as of yet, my second cougar of this model year... excellent cars, my intake manifold blew up on the 1st one, but put 70k miles on it.

General Comments:

This car is in mint condition, old lady's car, never been driven in the rain, its the white pearl color and is flawless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

29th Jan 2004, 20:16

I thought all the 30th Anniversary Cougars were a dark red color (?) How did you get a white one?

9th Feb 2004, 20:44

I own a 1997 30th Anniversary Edition too that is white so they are not all red. I love car, but don't like the costly repair. So far transmission rebuilt, and intake manifold replacement. hate the costly repairs, but love car still.

1997 Mercury Cougar RX7 from North America


Love the style and ride


Does not leak, but need coolant every 6 weeks. Maybe because I live in the desert?!

General Comments:

Great turning radius. Good gas mileage - 20 mpg in city with air on and 25 on the highway! Very quick and fast. A very comfortable car to drive and ride in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2003

23rd May 2005, 06:44

Or maybe your coolant is leaking into your crankcase through a blown head gasket or cracked block?

5th Dec 2009, 15:05

Love my 97 cat... if I could, I would buy same all over again. At 92k and still never tuned up and works like a charm. This cat will go forever. I am heartbroken that they stopped at 97!

1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 Sport Edition 4.6 Liter OHC V8 from North America


A very nice, powerful, luxury coupe


No big problems since I have owned it.

General Comments:

It is a very nice car with a ton of power. You can be sitting at a stoplight and blow past any beefed up Honda Civic, Accord etc..

The only disadvantage is it appears to be an old persons car (I am 16), that is why I looked for the one with the sport package, for instance it comes with bigger wheels, rear deck-lid spoiler, rear wing, CD player etc...

This car is really quick off the line and also when you are on the freeway, I give this car 5 out of 5 stars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2001

16th Oct 2001, 00:53

I have a 94 Cougar with 278,000km on it and it runs like a top, very fast and reliable. I've had it for 4 years and have spent approx $1800.00 in upgrades & repairs to date. Now I'm putting in a supercharger, shiftkit, stallconverter & performance brake parts. Cost approx $5500.00 & well spent in my mind.

Have fun.