1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 3.8 V6 from North America




I have an Oxygen Sensor that's going bad, but that's all.

General Comments:

I've owned 2 Cougars now in my life, and I have loved both of them. The first was an 89, great car, lost to a dumb driver who totaled it. My latest, the 97 XR7. Bought it for $1500. It was a sad day to see the great Cougars fade into history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6L V8 from North America


Don't waste your money because there are other good looking cars out there that are more reliable


Engine light came on 2 days after I bought it throwing codes that it was running rich. Took 3 separate garages to finally guess at what it was. Reprogramming the computer finally fixed it.

Low coolant light on (60k miles). Can't just replace the sensor, would have to replace the entire $120 coolant recovery tank. No thanks. I'll deal with it. Black electrical tape costs $3 a roll.

Inner door panel, driver's side came detached.

Driver's side power window has never opened.

Eats turn signal bulbs at the rate of one a month. Replaced multi-function switch in the steering column twice.

General Comments:

Now I know why this car only had 55000 miles on it when I bought it. I'd be willing to bet its previous owner got sick of sticking money into it and dumped it. Lucky me.

I didn't want to stick the money into my previous car (a Dodge Neon) to fix it so I traded it in for this. What a mistake. There is NO REASON for a car with only 60k on it to have this many and these kinds of problems. Just about everything electrical in that car is completely goofy.

I mean, it looks great and drives great and probably will continue to because I can't afford to keep up with the maintainance costs. I know I didn't buy a new vehicle and there was going to be some problems, but this is nuts. It's like you can't touch the car without it getting "upset" about something.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2005

28th Oct 2007, 10:37

I'm having the same problems with my '96. the car runs nice, but has all these strange problems. I do not recommend this car to anyone.

1997 Mercury Cougar xr7 3.8 from North America


Fills the most needs in one car


Oil sending unit worn out.$800. Probably a dealer rip off? At 70K...

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned. It has been totally trouble free, and I tend to take care of my vehicles, putting over 20 k miles per year on business. I traded a 93 v6 XR7 for this one. This car had numerous improvements over that model, dual airbags, 4 wheel disc, structural improvements. Biggest complaint, decontenting to pay for new standard items, ant-slip etc. Still a great dependable economical car to own. As trustworthy as any japanese car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

24th Nov 2004, 08:16

You paid $800 for replacement of an oil sending unit?

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha ha!

27th Sep 2008, 22:18

I bought one of these bad boys, and the oil sending unit went around 70,000 miles too LOL. But 800 dollars is a rip off. The car rules pretty much.

13th Dec 2008, 15:58

I've been trying to look up the V6 version of the cougar for sometime now. Is it supercharged? And how much horsepower does it get?

1997 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6 from North America


Best car I've ever owned!


Rear shocks make noise when you hit a bump.

"service Engine Soon" light comes on every so often, I disconnect the battery to reset it.

Paint on the rubber impact strips and front and back bumper covers marks/chips easily.

Need to "turn" the front rotors several times per year.

General Comments:

The car rides wonderful; It is able to glide down the highway and then handle itself well on back roads.

People often comment on what a nice looking car it is.

The 4.6L engine has more than enough power. It has always been able to "smoke" any forigen.

Prairie Tan exterior paint has held up very well over the last 7 years.

Transmission shifts very smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2004