1999 Mercury Cougar V6 Automatic from North America - Comments

14th Jul 2004, 18:57

I have a 1999 Cougar V6 automatic. I also have problems occasionally with the coolant light. Mine comes on when the car is parked on an incline. When I leave, I'll wait until I am on a flat surface, turn off the car and wait for a few seconds and start it again. That fixes the problem for me. You might want to try it. It is still not right that the light comes on when the coolant is full, but it works for me.

2nd Feb 2006, 13:24

Thank you for the hilarious previous comment about high octane gas causing alternators to burn themselves out (because of the greater hp from higher octane)

Funniest thing I have seen on this site!

23rd Feb 2006, 18:07

I own a 99 Cougar. The check engine light came on about three months after I purchased it. The dealership told me it was because the gas cap was not on tight. I have had to change the alternator 3 times. The driver side window won't go down. The air conditioner won't work. If you are interested in purchasing a great car, buy a cougar.

12th Mar 2006, 09:20

I bought a 99 Cougar about almost 2 months ago now... no real problems with it... I took it to an automatic carwash and while sitting idoling the engine light came on. I panicked and shut it off, when I turned it back on it was off. The only problems I really have with her is that when I am accelerating past 40 she starts to shake and shimmer... I am going to get it checked out soon, but I don't know what it is.

17th Mar 2006, 08:47

I think that this all is hilarious. When you think your the only one here comes 20 more. Within not even 3 months my moonroof doesn't open-I had to get new brakes, battery, and starter. My check engine just came on the other day and the dealership said I might need a new O2 sensor (warranty doesn't cover it-imagine that). I bought a red fully loaded cougar and thought that I was getting a great sports vehicle. But like you guys sadi it looks good and that's it. GO COUGARS!!!

23rd Jun 2006, 23:06

I agree with you all too. My girlfriend bought a 99 cougar a year ago. Her starter has already gone bad (60k Mi). So of course I changed the starter and the car still doesn't start up right away, instead it continues to grind against the flywheel. Now I really look forward to trying to pull a flywheel out of a car where everything is jammed under the hood like that thing is. Yes, like was just said... GO COUGARS!

26th Jul 2006, 12:45

My wife's 99 Cougar V6 is undoubtedly the worst made piece of crap I've ever laid eyes on. Replaced: tranny, alternator twice, all sorts of ancillary electrical problems, hood latch broke, wheels rusted/fused to mounts. Mercury should voluntarily recall all of these cars and crush them immediately. Poor design and cheap, unreliable parts lead to a nightmare for owners.

5th Apr 2007, 14:32

I bought my Daughter a new 1999 Cougar after she practised on n old Subaru for a year after turning 16. I begged her not to get the Cougar, I am all too familiar with the Ford family of fine automobiles and didn't want the possible future headaches. This has been the most frustrating disappointing piece of fertilizer I have ever experienced. It has the V6 and the auto transmission needs to have the fluid changed. You would think "no problem", but I find out that replacing the fluid along with the filter is impossible. To replace the filter you have to remove the transmission and take it completely apart. Aside from that fact, it has been a great car with all of the previously mentioned problems. Example, engine light, low coolant light, windows and sun roof with a mind of their own, noises rattles, incredibly lousy tires from the manufacturer. She now understands my disdain for any Ford product. The only other vehicle that I have found which was as bad or worse was our 2001 Audi TT, thank God for a great warranty on that worthless pile of junk.

28th Apr 2007, 05:49

You guys have me worried. I leased a 99 cougar & never had any problems. It was fine. Not the best at anything, but fast enough to get me in trouble. I liked it so much I bought a 2001 blue C2. Aus. headlights, smoked side markers & tail light covers are subtle changes, but it looks a lot better w/o any orange on it. It been fine except for the cheap, now broken sunroof. My sunroof won't slide back, at least it goes up & down helps vent the car. Also, the engine bogs down when I give it the gas going down a 1 ft sloping drive way down to the street. Anybody got a thought on that? otherwise It's been soild.

7th May 2007, 09:38

I have a 99 and at the moment it is sitting in the driveway collecting dust and nothing more. The alternator went out. Then the starter, then the converters. Almost all the engine lights are on all the time. Even after replacing all these parts I am afraid to drive it as it may end up costing me even more. I just want someone to buy it. Want to buy it? :)

9th May 2007, 16:56

I have a 1999 Mercury cougar its great on gas I have not ever had any problems with it and it has 125,000 miles on it. The cougar is also pretty fast for a V6. The Mercury Cougar is my favorite car I have ever owned.

9th May 2007, 22:56

Hey guys, I've had my 5-speed 2000 cougar for about a year now, I've always had this hesitation when accelerating in 3rd gear and I would love to fix it. I've had the fuel pump/filter replaced, all spark plugs and wires, ERG valve sensor, nothing seems to correct it. My engine light is on and the computer views it as a cat-converter problem, but I would rather not pay the $500 for a new one if it isn't the actual problem. I've had a few of the previously mentioned problems, but nothing serious. I'm kind of worried to what the future has in store for this car now, thanks guys!

23rd May 2007, 15:31

My boyfriend owns the 1999 cougar V6. he also had the issue with the engine light always on. he couldn't pass emissions testing because of it. apparently, the issue has to do with a computer update that mercury kindly charges $500 for despite the fact that it's a defect with the car. BTW the first garage he took it to wanted to replace the catalytic converter, but that wasn't the problem - the computer update fixed it.

4th Jun 2007, 10:13

Problems with my 2000 Cougar:

The fuel injector died leaving me stranded in the highway when the car was practically new.

The famous trunk lid does not open unless you manipulate the key and the lid at the same time.

The alternator died, cost to replace $600.

Warning lights on and off when seemingly nothing is wrong.

Seats looked terrible after a couple of years.

22nd Jun 2007, 15:49

Own a V6 '99 cougar.

This car looks nice, but after reading all of these comments and confirming it with my own experience I must admit I made a big mistake buying it.

Coolant light on all the time

Transmission work at $2100

Interior lights (dashboard) dim and brigten constantly

The car shakes at 70mph and it's not align or balancing

I'm selling it as soon as I can.