1999 Mercury Cougar Reviews - Page 43 of 50

1999 Mercury Cougar V6 Sport 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Fun, fast, and still a great car to me

Faults:

Seat fabric not cut right at beginning.

1000 Miles replaced wheel bearing.

20k replace alternator.

20k replace coolant sensor.

25k replace window motors.

25k replace rotors.

30k O2 sensor out.

60k replaced alternator again.

72k wheel bearing again.

General Comments:

I don't have a problem with comfort, and the look is great. It did gain a lot of attention at first.

However, it has had it's fair share of problems. But so did my previous car. I don't think there is a car out there that exists that won't have some problems.

For the money it was worth it and I still love my car. This is not a $45,000 BMW where parts are expected to last. You definitely get what you pay for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

15th May 2006, 01:34

I agree with you. I own a 1999 V6 Cougar and I had it a month - the engine went out. I don't trust it and I wouldn't recommend this car to anyone.

1999 Mercury Cougar from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

This car is a high performance comfortable car!

Faults:

I have had to replace the alternator, which was still covered under warranty.

I have had to replace the battery.

I have troubles with the hatch.

Only other things that have been replaced are from normal wear and tear on a vehicle.

General Comments:

The car handles magnificently in the corners.

I find the seats to be comfortable, and my cousin who is 6 foot tall can sit in the back because of the deep bucket seats. His head does hit the rear window a little.

I have had no major problems with my cougar and in fact went up against a V-6 Chevy Camero and kept up. Didn't win, but it was close enough for me!

Only downfall would have to be that I did not get a 5-speed, or as one person says, it need a spoiler.

I love my cougar!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2003

18th Jun 2006, 20:30

Just an update to my post of my Cougar...

I'm on my 3rd alternator... The hatch still sticks and it takes two people if you push the button inside or one if you have the remote... Heaven forbid I lose the remote since you can't drop the rear seats from the inside! Then again..there's always the key!

It still doesn't use oil... does dirty the oil quick.

The check engine light came on several thousand miles ago... never have figured out why and I'm not about to pay a dealer to "TEST" it for me!

For the most part do our own maintenance... The alternator on the other hand must be done professionally as it is just shy of impossible to get to with out taking apart the inner passenger side wheel well, and when you do that you can almost see the alternator!

I've gotten over 32 mpg on the highway.

Other than that it has been a good car.

I will agree with one other post about the blind spot... I backed into a large post... broke the taillight... I was talking on my phone.

Oh, and last, but not least... Yes a 3800 V6 Camaro will out run it!

1999 Mercury Cougar V6 Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance48300 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

The black V6 from hell

Faults:

The check engine light is almost always on.

To open the trunk, you have to pull up on it while you're pushing the button, whether you're inside the car or using the remote.

The seats aren't the most comfortable in the world.

The low coolant light has been on for 3 months now, and the coolant is completely full.

The tires suck. I slide going around corners at 30 mph without it raining or snowing.

I merely tapped a snowbank in February and the bumper cracked a horizontal line halfway through it that will cost me $800.00 to repair.

General Comments:

I purchased my Cougar a year and 6 months ago. At first, I loved it. It is a hot car and I looked good in it. However, the love quickly died. After just a few short months of owning it, it started smelling like rotten eggs when I accelerated quickly. The service shop employees at the dealership thought it was the catalytic converter, but they weren't sure. So, we ignored it. Now it just smells every once in a while.

1st thing fixed - The moonroof motor broke when I drove through a sudden downpour. It was stuck half open. It took the dealership a week to fix it, luckily it happened less than 3 months of having it so it was fixed free of charge.

#2 - New brakes (pads, shoes, rotors, the works) around 35000 miles.

#3 - New tie-rod and drums at 40000 miles.

#4 - New alternator at around 43000 miles.

#5 - New starter just last week at 48000 miles. The dealership kept my car for 3 days. They told me that in order to put in the newer model starter that you HAVE to change the flywheel as well. Well, my warranty won't cover the flywheel because there is nothing wrong with the one I have. They will only pay for the starter itself because that is the actual failed component. So for me to get the new starter and fly wheel they wanted to charge me $600.00. I told them to figure out a way to just put the starter in and leave my flywheel alone because I'm not paying it. So they did. And nothing has changed... The car still doesn't start all the time.

I think the only good thing about Cougars is their appearance. I get lots of attention when I'm driving down the road. At first I thought it was because I'm a good-looking 21 year old driving a black sports car with the sunroof open and music blasting. More realistically, though, the people looking at me are probably just former Cougar owners who know the hell I'm going through and are saying a silent prayer as I drive by. I know that's what I'll be doing when I see you.

I just hope other people are smarter than me and are reading these reviews BEFORE they buy the car. If not, good luck. You'll need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

15th Dec 2003, 18:40

I agree with your comments. I have a 2000 Cougar. Great car aesthetically, but I have already had a catalytic converter replaced, a recall on the brakes, a new alternator 3 months ago, and was just told today that I needed another catalytic converter (there are 2 in this car you know)! This catalytic converter and catalytic monitor including the diagnostic test will cost $855. Outrageous! I am very disappointed with the maintenance of this car!

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 161 reviews