1994 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1994 Mercury Grand Marquis from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A big gas guzzler, but a comfy gas guzzler

Faults:

This thing is a big boat. We had planned to give this car to my 16 year old son, to drive to school and work, but the engine has been vibrating, and I noticed that I could not get the transmission past 2nd gear. Being as my mother in law only drove this car to her mailbox, it only sat in the hot Florida sun and has bad paint deterioration.

Also, I cannot leave this car in idle for longer than 5 minutes, and then the water gauge will shoot up and I will have to pull over and turn the car off. I had recently had the same problem with my wife's 96 Chrysler town and country, if we left it in idle at like a drive through window with our a/c on, you would eventually hear the hood bubble, and this car started doing the same thing.

I do not feel comfortable driving this car, and would NOT let my teenage son, drive this car on the highway and to school with all the problems it has.

General Comments:

This is a great luxury vehicle, and Mercury's do have the reputation for some reliability, but after years of wear and tear, it's not as safe as it's standards in 1994.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2006

2nd Jan 2008, 22:06

Try removing the thermostat. That should end all overheating issues. Had the same problem with a Cheerokee.

4th Dec 2008, 03:57

If your taking a thermostat out, it's just as easy to replace with a new $4 one. Never omit the thermostat in any vehicle, you'll waste $$$ of gas, create oil sludge build up, increase emissions, excessive carbon build up, damage O2 sensor/catalytic converter, abnormal cylinder wear/compression loss etc. etc.

1994 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6 Liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

This car is a very comfortable car

Faults:

Brakes wear out way too easily, brake pads are to small for the size of the car. needs bigger rotors and pads.

General Comments:

Rides like a dream very smooth, great acceleration and also very comfortable. never hear the engine even when you are flooring it. looks good inside and out and is very roomy with the biggest trunk in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2006

28th Apr 2006, 18:02

Never hearing the engine even when flooring it huh? You must have your ears examined.

28th Apr 2006, 21:43

I notice your previous car was also a Mercury Grand Marquis.

Congratulations on your good sense and good taste in driving one of the best cars in the world.

And I guess your next car will probably be a Mercury Grand Marquis or a Lincoln Town Car.

Congratulations in advance.

All other cars make no sense.

3rd May 2006, 01:14

To previous comment, I agree I am not the original writer of this review, but these car the best cars in the world. I've had a town car and am on my 2nd grand marquis, I think my next car will be a crown victoria.

7th Jun 2007, 15:14

On the money! I bought this car from my girlfriend at 106 k miles. Still going after 268k miles. Of course, there is no car that is perfect. However, this one is very good. Had some natural replacements like brake rotors and pads, transmission fluid changed, that grinding noise between 30 and 40 mph goes away. This the LS model with all the bells and whistles. The posi-traction rear, air bags (replaced after 200k miles), speed sensitive steering, all that stuff and still gets 28-30 mpg at 70 mph. A real cruiser! As with all cars, it has it's issues. Gas gauge goes to full now. I understand it might be a computer glitch. Any suggestions on this, let me know. Other than that, those seniors over 65 know what time it is!!!

1994 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6 Liter V8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Great engine and ride, not great on gas, interior items should be made to hold up longer

Faults:

A lot of play and looseness in gear shift on column.

Power locks won't lock, just unlock.

Ac, heater, vent switch very loose.

Headliner by rear window coming down.

Bad EGR valve makes rough idling, hard to get too and change this.

A short in washer switch, and turn signal lever in steering column.

General Comments:

This car has a peppy engine, that lasts forever if you take care of it.

Smooth ride.

Stylish front and back end.

Roommie trunk space.

Spacious interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews