1994 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1994 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Great car would buy another in a flash!

Faults:

The drivers side tie-rod end went just after I got it, not a problem it was expected with age. The part was inexpensive.

The air suspension went flat on me one day, but thanks to the very knowledgeable staff at the ford dealership it was an easy fix, one of the lines just popped off the fitting on one of the air shocks from corrosion.

General Comments:

The car is very responsive with lots of get up and go as well as being surprisingly good on fuel.

Extremely comfortable ride with roomy interior to boot.

It has never left me stranded and only ever needed things that are normal for regular maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

1994 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.9 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance254000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Body on frame is still the best

Faults:

I have replaced only the windows tracks, starter, main positive battery cable, 4 brake rotors, brake pads, transmission. Most surprising - 3 windows tracks all broke within the same month - not drivers window just the ones not used much.

Check engine light - ignore it.

General Comments:

Next to my 78 Toyota Corolla Wagon this 94 Grand Marquis is even better. With 254,000 miles this fully loaded (leather, digital dash, speed sensitive steering, anti lock disks, traction control, etc) car is rock solid. The exhaust has never been replaced. I get 23MPG with the tires blown up hard. Engine uses 1 quart of oil every 1200 miles. If you've never driven a car like this you don't know what your missing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

24th Aug 2005, 01:55

It is expected for the 4.6 engine to make 300,000 miles no excuses with proper maintenance.

27th Jan 2008, 20:41

Wow some real negitive comments above. 254000 miles? Awsome bro - good luck and keep on goin!

1994 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

This is a great car!

Faults:

Torque Converter replaced immediately after purchase.

Starter replaced.

Oil pan gasket leak fixed.

Alternator replaced.

O2 sensors replaced.

MAP sensor replaced.

Valve seals replaced.

3 out of 4 power windows repaired.

Wiper motor replaced.

Shocks (4) replaced.

Interior water leak sealed.

Turn signal/wiper control replaced.

Driver side seat makes noise.

Rear main seal slowly sweats oil-not a big issue.

General Comments:

This car starts up every day without exception.

It is comfortable and handles well enough for a car its size.

It is like a luxury cruise ship on the highway.

It provides power and good looks, but at the cost of fuel.

Oil consumption problem can be fixed for a reasonable amount.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

1994 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired63501 miles
Most recent distance93793 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Pretty good. The power of the engine well exceeds the 5.0 L of the past

Faults:

Over all the car has been great. I have had to put several sets of tires on the car due to the alignment keeps going out. The technicians that have looked at my car have no idea why the alignment keeps going out.

My check engine light came on at around 81,000 miles. The EGR valve had to be replaced it was stuck open.

The cloth seats have started to wear on the drivers side. Even though I have had them shampooed several times, they have a light gold haze to them. But they are dark blue. The person who cleaned them told me that it is the foam being seen from under the cloth. I have been looking for a good set of Portfino blue leather seats in a salvage yard, but have had no luck yet. I have seen every color, but blue.

The front of the car seems to ride very low even after I put a new set of high end shocks on it. I have talked to other 95 Marquis owners and they have said the same thing. with the car setting so low in the front it catches on the cement parking barriers and has cracked the lower half of the front bumper skin, resulting in the replacement of it at a cost of nearly $750.00.

General Comments:

For the most part I am pleased with my 95 Marquis. I have had two Town Cars in the past. The Mercury is close to the Town Cars. But I do prefer the ride and roominess of the Town Cars over the Mercury. I would purchase another Marquis in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2005

11th Jan 2005, 14:03

The shocks do not affect the ride height.

What you need to make it not sag are new front springs. They're pretty cheap, but I suggest you have a mechanic install them.

11th Jan 2005, 18:02

It's supposed to be a bit lower in the front due to it being rear wheel drive. Go to crownvic.net. You'll learn a lot about your car.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews