1995 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6L from North America


Take a ride on the big comfy couch!


Belt tensioner.

Serpentine belt.

Heater core.

Brake pads/rotors.

Windshield (rock).

Water pump.


Spark plugs/wires.

Ignition cylinder.

General Comments:

I replaced a lot of stuff that I guess should be considered "normal" for a car with over 100k miles. I'm no mechanic, but I managed to do all this work (except the windshield) myself. The heater core was by far the most difficult repair I undertook on my own. The engine compartment has plenty of room for someone with fat American hands like me.

I like it. It's 20 years old now and still my daily driver. I will drive it until something really expensive goes wrong with it.

It's not a nimble sports car, more like a rolling living room. You're not going anywhere fast, but you'll have a comfortable ride with room for 5 friends and all their luggage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th July, 2015

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 4 speed with overdrive from Mexico


One of the best American made cars


Power steering pump and idler pulley.

General Comments:

Nice heavy car with strong full frame rear drive V8.

Leather seats hold up good, better than an Audi and a Volvo I have, but no where near as ergonomic.

It is good on gas if you drive it easy; about 10 kilometers for one liter.

This is my second Grand Marquis. I have owned a 92 in the past that was just as a good of a car as this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2010

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis LS from North America




The emergency brake cable snapped, but it was not very expensive to have repaired. Also, it was a very minor thing to go wrong on a car that is 13 years old.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car and would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of buying one. It is my first car, and I'm very grateful for that. It is extremely comfortable, drives very smoothly, gets decent gas mileage, is nice and spacious, and is quite safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2008

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6 SOHC from North America


Good, reliable, solid car, it's just not my style


- Two brake lines rusted out this past winter, just a month after I bought it. '95-'97 owners be advised that this is common if you're in the rust belt! '98+ you're in the clear, OEM lines are coated and rustproof.

- Full tune-up failed to cure pinging problem. Removed TB/elbow assembly and found the EGR port was plugged solid. Cleaned it, no more ping.

- New Police Interceptor-spec shocks and Yokohama Avid 235/60 15" tires. (Widest that will fit on stock 15" wheel)

General Comments:

Power off the line is not that great, owing to the 2.73 gears, lack of displacement relative to the car's size, and single exhaust. Kick it into 2nd in the 45-60 MPH range and it will step out nicely.

Old-tech recirculating-ball steering leaves a lot to be desired in terms of feedback and on-center feel. PI shocks and wide tires help cornering, but it's still a 3800 pound car. 2003+ cars gained rack-and-pinion steering, it's a good-sized improvement.

My LS is pretty basic for an LS- no leather, digi-dash or electronic climate control. No HPP package either: (

Overall, it has proven to be reliable and (semi) comfortable. The stock "porno-red" velour bench seats aren't that comfortable once I get past the one-hour mark (I'm only 6' and 210 lbs, not a big guy by any means). I bought the car based on my family's previous good experience with the Panthers (my dad's old '97 GMQ LS was awesome), and though they will stand the test of time there are far better choices out there. For example my sister's Taurus, to be honest, has more rear-seat legroom (though the Taurus can't handle three-across like the GMQ can).

My next car will be a Mustang GT. I bought this because I'm starting out as a teacher and needed something reliable to carry me to and from- the car has fulfilled its mission well, but I wouldn't own another. It's not my style.

*Then again, it might be way the car is configured- back to back with my dad's '97 his car had leather, duals, 3.27 gears, a PI PCM, EATC, and let me tell you the feel of that car was totally different than mine. (Also, '97's had a revised steering box that was better than the previous version)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2007

20th Jul 2007, 13:29

You sound like a crownvic.net member.

20th Jul 2007, 15:55

I am.

25th May 2008, 13:41

You mentioned that you wouldn't buy again from that manufacturer, but also that your next car would be a Ford Mustang GT. Hate to break it to ya, bub, but Ford and Mercury come from the same manufacturer.

28th May 2008, 01:59

Velour or cloth is so very much more comfortable than leather, which is painfully hot and sticky in summer, and too cold in winter. I hate leather, and sadly most newer non-economy cars have it.

29th Apr 2009, 11:48

I am the original poster of this review. Didn't realize more comments have been made on it...

** As a lifelong Ford man I'm fully aware of the fact that Ford and Mercury are related. I must have simply passed over that part of the review when I originally filled it out.