1995 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6L SOHC from North America


Most awesome car


-Brake lines rotted $300 repair @ 88k miles

-EGR Valve defective @ 75k miles

-Idler Pulley

-Temperature coolant sender unit

-Passenger Tie Rod and end.

General Comments:

This car is outstanding very little problems if you maintain it like I do.

Has a lot of power and books it on the highway people move out of the way when they see this car coming because they think it's a cop car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2005

30th Mar 2006, 00:22

Actually my local sheriff's department is using a 1993-94ish model Crown Victoria.

6th Oct 2006, 13:52

Grand Marquis are used in all levels of government here in Florida, and it's been that way for a while. Lots of them are unmarked troopers and feds.

24th Jul 2009, 13:14

Yeah the 94 Marquis is basically the same body style as the new Crown Vics anyway...

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6 liter gasoline from North America


The last great act of the big car at a bargain price


Spark Plug Wires at 90K $60.

Complete rotors and pads at 100K $475.

Tires at 90K $400.

All these items are normal maintenance.

General Comments:

This car is a comfortable powerhouse and if you look hard enough you can find a great deal on one.

The trunk in large, the gauges simple, and I've driven it for 10 hours straight with a high level of comfort. The leather has held up well and most people can't believe it's 9 years old.

An outstanding car and although I'm not old I just chuckle to myself when people dismiss it as "an old persons car"

The gas mileage is fantastic. On a recent trip with 4 passengers total and a trunk packed for week I got 26 miles per gallon.

A great car and a great used car buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

28th Apr 2004, 23:28

I am a 23-year-old college student who drives a 1992 Grand Marquis. I have also previously owned a Crown Victoria and a Lincoln Town Car, which share the same platform. I and my friends love taking long road trips in this car because it is very comfortable, it's quiet, and the gas mileage isn't really THAT bad. Plus, I can always find my car in a university parking lot full of Honda Accords. It was a great buy for $1600.

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 4.6 from North America


Not Your Grandfather's Grand Marquis


Tie rod ends needed to be replaced. A cheap repair.

Electric driver seat back adjuster is faulty. Not a critical issue.

General Comments:

Quick, fast, and cheap. I paid $3,500 for it, bought 4 new Goodyear Regatta 2s, installed a cat-back dual exhaust system with an X-pipe.

The car gets about 21.5mpg in the city and I just got 26.5mpg on mixed driving over 370 miles. This is great mileage and is largely due to the exhaust system, which I view as a must for the car.

It is comfortable beyond words... a lounge racer.

The car is very fast, quick, and quiet. The power improvement from the dual exhaust has added about 20-25hp.

Handling is remarkable for a car of this size... and it will be even better when I install Bilsteins ($299) this month.

Remarkably, there is a sort of cult following for these cars and for Crown Victorias, especially police interceptors.

I'd buy another one in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2004

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis LS w/ HPP 4.6 V8 from North America


Gas guzzling, relatively powerful, big sedan


Needed new front rotors and pads.

New shocks installed.

New spark plugs and wires.

EGR port cleaned out (did it myslef).

Brake lines rusted out and had to be replaced ($300).

Idler pulley squeals in cold weather, needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

Great looking car, runs very smoothly, except the transmission could be better.

Handles great! Takes corners very well with Handling and Performance package.

The interior quality does leave a lot to be desired, however. The door panels creak and squeak, but it is an 8 year old car, so you can't expect perfection.

Overall, a good car, always starts right up and has never let me down, my next car will probably be a Crown Vic or Grand Marquis - and I'm 20!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

23rd Nov 2003, 23:22

I am 23 yrs old and love these cars. I bet yours has the digital dash and dual exhaust.

I have a 95 Crown Vic. You will have to change the trans fluid like every 30,000-miles. You will have to have the torque converter drained as well.

If it still "Shutters", if yours is doing this, then pour 4oz of fluid anti-friction modifier in the transmission. You can buy this product for $6.00 at any ford dealership.

When mine first started to shutter around 34-45mph, I had it rebuilt. Then 5,000-miles later, while still in warranty, it started to do the same thing again. They told me to pour 4oz of the fluid in it.

This did heal it and I have put another 40,000- trouble free miles on mine.

I had the trans rebuilt at 160,000-miles.

You have to service these transmissions by the book or more.

9th Apr 2004, 16:01

Gas guzzler? Hmmm, I put cat-back dual exhaust, with an X-pipe...and I am getting 26.5 highway and around 21.5 city. My car has 130,000 on it and I plan on going for 250,000 without any problem. Change the fluids, especially the oil at every 3,000 and you will go far.

It is true that these cars did have problems with brake line, fuel line, and exhaust corrosion when driven extensively in states that salt their roads. I recommend power spraying under the car when washing it.

This car is fast and comfortable and is a very affordable "lounge lizard" racer.

6th Jan 2009, 20:36

I'm 20 years of age too, and I've got to say I loved my 94 Mercury Marquis; it had power, tinted windows for the limo look, and it always started!

My buddies called it a granny cruiser, but all I have to say is it had power, speed, and comfort! After a ride they agreed!

I would definitely get another one, I love big cars; Marquis, Buick, Caprice, Lincoln, and they hold up forever, unlike sporty little plastic 4 bangers!

13th Mar 2009, 11:02

The marquis HPP's also have heavy duty 4-wheel disc brakes, bigger swaybars, 355 gear, bigger converter for trans, air ride and better shocks, dual exhaust, 16 inch deep dish wheels, dig dash, leather wrap wheel. The HPP was a $5,000 option above the reg GL or LS. I liked my 1997 HPP Marquis just as well as the 2000 that I still have here in 2009.

8th May 2009, 19:03

The 3.55's were only available from late 1999-early 2001; other years had 3.27's.

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6L Gas from North America


At about 70K miles the "check engine" light came on and they had to clean the throtle body and intake... all fuel injected cars a prone to this problem as only air is now drawn into the intake manifold instead of air and gasoline on the old carb cars. When you shut your engine off, fumes rise from the cylinders and coat the intake up to the inside of the throttle plate.

This job cost about 150 dollars at the

Ford shop.

General Comments:

The EGR valve went at about 85K miles and cost about 350 dollars to fix.

Recently at 92K a pair of metal cooling tubes that are routed "through the intake manifold" (would you believe it) leaked and had to be replaced. Extensive need for parts removal to access these pipes and blown engine expansion plugs (including entire transmission) resulted in a 600 dollar repair bill.

I am generally satisfied with the car in spite of the high repair bills. It is large and comfortable as well as smooth and quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002