1997 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6 liter V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

A very nice machine!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this car this year, it is now 8 years old with 36,000 miles. I basically bought a new "old" car. It runs and drives as any brand new car I have owned. It is solid, very quiet both in town and on the highway. Fuel mileage averages 20-22 mpg city, and an outstanding 24-29 highway. I travel a lot statewide and am very pleased with the economy, power and comfort the Grand Marquis offers. Transmissions shifts are smooth and the the styling says luxury. Yes I know there are serveral other cars that will get better mpg, but look at those vehicles. Signifcantly smaller and comfortable, and less safe too, with econo styling. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a great used car value. Find one that has been well cared for and you will have an outstanding value and a car you will be proud to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2006

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis GS V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

The Marquis is a very poor vehicle, and the components are inferior to imports

Faults:

35k A/C system went out completely. Dealer trouble shooted and had to replace the air compressor, the evaporater, hoses/lines, and other components. Repairs cost over $2K.

The electric window motors had to be replaced, rotors had to be replace at 41k, and at 61K, another dealer trouble shot the A/C system and determined the air compressor, evaporator, and tubes/lines, etc. needed to be replaced.

Another 1500.00 plus to have fixed.

At this point I sold the car.

Also, dealer determined the ball joints needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

I have had nothing but problems with this Marquis. The A/C system went out twice within 20K and 2 years. The first time the parts were replaced by a Mercury dealer with genuine Ford parts.

The car is continually having components fail and requiring replacement.

The car is comfortable, but comfort at this cost is not worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2005

26th Jul 2005, 18:32

I travel a lot for business, and have on a regular basis ridden to the airport in several Mercury Grand Marquis' and Crown Victoria’s, with 400,000+ miles on the original drive-trains (I always ask the drivers if the car is all original when I see the high mileage). I can tell you too, that these cars operate 100% in NYC/North-Jersey traffic, and are very tough miles.

I also know people that have had these vehicles personally, and have reached several hundred thousand miles with no mechanical trouble. I do recall some AC trouble though...

Lastly, I have some involvement with my local police department, and all of their recent purchases (after the Chevy Caprice was discontinued) have been Crown Victoria’s. By and large, the entire fleet of CV's are run hundreds of thousands of very abusive miles, day in, day out, with very little problems to speak of. I have even heard multiple stories of the vehicles being sold at auction after their police service, and running for many more trouble free miles after that.

So, I do not at all agree with your opinion that these vehicles are inferior to any import. Cars are a mixed bag. There are some very good American cars that are as good or better than any competition, and there are some that are garbage. The same applies for imports, for which I would assert the ratio of good too bad is about the same as that for American cars, if not worse.

While you may have had the trouble you described with your particular car, based on the preponderance of what I have directly observed, and what has been most people's experience with these vehicles, that is a poor choice of car on which to attempt associating that fallacy.

28th Jul 2007, 02:37

I agree with comments above. My ac system is all original and still perform flawlessly even in 102 degree weather. Engine has been bullet proof. The intake was replaced, but was covered by the factory and the new updated one is fine! All in all a car that is still more reliable than many imports.

29th Oct 2013, 14:55

"The Marquis is a very poor vehicle, and the components are inferior to imports"

I guess the owners of the thousands and thousands of old Crown Victoria squad cars and taxi cabs still on the road with 300,000+ miles, don't know what they're talking about.

31st Oct 2013, 18:37

As a mechanic and owner of both imports (until I discovered how poorly built they were) and domestics, I can assure you that the build quality of any domestic vehicle is far better than even more expensive imports. The large Ford and GM cars are the best built and most reliable cars on Earth. I'd take a Mercury Marquis over a Mercedes any day. And no Japanese car comes remotely close to Ford or GM in quality and rugged reliability.

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis LS V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

A great auto

Faults:

Plastic molded intake manifold failed at about 65000 miles. It was replaced with a new design that had an aluminum insert for the engine coolant crossover flow.

Headlight lenses, made of plastic, became excessively crazed and were replaced at 83000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable auto, it always starts and goes.

Battery lasted for 6 years, love Ford batteries, they seem to go on forever.

Smooth riding and comfortable car with a lot of power for passing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2005

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles

Summary:

A great family car on road trips

Faults:

Tires wore out after 35000 miles.

Passenger window switch broke.

Ball joints broke after 45000 miles.

Tie rod replaced

Brakes replaced.

General Comments:

Overall the car is very reliable and rides very smoothly. The trunk is huge and the back seat is comfortable even for adults.

The seats are roomy, the heat and air conditioning are strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6 litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Best automotive bargain there is

Faults:

Door handles on both doors have pulled off.

Seat belt retractors getting sticky.

Has begun to knock and ping when air conditioner is run and weather is hot.

General Comments:

Trunk as big as all outdoors- serious, monstrous trunk.

Large car for large people.

One of the last rear-wheel drive cars left.

Will get up and go it it has to- handles well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2002

22nd Feb 2005, 16:02

Have and induction flush done on the engine=carbon cleaning. Get done at Dealership $110-this may help the spark knock. It did mine.

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6L from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance59566 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Comfort

Faults:

Automatic system on the windows is very sensitive to failing and it broke.

General Comments:

The car is very nice on streets. It's very comfortable, but a little bit expensive on gas.

I recommend this car to people who need comfort and a very nice ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

18th Jun 2012, 17:33

The Grand Marquis is a great CAR!!!

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 4.6L
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great car. Optional performance package adds nice wheels, stiffer suspension, and dual exhaust. A sport/power option is needed ala Marauder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews