1999 Mercury Grand Marquis GS V8 from North America


Decent value in a large sedan


Directional signal broke at 50,000 miles.

Brake lights failed at 50,00 miles.

Rear defroster worked off & on from the beginning... failed altogether at about 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

A fairly good value overall.

Not as much performance as you would expect in a V8 but I understand the LS model is a little peppier.

The rear wheel drive was TERRIBLE in the New England snow with all-season radials, but much better after installing steel-studded rear tires and putting some weight in the trunk.

Roomy front seat. Relatively comfortable ride. (though the rear seat doesn't offer as much leg-room as you would expect.

Annoying rattles on any bumps.

Problem with directional signal and brakelights at the same time. Mechanic told me he has seen this a few times with the Grand Marquis as a result of "electrical shorts." The labor to find these electrical shorts can be expensive. Cost me three visits to the mechanic (3rd time free) and $650 to get my directional & brake lights fixed.

Overall, despite the electrical wiring issue... a very good deal for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

15th Jun 2004, 18:21

Odd. I drove mine through 18" of snow in South Dakota with Regatta 2 tires... and outperformed most FWD cars here. It ain't 4-wheel drive you know.

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis LS With Export Handling Packag 4.6 Liter V8 with dual exhuast from Kuwait


Best bang for the buck so to speak


Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Overall, an excellent car. Handling is brill for a car it's size. Acceleration is great and A/C cools real well.


- Dust getting into area behind plastic cover in front of gauges.

- Brakes sometimes squeak when applied, even though no problems exist with brakes... told becuase of heat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2002

17th Nov 2006, 02:14

The gentleman's grand marquis does indeed have the "export handling package" as he indicates. Panther platform cars shipped to the middle east are equipped differently from US spec models. All are equipped with dual exhausts, metric speed/odometers and Arabic warning labels. The export handling package differs from the US HPP in that it does not include dual exhaust, as these are standard on all cars, and it includes a 2.73 or 3.08 (Depending on year) highway axle rather than the 3.27 or 3.55 performance axle on US HPP's. This is based on the type of driving done in that part of the world. Before you tell someone that they are wrong about their own car, get the facts!!

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis LS V8 from North America


V8, rear wheel drive, and priced at 20K - an excellent buy for what you get in the vehicle


Very reliable, no problems. However the brakes have always squealed as if they need to be replaced since new.

General Comments:

Handles very well, very comfortable for someone who has had back surgery - my reason for buying vs the Camaro which is definitely not for someone with back problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6L from North America


A high performance machine!


The only fault this car has is that the door handles loosen easily.

General Comments:

This is the best handling large luxury car that I have ever owned. I opted for the handling package and this car is awesome! Winding roads are no problem! Hugs every turn with ease. This car has great power and great acceleration. If you have this car a radar detector is a must to keep yourself out of some serious trouble with the heat! I would definitely purchase this car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

15th Jun 2004, 18:17

Put Bilstein shocks and Addco Sway Bars and Bushings in and you will be amazed how you can keep up with most BMWs on the twisty bit. :-)

21st Feb 2007, 23:10

Wow, your odometer rolls backward I wish mine did too I have 240 000 KMS on my CVPI.