1999 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6L V8 from North America


Highly recommend it - especially if you can find a good used one


ABS and traction control lights went on 10 days after removing front brake pads to check on wear. Probably blown wheel speed sensor. This was at 129k miles. Will take to dealer for repair since private shops don't seem to be equipped to handle this problem.

Replaced air intake bypass control valve at 115,000 miles. Cost $55 and did the work myself. $150 job at dealer. Car would start then immediately die unless you held the throttle down which forced the valve to open (it was sticking). They can't be easily cleaned as this is an electrical part.

Has plastic intake manifold which could be a problem down the road. All US makers used these in late 90's.

Other than that, 86k miles trouble free since purchase.

General Comments:

Love the smooooth ride! Lots of power from 4.6L V8. Huge trunk. I drive 25K miles per year and this car keeps me from being beaten up by the roads. Great looking. Has an occasional rattle in the right front air bag area. Seems to happen with passenger in that seat only. Gets 25 mpg on the highway. Traction control necessary with rear wheel drive. Bought it at 7 yrs old for 1/3 price of new one and it was like new. Grand Mark's should not be purchased new as depreciation in first year is serious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2009

14th Nov 2009, 14:13

150 dollars for an IAC at a Ford dealer? Mine went out at 43,000 miles and I paid 365 dollars. Subtracting diagnostic charge it would have been 265, the part was 130 dollars alone.

5th May 2011, 18:29

Wow. Can't believe someone wanted $365 for part + labor! Job was easy to do as it is on top of the engine near the firewall.

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6 from North America


The Best Car Money Could Buy!


Just Regular things

Hoses, intake manifold, raditor fan

Nothing Major Considering Mileage.

General Comments:

This car amazes me every day!

This is actually my dads car, but I love it so much I just had to write a review about it. We have owned it since 2000.

I took my drivers test in it.

I have always loved the grand marquis since I could remember. All my friend love their Civics and want Corvettes, but I'm happy with a fully loaded 99 grand marquis!

Never had a transmisson or engine problem because it is always serviced when needed.

I am a Police Cadet and love driving the Grand Marquis to work because it looks like the real thing!

It does better on gas than my Thunderbird and VW Golf!

My father will never get rid of this car!

Hopefully it will see the 500k mark on the original engine and transmission!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis LS Roadster 4.6V8 from North America


The family car that senior citizens love and treasure the most!!!


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This was my father's car. My father, who has since been put into a nursing home, can no longer drive anymore. So he told me that I could have it for free.

My 1987 Grand Marquis had 177000 miles on it before the motor went on it, and I had that car since new. So when it came to put my father in the nursing home, I asked my sister if she wanted the car, and she told me to keep it to replace my old 1987 Grand Marquis.

Since my mother died 2 years ago, and my father is not a well man, I felt that I needed the car badly. Since I got the car not too long ago, it has been trouble free, fully inspected, and rides like a dream!

This Grand Marquis Roadster is all black with the gold package that I really think makes the car look snazzy. It was recently washed, waxed, and detailed to perfection. My wife and I keep it in our garage, and never use it in the rain, ice, or snow. Even our 3 grandchildren love this car!

It's so roomy inside, and the trunk alone is bigger than the one that was in my 1987 model. My father kept it in his garage at all times.

Recently, my wife and I took the car up to the nursing home to see my father. And when he saw his former baby all shined up, he smiled like crazy. We even took him out in it, and it brought tears to his eyes. He still misses the car, but it's his son that now owns it, and truly loves it.

So if you are thinking of owning one of the cars, look for one with low miles on it, and was well kept like this one was. These are excellent family cars that are also great road trip cars. No wonder why a lot of senior citizens like these big cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

23rd Oct 2007, 13:33

Amen to that sir!

I'm 19 years old and love the Grand Marquis!

My dad owns a 1999 with 370,000 on it!

It still runs as great as the day he brought it home!

14th Jan 2008, 22:12

One thing,

I'm sure your grand marquis is great. Your father really must have takn great care of it.

How is it in anyway a ROADSTER!!!

Roadsters are small, sporty cars.

Not cars the size of the Titantic.

Great review. I really liked it.