2004 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6L V8 from North America

Summary:

Great car and great value

Faults:

Axle seal replacement.

Needed one new engine coil.

Peeling paint that was repainted.

General Comments:

I have had my 2004 MERCURY GRAND MARQUIS since it was new, and I tell you the truth, that I love this car as much as the day I took proud delivery of it.

It now has 74K, and runs and rides as great as brand new. I love the ride and comfort with that oh so nice sounding V8.

I truly wish FORD was not going to discontinue this car, but the market is what it is, so when the time comes, the FORD TAURUS will probably be my first choice, with the CHEVROLET IMPALA a distant second choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2010

21st Jun 2010, 22:21

The Panther cars will be available "used" for many years to come.

2nd Apr 2012, 18:45

I also like my 2004 Grand Marquis, my second Grand Marquis. It has 121000 miles now. I had to change the manifold and the heat regulator door, costing me $1000. The paint though, is starting to peel off, and I will need a paint job soon. Otherwise, it rides great, and the sound system is very good. Like you, I wish Ford had not discontinued the model.

4th Apr 2012, 14:17

It is true that Panther cars will be available used for years to come, however they will get rarer and rarer every year, as well as just plain older. The cars I like and grew up with, late 1960s through 1980s cars, are now very difficult to find, and mostly too old for daily transportation. One way or another, one of these days we'll all be driving plastic front-wheel drive garbage.

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis LS V8 from North America

Summary:

Great!!

Faults:

Since 1997, I have owned 4 Mercury Grand Marquis LS & have enjoyed each one of them. They have been the best cars I have ever owned, & I would continue buying them if they would continue to be manufactured.

People that ride in my car says it's like riding on a cloud & they love it. I have always driven this size car, & it has been very good on gas mileage, & has very good power, when needed.

I love my Mercurys!!!

General Comments:

The Marquis handles very well.

I love the roomy inside & trunk space, & it is very comfortable.

I have enjoyed the lumbar driver's seat & tilt steering wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2010

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6 V8 from North America

Summary:

It's an excellent family car to travel with kids

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The handling is very smooth as is the acceleration and auto gear-shift.

I get 20mpg city and 27 mpg highway.

The breaking is excellent.

I bought two pairs of mud-guards for $6 each and installed them myself. Looks great and does a good job.

I wish there were a few more extra features that would come standard on this car like programmable door locks, traction control and tire pressure monitor which are what I miss from my Alero.

The one thing I still don't understand is when I go over even a small bump the rear rocks back and forth sharply. Is this common and normal?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2005

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6L V8 from North America

Summary:

A working mans town car

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with the grand marquis. It's a big comfortable car. I'm looking forward to taking trips in it this summer. At first it looks like a grandpa car, but once I tinted the windows, changed the factory radio out, and put a set of 20's on it it looked like a whole new car. It kinda resembles the marauder, but the marquis has a lot more chrome on it. Plenty of room inside. Very comfortable seats. Gas mileage is OK, but you have to remember it is a V8. Performance wise its not too fast, but I really wasn't looking for that. I would say for what you pay,which for me was about $20,000, is well worth it. It does kinda suck in snow though. The heating and air conditioning blower could have been a little more powerful. I hope this car will last 200,000 miles because I know when this one goes to hell I'll buy another one or maybe even move up to the lincoln town car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2005

22nd Feb 2005, 22:38

Your car and the 1995 crown vic guys review car will EASILY last 300,000 miles. I have a 1992 Grand marquis with 115,000 I almost have put 10,000 miles on it since I bought it in june 04 and nothing has gone wrong, but the water pump and the headlight switch. I'll put a review when I hit the 10,000 mile mark. I've seen a 1995 Grand Marquis with 425000 miles it still ran. May your cars serve you well just as mine has.