1996 Mercury Mystique Reviews - Page 8 of 14

1996 Mercury Mystique GS from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance94500 miles

Summary:

This car really frustrates me

Faults:

74000 new tires.

77800 car begins to randomly stall.

80000 driver's side auto. window motor begins to fail.

82500 air conditioning vents on driver & passenger side (not center) fail to work.

85500 gas tank lid becomes very difficult to open (push button in car works after about 40 tries)

87500 new tires...again.

*Car gets poor gas fuel economy for its size

*cupholders are too small and easily breakable

*seats are uncomfortable

*too many gadgets/features in the car are prone to failure

*accelerates POORLY.

General Comments:

Is semi-reliable once you get it out on the road.

Gets decent mileage on interstate.

Handles decent in snow and poor weather.

Spacious trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

26th May 2005, 19:57

Yea I've heard this car and its twin the contour are nothing, but junk and headaches...that's something for a car that was suppose to be Fords "world" car-

31st May 2005, 09:50

Oh I forgot to mention in my review that the trunk leaks and that 2nd into third gear is now a really hard shift.

24th Jun 2005, 18:49

Mine leaks too. Whats up with that?

2nd Oct 2006, 14:51

I have a 1996 Mercury Mystique GS, Car would stall while I am still driving it. I had it in the shop for tune up. All the plugs were cleaned. Car would still stall. Iam afraid of getting hit. I can't afford to buy another car at this time.

1996 Mercury Mystique LE from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Seems like a real lemon to me

Faults:

Transmission acts up at 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

Bought car used for my daughter at 90,000 miles. Seemed to run OK, and got good mileage. Now at 120,000 miles the transmission is acting up.

Sometimes it runs OK until stopping at light or stop sign, then transmission won't engage. Shut off engine, wait a couple seconds and restart and it will go again until you come to another stop, then it might go, or not. Would seem to me, to be a sensor or computer malfunction.

Took it to transmission shop. They said they said they couldn't tell what the problem was until they tore it apart. Once they do that, we're stuck either fixing or junking it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2005

1996 Mercury Mystique GS 2.0 V tech from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 V tech Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carMercury Mystique

Summary:

GOod car

Faults:

Alternator went bad..

Had to get new tires..

Paint pilling on hood.

General Comments:

Well at first the battery light came on and I thought it was the alternator and had it replaced and the problem still exsited. so I had to take it to a shop and it took the guy a long time to figure it out, but it was the fuse box. it had gone bad and I had re-wired the car wrong when I tried to fix it my self.. I had it where when I turned the lights on the car would start!! Took awhile to get going again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th March, 2005

1996 Mercury Mystique from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Previous carMercury Mystique

Summary:

I would equal this car to... actually I don't think anything could be this bad

Faults:

My check engine light is always on.

My thermostat stuck causing overheating and a blown hose.

My rear lights fill with water.

My trunk leaks when it rains.

The car stalls for no apparent reason.

Both the starter and solenoid went bad and now I'm seriously considering getting rid of it.

The cheap plastics in the interior have started to come off.

The carpet came off.

The car has this annoying tick and not even the mechanic knows where its coming from.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable and stylish.

However the car is sluggish and has way too much road noise leaking into the interior.

This car is proof that Ford/ Mercury have no pride in their products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

28th Feb 2005, 10:03

Knowing this is the same basic car as the Contour by Ford, were you involved with all of the recalls like I had on my 1996 Ford Contour? My model had the V-6, and in the three years I owned it, it had at least 8 recalls! What a poor product that should never have been placed into production.

2nd Oct 2005, 22:31

Could you possibley tell me what the recalls are I own a 96 Mercury Mystique LS and I figure.. the recalls would be the same for both of them.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 42 reviews