1998 Mercury Mystique Reviews - Page 7 of 12

1998 Mercury Mystique LS V4 2.5 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V4 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Best car I ever owned

Faults:

Only my service light which was a recall on the little thing in the filler neck pipe.

And blower motor for heater replaced at 10000 miles.

General Comments:

The car handles well.

Looks good and paint has help.

No rust and Just plain out great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

2nd Mar 2008, 14:40

A camaro to a mystique?

1998 Mercury Mystique SE from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance142000 kilometres

Faults:

Accelerated out of no where the first winter I purchased it. Ended up in the ditch.

Just stalled and won't start. Still in the shop. Won't turn over even by hand.

General Comments:

Good on gas, easy to drive and park.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

5th Nov 2004, 07:57

Did you know that there was a recall on the Mystique? The accelarator Pedal that could cause the accelerator not to return to idle when the pedal is released.

1998 Mercury Mystique GS 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62700 miles
Most recent distance62919 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Have not had it long enough to form a strong opinion yet

Faults:

Water leaks into the trunk and comes out the lights when lifting lid.

Thumping noise in the trunk area or under trunk area while driving on any bumpy road.

Check engine light came on 1 1/2 weeks after purchase.

No power going uphill especially if air is on.

General Comments:

Power is good on the flat.

However it has no power going uphill.

Comfortable seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

28th Jan 2005, 06:14

Since You purchased a car with a 4 cylinder engine with only 2 litre displacement (for example of how small this is, a Jeep 4 cylinder has twice the displacement 4.0 litres) I would suggest that since you bought a used car with 60 K miles and more you have it checked over by a good reliable mechanic, and change every fluid and filter in it from engine and transmission lubricants to brake fluid and engine coolant, air, oil and fuel filters. That way you get what little performance the econo engine can offer, and minimize the breakdown factor. The trunk leak is not a fatal flaw and can be eliminated with some observation and testing with a garden hose.

9th Feb 2006, 21:23

Try mounting the spare tire and jack to fix the thumping in the trunk, as for the low power, it is after all a 4000 pound car with a 2.0Lt. four cylinder with the check engine light on. Look at the mass air flow sensor and see if there is a small amount of material built up on it, if so carefully pick if off, MAF sensor is very easily damaged. It is held on with two locking torque head screws and located on the breather tube. My Mystique had the check engine light on and had low power and was getting 20 mpg, that turned out to be the problem. Now it has noticealby more power and gets 24 to 26 mpg in town and around 30 mpg on the highway.

1998 Mercury Mystique LE from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

I can't believe these problems! I wish I could get rid if it!

Faults:

This is year four of my ownership of this car and the trouble is just beginning. I have not been able to pass the emissions test because the engine light keeps coming on. The mechanic has tried and tried to fix the car, but each time, a new code comes up on the computer and the engine light comes back on! When the car is idle, it sounds like an airplane about to take off. When I shift gears, the car lurches forward. It always smells like something is burning. I fear that this is just the beginning and I am terrified. I just paid it off and I have no warranty. Now, the money I thought I would be saving, will go to the repair shop.

Next time I buy a car, I will not be hurried. I will do research first!

General Comments:

Ford really should provide assistance to us owners of this vehicle. When they informed us of the discontinuation of this car, they should have provided us with the reasons why. At the least, we would not be caught off guard by all of these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2004

8th Jun 2004, 17:36

I just bought mine used and I am having the same problem. I have only had it for three days. I did a little research on-line and a website said the problem is very common in the 1998 model.

30th Jul 2004, 17:17

I also have the unfortunate fate to buy a used Mercury Mystique. Car looked great at first, but after 3 days of having it the dealer's voodoo magic disappeared and all hell broke lose! Car hesitates once in a while; I also have experienced dangerous surges in intersections; one time I was crusing when I noticed the speedometer climbing rapidly without accelerating from the pedal! Those Mexicans must be clowning around in their Ford Plant when they built this!No wonder they stopped the Mystique.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 41 reviews