1998 Mercury Mystique Reviews - Page 9 of 12

1998 Mercury Mystique GS 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Piece of junk and a complete waste of money

Faults:

I have had to replace the transmission, thermostat, air conditioner, and a few very expensive parts I cannot recall. There has been numerous recalls. The carpet was installed improperly. The paint chipped and the gas mileage is terrible.

General Comments:

Don't buy this car it is a piece of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

1998 Mercury Mystique LX V6 24 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 24 valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45120 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Solid and good value

Faults:

Trunk release broken when new, fixed by dealer no charge

Have had to replace brakes & tires (normal wear)

3 factory recalls (minor stuff) in life of this car, all performed no charge by dealer after they notified me.

Starter sometimes does not engage (frequency, about once every 10 weeks) You have to fiddle with the shift to "bump" it into position. Probably missing tooth in starter gear.

Some minor rust starting at front door bottoms, but hey, I live in New England.

General Comments:

Amidst all the bad reviews here, I really love my Mystique.

The V6 is powerful, the car has never left me stranded, and in the 5 years, 45K miles I've put on it, it has been a gem.

I change the oil every 3000 miles, and have the shop go over it every so often.

My dealer has been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2003

10th Jan 2004, 08:23

Did you ever get the starting problem fixed?

I am having the same problem with my 99 Mystique.

4th Aug 2004, 19:26

I have the same problem with my 98 Mystique... did you find a solution to this issue?

Thanks.

12th Nov 2004, 07:09

I never had a problem with my Mystique starting (although the engine overheated in city driving, and the transmission was terrible), it started right up every time without fail. I also agree about the V6 version of this car. It is faster than you'd think. It accelerates almost as well as my far more powerful (270 horsepower) V8 lincoln. The Mystique also handles very well. It's got a limiter in it at 110, but I'm sure it could go faster. I love the wide tires that mine had too. It really seemed like a smaller version of my Lincoln Continental. A smaller, and crappier version.

1998 Mercury Mystique SE 4-banger from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4-banger Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance191000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

All in all this car is the ultimate piece of crap

Faults:

1. Brakes replaced two months after purchase

2. Both front coil springs - recall

3. One tune-up.

4. Tie rods replaced.

5. Back bearings

6. Back struts

7. Alignment never right

8. Driver's door won't unlock with key, seal has peeled back from glass, allowing moisture in.

9. Trunk won't unlock - rusted out.

10. Water pours into trunk upon opening after rain.

11. Radio will turn on, but won't allow you to change channel or volume, must turn car off, remove key and reinsert

12. Power door won't work for passenger side

13. "mad flasher" turn signal - electrical short somewhere.

General Comments:

The most underpowered piece of junk ever acquired. Must drive into the ground in order to recoup initial purchase price. Some positives, including decent on gas, large trunk and very comfortable seats which make you feel like you are sitting up a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2003

17th Jan 2004, 07:06

About the turn signal, I had a 98 Contour with the "Mad Flasher" problem. I thought, OK short somewhere. But I decided to go into the trunk and peel off the carpeting and I saw the real bulb on the driver's side was very very loose. I tightened it and fiddled with it and got it tight again. (I would recommend leaving the signal on while doing this b/c if you don't do it right you'll make it loose again) Once this was done, it worked great. Untill the next RR Crossing. Popped loose again. This happened for about a year before I said screw it, it can stay loose. To my surprise it popped its self back in a week before I sold the car. Contour is all crap. Once I got my 18th recall, I dumped it. Now I see why Ford quit making the Contour and kept the Escort going a little while longer, Instead of doing dumping the Escort and keeping the Contour. Hell, Saturn was more reliable than the P.O.S..

14th Nov 2007, 10:42

About the water leak: it is from the lights on the trunk. Look and you will see a 1/8 to 1/4 inch gap between the plastic and metal. Probably tight when new, but I think the plastic deforms in the sun and heat.

I fixed it with clear silicone caulk. Not the prettiest fix, but effective.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 41 reviews