1998 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1998 Mercury Sable LS 3.0 24v DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance71800 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

A high performance American car for a family

Faults:

I had to replace both front end Ti rods, Rear stabilizer link, and front ball bearing. Other than that I haven't had to do anything with it. I am starting to notice that the interior lights and door ajar like to stay on (odd). Before I bought the car, it had all new brakes and rotors put on for the 2nd time. The transmission was also replaced. Other than that...that's all I know about.

General Comments:

This car has got some power under the hood. I love the get up and go. The 2-tone leather and auto climate control is nice. Love the exterior keypad. My next is the SHO Taurus. Basically the same except for a few minor things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

1998 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Very comfortable despite faults

Faults:

The door ajar light stays on continuously.

Transmission light indicated a problem with the speed sensor.

Transmission still shifts hard to other gears.

General Comments:

I removed the relay for the door lights to save on battery life. I suspect it might be the relay shorting out. I have one on order and will update when I replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

7th Aug 2006, 17:27

Door ajar lights can be fixed by spraying WD-40 into the door latches liberally on these cars. Cheap, fast, and effective.

1998 Mercury Sable LS Station Wagon 3.0 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A spacious, practical, and comfortable barge

Faults:

Nothing yet, but I've only had the car seven months.

General Comments:

This car has so far been faultlessly reliable.

The car's only real weakness is that it is not particularly quick considering it has a 3.0 litre engine. Sometimes I wish it had a bit more power.

It also doesn't handle as well as my old BMW 525i, but then I didn't expect it to. Anyway, I bought the Mercury because it is rare and different and I wanted the extra cargo space it provides.

The interior of this Station Wagon model is absolutely cavernous.

I also appreciate the soft ride of my Mercury: This really is an improvement on the BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

1998 Mercury Sable GS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Surprisingly Sporty, Luxurious and Reliable!

Faults:

Service Engine Light Stays On

Cassette Player is no good - jammed.

General Comments:

I am really happy with my Sable. My last car was a Taurus, and I expected the Sable to be a duplicate. It isn't! The Sable is a lot sportier and has a more luxurious feel to it. It has what I call a "hurricane under the hood" meaning quick acceleration is not a problem. I can maintain high speeds with no vibration. Coth interior is wearing well as is exterior paint and moldings. Overall, I am pleased with the car and would recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

1998 Mercury Sable LS 24v 6 cylinder DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 24v 6 cylinder DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance150300 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

This ain't no grandpa's car!

Faults:

I have been really lucky to not have any things go wrong with my vehicle. The only things that I've had to replace were rotors, turn signal switch and tires. My fuel pump is starting to go bad, but keep in mind I have 150,300 miles on my car. Not bad huh??

General Comments:

I absolutely LOVE my car. It's my baby. It's more powerful than a lot of the cars out there, my friends always tell me that I have the best car they've ever seen. It rides like it's on rails (no joke!) The leather seats I could do without... only because it goes from freezing to hot in a matter of hours. No rust, no engine problems.. this car is perfect, it's a dream!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

1998 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 Vulcan from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

Affordable luxury

Faults:

The oil pan gasket had to be replaced at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of bang for the buck. Considering the price, you get a lot of car for your money. It is hard to find a car this size with as many standard features as the Sable, with a low price.

The Mercury Sable is a great car, and I highly recommend it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

1998 Mercury Sable LS 3.0 vulcan from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

An affordable luxurious car.

Faults:

The door ajar sensor in the rear driver's side door sometimes doesn't recognize the door being closed. I had to replace the thermostat when I bought it at about 120,000 miles, this is cheap and easy. My biggest problem was when I wanted to install an after market C.D. player. The actual radio is in the trunk and the factory radio is a odd shape, so I had to buy a long wiring harness and installation kit.

General Comments:

Very comfortable interior. The engine runs a little louder than other vehicles.

Acceleration is not instantly powerful when you press on the pedal, but after a second it will kick down pretty nice.

I like the exterior looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

1st Jul 2003, 07:58

Spray WD-40 inside the latch on each door. The sensor is inside the latch, and when it gets dirty it sticks.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 17 reviews