1999 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1999 Mercury Sable GS 3.0L V6 Duratec engine from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Duratec engine Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

A very durable car

Faults:

My alternator went bad at 88,500 miles. I also had to replace my battery at this time.

General Comments:

This car saved my life. The seatbelt held me in one place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

1999 Mercury Sable from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Job security for your local garage!

Faults:

Transmission blew out at 70,000.

Car makes constant chugging noise 90,000.

Speedometer stopped working at 120,000.

Sometimes passenger side front seat window won't go down at times.

Windshield wipers sometimes turn on when you don't expect it.

General Comments:

The car is like a Milk Dud: Sweet on the outside, bad under the inside..

I have to say a prayer that I can make it to work in the morning.

I have heard old locomotives that sound better than this.

It is a good car for someone who has a lot of money to pour into it for repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

19th May 2006, 14:00

Same here, windshield wipers turned on by themselves at times and the dealer could not repair the problem. Shocking when it would happen.

Lots of problem with the steering box and tie rods and ball joints. Luckily I had the extended warranty, still many times to the dealer for this front end problem.

The dealer broke my antennae when courtesy washing our car and put it back half ass, I caught the sneaky attendant doing this, yet the manager made me pay for a new one saying that it had rusted out.

Then water started to come into the passenger area and got the carpet soaked, and so before it would start to smell bad, I looked to sell it. But what I got was ridiculous for a six year old car. Even the Ford dealership I bought it from offered me a fraction of it's perceived value.

It's gone now and I am a Toyota owner. This car ended my 30+ year Ford streak of cars. So long Ford hope you make it.

1999 Mercury Sable LS V24 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V24 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Better have a big savings account to cover all the unpredictable repairs.

Faults:

All since 70,000 miles--

Replace multifunction switch for wipers.

Replace the ABS pump.

Replace the steering rack, which in turn affected my power steering pump.

Just replaced numerous gaskets, due to leaks.

General Comments:

The car was working wonderful until 70,000 and I have had one thing after another go wrong.

Luckily I invested in the extended warranty when I bought it used. It has so far saved me almost $4,000 in the last month.

I am very apprehensive of even driving it anymore for fear of another "problem."

The dealership told me they haven't seen problems like this, -- I won't buy another mercury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

1999 Mercury Sable LS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carGM Pontiac

Summary:

Extremely low performance

Faults:

Purchase car July 2001.

November 2001, need new rotors.

February 2002, Fuel pump and rack malfunctioning.

February 2002, Fuel pump and rack malfunctioning.

November 2001 to present: many sensors malfunctioning.

February 2003: Transmission malfunctioning.

February 2003 to July 2003: Continuous transmission problems.

General Comments:

Even thought this car looks great, it is a very unreliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 16 reviews