1993 Mercury Topaz Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1993 Mercury Topaz Grand Sport XR5 2.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Reliable as a tank!

Faults:

Tires at 98 000.

Brakes at 144 000.

Front shocks at 144 000.

Clutch at 148 000.

2 right side rims at 148 000.

2 water pumps at 149 000.

Rear shocks at 147 000.

Muffler gone at 148 000.

No body rust at all!

Pulleys rattle and fuel pump make noticeable humming noise.

General Comments:

This car is slow, handles like a shopping cart and I have nothing good to say about it except that I deliver pizza in it and I am really hard on it. This is the most reliable car I ever had. And it can really take a hit without the result of much damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

1993 Mercury Topaz GS 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Nothing more reliable

Faults:

Harmonic balancer at 40,000.

General Comments:

This is a good car when bought new and taken care of, I'm still riding around on the factory clutch.

Great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

3rd Feb 2003, 17:00

He must have got the only one they built properly, with specially selected parts.

13th Jul 2010, 12:30

"He must have got the only one they built properly, with specially selected parts."

Mine has also been flawless for 17 years.

1993 Mercury Topaz 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Not a powerhorse, but a great car!

Faults:

Well, I had one problem... I never had it checked because it hasn't happened again. It was a hot day and I was on the highway... the car started to seem like it wanted to fail. Once I got off the highway and went through the stoplight it died. It would not start. I had it towed 2 miles to a service station where it fired right up. No problems since then. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

1993 Mercury Topaz GS 2.3L Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3L Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

Lifelasting problem, Topaz stinks, don't buy it

Faults:

Exhaust and muffler replaced - 12/98

Engine stalled and overhauled - 03/99

Transmission replaced - 07/99

Right front hub bearing failed - 02/00

Front brakes and discs failed - 04/00

Antifreeze leaking out/radiator - 05/00

Clunking noise from front wheels - 06/00

Catalytic converter hissing - 06/00

Stalling caused by bad idling speed - 06/00

General Comments:

Boring, horrible, disappointing car that leaves you stressed out and with no money. Constant headache, every day something goes wrong with it, problematic, hard to troubleshoot and to fix, expensive to maintain, parts cheap but wear out fast. Do not buy one of these, you will make a big mistake in your life just like I did. Hard to get rid of. You can't go anywhere out of town with it, it will complain and stall and keep breaking down. I am very fed up with it and you would be too.

Folks, don't spend money on a piece of junk like the Mercury Topaz, it will make you go nuts and leave you broke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

29th May 2001, 18:14

Just about everyone else gave it a good review but you, I think you just got a bad apple, a Friday night or Monday morning special. My uncle has one and it's been a good car with few problems.

24th Jun 2001, 10:39

My mom bought a 93 Topaz earlier this year. It is one of the biggest pieces of crap I have ever had the displeasure of trying to fix. I would also suggest not buying one of these cars.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews