1997 Mercury Villager GS from North America


It's a good van, but it has its problems


As of July 9th 2004 my 1997 Mercury Villager has been at the dealer. They are really having a hard time trying to figure out why the check engine light keeps coming on about every 50-100 miles. They think that they got the problem fixed and then the light comes back on. They have had the van for almost two (2) months and have not got a clue what could be wrong with it. Any idea's? they have checked everything, including haveing ford rep. from detroit to come and look at it as well.

General Comments:

This is really a good van.

However it does have its problems so be aware!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2004

21st Sep 2004, 15:04

I also have that van and the same problem which cannot be resolved so I just cut a piece of black electrical tape and put it over that annoying light prob solved.

3rd Oct 2004, 20:50

We Also owned the same van. The dealership had ours for almost 2 months for the same engine light trouble, they got it to go off, only to have it come back on while on our way back home (35 miles away). But by then the dealership was already closing, so they said pull over, shut it off and let it cool, we may wreck the engine. So Tuesday Morning, we had to towed back, they said it was the Transmission sensor. We finally go that van back and let it go for whatever we could get out of it, it only had 19,000 miles on it. Good luck--hope you get it fixed, otherwise I suggest get rid of it.

1997 Mercury Villager from North America


Best car I ever owned


No problems with Engine/Transmission after 195,000 km (120,000 miles) + counting. I believe this is a Nissan Quest engine.

A/C quit 2 years ago (2002) and repair item was for 1,800.00 so I did not repair and can live with short summers.

Electrical lights and relays a problem. Door latches (especially side door). Seat belt mechanism a problem.

General Comments:

Body in great shape (no rust). Engine performance/gas mileage is good. Not the best in accelerating from stop, but handles well in highway and can drive at high speeds with good stability.

Originally had problems starting in cold damp winter, but then found that by using high grade gasoline during those months alleviated cold start problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

1997 Mercury Villager GS 3.0 Litre from North America


Great van, but just too many small expensive problems.


The air conditioning quit about 2 years ago. This was going to cost over $1500 to get replaced. I have decided to live without.

The ABS and 02 sensors are gone and haven't replaced them. Too expensive and no need for them. Quoted almost $1000 to fix.

Many electrical problems in the dash. Lights not lighting up and/or flickering on and off.

Hates winters. Starting it in the winter is a pain it hesitates badly or just keeps stalling on start up.

General Comments:

The engine and transmission are very smooth and I have never had a problem with them.

This van rides beautifully on the highway. It also handles incredibly well at high speeds.

Very expensive repair costs, and many repairs at that. Some parts have to be brought in from Japan because it uses components from Nissan.

Back seats are tight and too low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

22nd Mar 2004, 08:18

Had similar problems.

Found remedy for starting car in winter. Use high premium gas!!!

1997 Mercury Villager GS 3.0 from North America


An All-Around Nice Van


I've only owned this car for a month or so, but in that short period of time, nothing has gone wrong with this van.

When I purchased it, I did a complete tune up and checked it out and it is in very good shape from top to bottom.

General Comments:

This is a very attractive van. I like how the tail lights give it a luxury van look with the attractive light bar across the back.

My van is a teal blue/green. It is a very pretty color. I also like the attractive chrome grille in the front to match the word "Mercury Villager GS" which are also in chrome.

I would recommend this vehicle to somebody on the market for a used van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

1997 Mercury Villager GS 3.0L V6 from North America


A well made high end estate wagon


O2 sensor replaced at 95000 km.

Brakes replaced at 111000 km.

Front passenger power window no longer can be lowered from drivers seat.

Power lock on the sliding door sticks and usually has to be unlocked manually.

General Comments:

Leg room for driver is quite poor. I don't know what you would do without power seats.

Middle seat is a real pain to take out.

Paint is very soft and scratches easily.

Handles and performs very well for a mini-van.

Captain chairs are very comfortable.

Fabulous engine.

Drives well in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

29th Apr 2003, 10:32

I have a 1997 Merc Villager GS- is has 70,000 miles. The check engine turns on and off periodically . Have any one had the same problem?

28th Apr 2004, 20:05

The check engine light needs to be checked to determine the actual problem. I would reccomend going to auto zone for a free check up or visit the dealer for a 100 average check up. Once you know the problems you will be better off. FYI the light usually means O2 sensor or TPS sensor. oxygen sensor and throttle position sensor.