1997 Mercury Villager from North America

Summary:

Best car I ever owned

Faults:

No problems with Engine/Transmission after 195,000 km (120,000 miles) + counting. I believe this is a Nissan Quest engine.

A/C quit 2 years ago (2002) and repair item was for 1,800.00 so I did not repair and can live with short summers.

Electrical lights and relays a problem. Door latches (especially side door). Seat belt mechanism a problem.

General Comments:

Body in great shape (no rust). Engine performance/gas mileage is good. Not the best in accelerating from stop, but handles well in highway and can drive at high speeds with good stability.

Originally had problems starting in cold damp winter, but then found that by using high grade gasoline during those months alleviated cold start problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

1997 Mercury Villager GS 3.0 Litre from North America

Summary:

Great van, but just too many small expensive problems.

Faults:

The air conditioning quit about 2 years ago. This was going to cost over $1500 to get replaced. I have decided to live without.

The ABS and 02 sensors are gone and haven't replaced them. Too expensive and no need for them. Quoted almost $1000 to fix.

Many electrical problems in the dash. Lights not lighting up and/or flickering on and off.

Hates winters. Starting it in the winter is a pain it hesitates badly or just keeps stalling on start up.

General Comments:

The engine and transmission are very smooth and I have never had a problem with them.

This van rides beautifully on the highway. It also handles incredibly well at high speeds.

Very expensive repair costs, and many repairs at that. Some parts have to be brought in from Japan because it uses components from Nissan.

Back seats are tight and too low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

22nd Mar 2004, 08:18

Had similar problems.

Found remedy for starting car in winter. Use high premium gas!!!

1997 Mercury Villager GS 3.0 from North America

Summary:

An All-Around Nice Van

Faults:

I've only owned this car for a month or so, but in that short period of time, nothing has gone wrong with this van.

When I purchased it, I did a complete tune up and checked it out and it is in very good shape from top to bottom.

General Comments:

This is a very attractive van. I like how the tail lights give it a luxury van look with the attractive light bar across the back.

My van is a teal blue/green. It is a very pretty color. I also like the attractive chrome grille in the front to match the word "Mercury Villager GS" which are also in chrome.

I would recommend this vehicle to somebody on the market for a used van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

1997 Mercury Villager GS 3.0L V6 from North America

Summary:

A well made high end estate wagon

Faults:

O2 sensor replaced at 95000 km.

Brakes replaced at 111000 km.

Front passenger power window no longer can be lowered from drivers seat.

Power lock on the sliding door sticks and usually has to be unlocked manually.

General Comments:

Leg room for driver is quite poor. I don't know what you would do without power seats.

Middle seat is a real pain to take out.

Paint is very soft and scratches easily.

Handles and performs very well for a mini-van.

Captain chairs are very comfortable.

Fabulous engine.

Drives well in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

29th Apr 2003, 10:32

I have a 1997 Merc Villager GS- is has 70,000 miles. The check engine turns on and off periodically . Have any one had the same problem?

28th Apr 2004, 20:05

The check engine light needs to be checked to determine the actual problem. I would reccomend going to auto zone for a free check up or visit the dealer for a 100 average check up. Once you know the problems you will be better off. FYI the light usually means O2 sensor or TPS sensor. oxygen sensor and throttle position sensor.