1989 Merkur XR4Ti Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 Merkur XR4Ti 2Dr Hatchback 2.3L turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles

Summary:

Great balance of comfort, affordability, and performance

Faults:

When I bought the car it was constantly overheating. I installed a Saab 900 radiator, and installed a new pair of 10" cooling fans.

Ran great after that.

General Comments:

Bought the car with brand new suspension. The XR4Ti corners almost as well as the Subaru Impreza WRX (which I have also driven)... and this is only rear wheel drive!!!

The first time I got in the car I stayed off the throttle through 1st gear. When I shifted into 2nd I floored it, and it seemed to go no where. When the RPM stared to climb it really sunk me back in my seat.

The 0-60 isn't the most impressive, but it is the 40-80 that will get you. This is a real Integra killer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2004

21st Jan 2007, 11:26

What you describe is known as "turbo lag". Engine designers have over-come this in the past 10-15 years.

18th Feb 2007, 12:19

There is a device for the XR that will reduce the turbo lag. You can also find out more details about your car from the various on line Merkur owner groups. merkurclub.com & merkursport.com. Also parts at opmd.com.

13th May 2013, 07:37

What is the device called?

1989 Merkur XR4Ti 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carDatsun 280Z

Summary:

Outstanding!

Faults:

The car was running when I bought it, but had major engine problems. I purchased a spare engine with the car and had it installed. During the installation many parts were replaced. Some because of problems and some for preventive reasons.

General Comments:

I owned a 1986 Merkur (purchased in 1988) and loved the car. The performance of my 86 was excellent and it is a fun car to drive. It's not the 120 mph that gets me, it's the 0-60 acceleration. After that, 65 mph on interstates is fine with me.

The car does have things that go wrong with it, but if you're not used to cars like this my advice is don't get involved in them. You have to have a passion for them and be willing to shell out money to fix, repair, replace and prevent mishaps. I have owned several 1950's and 1960's MG's and any owner of these cars have been pre-disastered regarding unreliability. If you love it, you live with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2003

1989 Merkur XR4Ti 2.3 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carMerkur XR4Ti

Summary:

A lot cheaper than a BMW M3, from the same year, with similar performance

Faults:

Replaced the radiator (it still leaks!).

Hoses, ball joints, control arm bushings.

Rotors warp continuously (common Ford problem).

Tail light gaskets leak and short out brake lights. (common problem for this car).

General Comments:

The car is very quick, good acceleration.

I have owned 3 of them, and love them to death.

It is better to buy one that has been well maintained than to buy a "fixer upper" (I know from experience).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

21st Feb 2003, 22:40

Not a comment, but a question, how did you stop the leaks? Please e-mail me, Chris at chriskellyfamily@attbi.com.

1989 Merkur XR4Ti 2.3turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

I waited 15 years to buy this car and love it, despite the problems

Faults:

Radiator hoses.

Break calipers.

Power locks.

Fuel injectors.

General Comments:

Yes, the mileage is correct and origonal... I bought the car in mint condition for $3,300.00 last year... after about 6 months I took it to have the timing and other belts replaced and the shop mis-timed my XR... it has taken over a year to fix their screw up and still it does not run right... any helpful feedback would be great...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

24th Aug 2003, 15:24

I would like to help this person with their car problems. I also have a question for that person in terms of repair. Please email back ASAP.

26th Feb 2005, 01:56

A few things to help with that timing problem.

10*BTC for the Auto's

13*BTC for Manuals.

Also, check the 02 sensor since the bad timing might have fouled the O2 sensor and clogged the cat.

Worth a look.

15th Sep 2005, 10:43

For Merkur parts needs contact blugg@msn.com He carries 1,000s of parts only related to the Merkur XR4Ti and the Merkur Scorpio. New, Used, Restored, Refurbished, or Crash Parts.

1989 Merkur XR4Ti 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMerkur XR4Ti

Summary:

I love the XR

General Comments:

I had never herd of the XR4Ti until a friend traded some car parts for one. I bought it from him and plan to hand it down to my son.

Drives like no other car I have ever driven and I love the leather interior.

I would like to try a 5 speed out since all I have driven is automatics.

The cars were expensive when they came out her in America and now you can get one for $2,500 to $5,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews