2004 MG TF Reviews

2004 MG TF VVT 1.8 from South Africa

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance33800 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car handle's incredibly thanks to the mid engine.

It rides rather hard on the road, but which sports car doesn't.

It is very very quick, and puts a smile on one's face.

It is good looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2010

2004 MG TF 115 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles

Summary:

A good looking, comfortable and value for money open top sports car

Faults:

Rattle inside drivers door.

General Comments:

The car looks great with the hood up or down.

It is nippy rather than quick - only to be expected from a 1600, but it corners well and is terrific fun to drive.

It is economical using about the same amount of fuel as my wifes Punto.

Insurance is also very reasonable.

Build quality and attention to detail (slightly sagging carpets, switch gear) not as good as my Ford Mondeo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st January, 2009

2004 MG TF 135 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carMG TF

Summary:

Looks great in Trophy yellow

Faults:

No Faults.

General Comments:

Excellent drive for a roadster, having owned 6 from various manufacturers it is as good as any.

135 is quick, but no dragster.

Superb comfortable leather seats.

Good value if you shop around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

2004 MG TF Sunstorm 1.8 VVC from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carAudi S4

Summary:

Cute looking and brilliant fun!

Faults:

The front wheels have been catching on the wheel arches when you are on full lock. Prompt attention from my dealer soon sorted this out.

General Comments:

Although I owned an Audi S4 I always wanted an MG so it was said by friends that this was some 'come down' but I love it. Yes, the suspension is firm, but what sports car doesn't have firm suspension. The seats are fine, the dash is simple, but equipped with everything you could possibly need. I have really put this car through it's paces and it has fantastic road holding especially on bends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

2004 MG TF 135 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Raw edgy and great fun to drive

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

I test drove every type of 2 seater on the market, the MR2, Mx5 etc. whilst they were all very nice and had good build quality and high levels of trim, I felt that the fun had been taken away. My MG TF135 felt slightly raw and edgy just what I was looking for. It corners beautifully & although not fast it's quick enough when you hit 3500 RPM. The looks are stunning especially in pearl black, a real head turner. Haven't yet had the roof down, but spring / summer can't come soon enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

14th Apr 2005, 10:33

If you wanted "edgy" why didn't you buy an S2000, you'd have got a decent boot as well?

2004 MG TF 115 open 106 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 106 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous carFord Ka

Summary:

MGTF is stunning and so fun to drive!

Faults:

When I first picked up the car I noticed the passenger side door was squeaking. A little bit of Vaseline has done the trick.

2 days later, I noticed the zip was broken around the rear window and I could put my hand right through to outside of the car. It had to be taken back to the dealer for 1 day and a new hood had to be fitted. Luckily they had a car just like mine in stock and they swapped the hoods over and ordered the new hood for the car they had, rather than mine. (5 week wait otherwise). service was excellent.

General Comments:

I have had my MGTF for 2 weeks now and I love it. It is a stunning looking car and even though I was apprehensive at first about getting one, due to some poor reviews I have read regarding the build quality, I have not looked back.

It is a really fun car to drive (hard to drive at first though).

Seats are comfortable.

Leg room is good for passenger, but not for driver.

Boot is bigger than it looks.

Handling is really good.

I had a KA LUXURY before MGTF and that had every extra you could want i.e. RCL, A/C, heated front and rear windscreens etc... but my MGTF is much more fun to drive (impractical at times, but fun). I do miss my Remote Central Locking.

I love my new car and even though I think the build quality of a Ford is better, nothing compares to the feeling you get when you drive an MGTF! It's like a new toy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2005

28th Jan 2005, 06:02

Expect:

The gearbox to blow.

The head gasket to blow.

The windows to scratch.

The roof to leak,- rusting the car from the inside.

The doors to rattle.

The windows to rattle.

The centre console to rattle.

The seats to jam.

And to receive the most appalling service you could imagine from the dealerships, unless they get paid from MG Rover,- in which case you will get bad quality fitting, and workmanship. In short Don't buy a Rover.

7th Feb 2005, 10:29

I think the above comment may be a bit harsh. I used to own a MGTF 135 (I now own a Clio 182). I never had any major problems with my MG, apart from the clock going backwards and the handling in the wet.

The general build quality was OK, but not great. The engine will be fine, but keep an eye on the coolent levels. If that drops, get it to a garage ASAP.

13th Jul 2005, 05:05

The list of problems mentioned above is a bit harsh. You can expect these kinds of problems from any vehicle, I work for a Fleet Management company and could fill a page with Ford and Vauxhall Faults.

There is however some truth in the head gasket problem. I had a K series 1.8 VVC engine blow at 70k miles on my rover 25, very expensive to fix, and once gone will go again. My advice would be to buy a warranty (Warranty direct is competitive, RAC also do them on the net) then you can enjoy the car and when the head does go (check it's covered) it won't cost you an arm and a leg.

I've had my MG TF 135 for two months now and despite the passenger window failing and a few squeeks developing I still love the car! The Mazda MX5 is ugly, MR2 inpractical, Barchetta Left hand drive, Smart too slow and S2000 too expensive and group 20 insurance! The TF is better looking than them all anyway.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews